PDA

View Full Version : SoftSqueeze headless



mherger
2004-12-22, 10:11
I'm trying to run SoftSqueeze on my headless Linux box. I had to install
XFree libs, but now SS at least starts. But as soon as I'd like to play a
song I get the following errors:

8 [SlimTCP] ERROR javasound - LineUnavailable
javax.sound.sampled.LineUnavailableException: Audio Device Unavailable
at com.sun.media.sound.HeadspaceMixer.nResume(Native Method)
at com.sun.media.sound.HeadspaceMixer.implOpen(Unknow n Source)
at com.sun.media.sound.AbstractMixer.open(Unknown Source)
at com.sun.media.sound.AbstractMixer.open(Unknown Source)
at com.sun.media.sound.AbstractDataLine.open(Unknown Source)
at
com.slim.softsqueeze.player.JavaSoundPlayer.initSt ream(JavaSoundPlayer.java:168)
at
com.slim.softsqueeze.player.JavaSoundPlayer.<init>(JavaSoundPlayer.java:95)
at com.slim.softsqueeze.Player.connect(Player.java:17 7)
at com.slim.softsqueeze.Player.autostart(Player.java: 203)
at com.slim.softsqueeze.Player.slimprotoCmd(Player.ja va:90)
at com.slim.softsqueeze.Protocol$TcpSocket.run(Protoc ol.java:357)
72 [SlimTCP] ERROR player - Audio player exception
com.slim.softsqueeze.player.PlayerException: Mixer line is unavailable
at
com.slim.softsqueeze.player.JavaSoundPlayer.initSt ream(JavaSoundPlayer.java:174)
at
com.slim.softsqueeze.player.JavaSoundPlayer.<init>(JavaSoundPlayer.java:95)
at com.slim.softsqueeze.Player.connect(Player.java:17 7)
at com.slim.softsqueeze.Player.autostart(Player.java: 203)
at com.slim.softsqueeze.Player.slimprotoCmd(Player.ja va:90)
at com.slim.softsqueeze.Protocol$TcpSocket.run(Protoc ol.java:357)

I guess I have to define my sound interface somewhere. But this is really
hard without UI :-)

Are there any command line parameters for:

- sound interface
- MAC address

Currently I'm running it with the following line:

java -Dslimserver=localhost -Dserverversion=5.4.0 -Dskins=headless -jar
SoftSqueeze.jar

This is on Linux (e-smith aka. RH7.3), jre 1.4.2_06

Regards,

--

Michael

-----------------------------------------------------------
Help translate SlimServer by using the
SlimString Translation Helper (http://www.herger.net/slim/)

Don Messerli
2004-12-22, 12:00
Doing a lot of things on Linux is tough without a UI. I suggest you
load VNC on that Linux box and get stuff running by connecting from
another computer.

