PDA

View Full Version : Squeezecenter stops working



Drongo
2016-10-17, 09:19
Hi,

I have 7.7.2 installed on a QNAP and a friend has the same installed on a synology system running on an HP computer. Over the last few months we have both suffered with squeezecentre hanging, almost on a weekly timeframe. Since we are running different OS's I was thinking that the problem may lie with squeezebox.com. Prior to this both versions were working fine for over 2 years.

Any others had similar problems

Regards
Drongo

Man in a van
2016-10-17, 11:58
Hi,

I have 7.7.2 installed on a QNAP and a friend has the same installed on a synology system running on an HP computer. Over the last few months we have both suffered with squeezecentre hanging, almost on a weekly timeframe. Since we are running different OS's I was thinking that the problem may lie with squeezebox.com. Prior to this both versions were working fine for over 2 years.

Any others had similar problems

Regards
Drongo


gday Drongo

v7.7.2 is a bit old, you can safely update to v7.8 and I think even V7.8.1 nightly without too much fuss.

There are security issues with running LMS on a Qnap and a some of us have taken to running LMS v7.9 nightly on a raspberry pi3 or similar small form computer and keeping the nas for the music files.

For your mate there may be a suitable workaround thanks to pinkdot if you look about the forum.

atb

ronnie.

Drongo
2016-12-18, 09:44
We have now concluded that the PICTURE GALLERY plugin from M Herger keeps installing itself and it is this that cause the system to crash. Does anybody know how to get rid of it as it keeps coming back and activating itself.

regards
Drongo

Man in a van
2016-12-18, 12:49
We have now concluded that the PICTURE GALLERY plugin from M Herger keeps installing itself and it is this that cause the system to crash. Does anybody know how to get rid of it as it keeps coming back and activating itself.

regards
Drongo

Dorian Gray kept his in the attic:p

mherger
2016-12-18, 14:40
> We have now concluded that the PICTURE GALLERY plugin from M Herger
> keeps installing itself and it is this that cause the system to crash.
> Does anybody know how to get rid of it as it keeps coming back and
> activating itself.

It should never install itself without your interventions. If it does,
then something else is wrong on your system (eg. not able to store the
preferences). Check the server.log.

--

Michael

Drongo
2016-12-23, 16:43
Mherger, this morning [23/12/2016] at 7:10 the radios started playing the 1st track in the entire music collection. Then later today I noticed the system had crashed again [blue light on duet]. I restarted at 14:17 and all seemed fine. Then at 22:55 all the players started playing the 1st track in the entire music collection. I have now disabled it.

The log for this period is attached. Any ideas.

Drongo

21747

mherger
2016-12-24, 01:50
I don't see anything particular in your log file (and please do us a
favour and upload the raw server.log, not a pdf file).

As other said: this version of LMS is ancient. You should try to update
and try again.
--

Michael

Drongo
2016-12-24, 06:29
Michael, thanks for replying. I uninstalled LMS so the log files will no longer exist. I will reinstall and wait for the problems to reoccur and then send you the full log file.

My problem is that QNAP have withdrawn support for LMS because of the security issues. If I reinstall, remove the files that FLIPFLIP suggested and don't forward the 9000 port, will it be secure?. Long term I will have to buy a RASPI or try and run the latest LMS in a DOCKER which is now available on the QNAP

Anyway Merry Christmas

Drongo

mherger
2016-12-24, 22:32
> My problem is that QNAP have withdrawn support for LMS because of the
> security issues. If I reinstall, remove the files that FLIPFLIP
> suggested and don't forward the 9000 port, will it be secure?. Long term
> I will have to buy a RASPI or try and run the latest LMS in a DOCKER
> which is now available on the QNAP

You should never forward port 9000 anyway.

The vulnerability wasn't in LMS itself, but in some of flipflip's code
to manage it. I think there have been patches/solutions around the
forum. One file needed to be replaced. But I don't remember the details.

Raspi sounds like a great idea.

--

Michael