Don



On Wed, 22 Dec 2004 18:11:25 +0100, Michael Herger <slim (AT) herger (DOT) net> wrote:
> I'm trying to run SoftSqueeze on my headless Linux box. I had to install
> XFree libs, but now SS at least starts. But as soon as I'd like to play a
> song I get the following errors:
>
> 8 [SlimTCP] ERROR javasound - LineUnavailable
> javax.sound.sampled.LineUnavailableException: Audio Device Unavailable
> at com.sun.media.sound.HeadspaceMixer.nResume(Native Method)
> at com.sun.media.sound.HeadspaceMixer.implOpen(Unknow n Source)
> at com.sun.media.sound.AbstractMixer.open(Unknown Source)
> at com.sun.media.sound.AbstractMixer.open(Unknown Source)
> at com.sun.media.sound.AbstractDataLine.open(Unknown Source)
> at
> com.slim.softsqueeze.player.JavaSoundPlayer.initSt ream(JavaSoundPlayer.java:168)
> at
> com.slim.softsqueeze.player.JavaSoundPlayer.<init>(JavaSoundPlayer.java:95)
> at com.slim.softsqueeze.Player.connect(Player.java:17 7)
> at com.slim.softsqueeze.Player.autostart(Player.java: 203)
> at com.slim.softsqueeze.Player.slimprotoCmd(Player.ja va:90)
> at com.slim.softsqueeze.Protocol$TcpSocket.run(Protoc ol.java:357)
> 72 [SlimTCP] ERROR player - Audio player exception
> com.slim.softsqueeze.player.PlayerException: Mixer line is unavailable
> at
> com.slim.softsqueeze.player.JavaSoundPlayer.initSt ream(JavaSoundPlayer.java:174)
> at
> com.slim.softsqueeze.player.JavaSoundPlayer.<init>(JavaSoundPlayer.java:95)
> at com.slim.softsqueeze.Player.connect(Player.java:17 7)
> at com.slim.softsqueeze.Player.autostart(Player.java: 203)
> at com.slim.softsqueeze.Player.slimprotoCmd(Player.ja va:90)
> at com.slim.softsqueeze.Protocol$TcpSocket.run(Protoc ol.java:357)
>
> I guess I have to define my sound interface somewhere. But this is really
> hard without UI :-)
>
> Are there any command line parameters for:
>
> - sound interface
> - MAC address
>
> Currently I'm running it with the following line:
>
> java -Dslimserver=localhost -Dserverversion=5.4.0 -Dskins=headless -jar
> SoftSqueeze.jar
>
> This is on Linux (e-smith aka. RH7.3), jre 1.4.2_06
>
> Regards,
>
> --
>
> Michael
>
> -----------------------------------------------------------
> Help translate SlimServer by using the
> SlimString Translation Helper (http://www.herger.net/slim/)
>
>

Jack Coates
2004-12-22, 13:27
Don Messerli wrote:
> Doing a lot of things on Linux is tough without a UI. I suggest you
> load VNC on that Linux box and get stuff running by connecting from
> another computer.
>
> Don
>

http://www.monkeynoodle.org/comp/remote-x-cygwin-howto

Might be worth dusting off the old slimp3slave or something similar.

--
Jack at Monkeynoodle dot Org: It's a Scientific Venture...
Riding the Emergency Third Rail Power Trip since 1996!

mherger
2004-12-22, 15:37
> Doing a lot of things on Linux is tough without a UI. I suggest you
> load VNC on that Linux box and get stuff running by connecting from
> another computer.

Won't help me without X installed, will it?

Michael

> Don
>
>
>
> On Wed, 22 Dec 2004 18:11:25 +0100, Michael Herger <slim (AT) herger (DOT) net>
> wrote:
>> I'm trying to run SoftSqueeze on my headless Linux box. I had to install
>> XFree libs, but now SS at least starts. But as soon as I'd like to play
>> a
>> song I get the following errors:
>>
>> 8 [SlimTCP] ERROR javasound - LineUnavailable
>> javax.sound.sampled.LineUnavailableException: Audio Device Unavailable
>> at com.sun.media.sound.HeadspaceMixer.nResume(Native Method)
>> at com.sun.media.sound.HeadspaceMixer.implOpen(Unknow n Source)
>> at com.sun.media.sound.AbstractMixer.open(Unknown Source)
>> at com.sun.media.sound.AbstractMixer.open(Unknown Source)
>> at com.sun.media.sound.AbstractDataLine.open(Unknown Source)
>> at
>> com.slim.softsqueeze.player.JavaSoundPlayer.initSt ream(JavaSoundPlayer.java:168)
>> at
>> com.slim.softsqueeze.player.JavaSoundPlayer.<init>(JavaSoundPlayer.java:95)
>> at com.slim.softsqueeze.Player.connect(Player.java:17 7)
>> at com.slim.softsqueeze.Player.autostart(Player.java: 203)
>> at com.slim.softsqueeze.Player.slimprotoCmd(Player.ja va:90)
>> at
>> com.slim.softsqueeze.Protocol$TcpSocket.run(Protoc ol.java:357)
>> 72 [SlimTCP] ERROR player - Audio player exception
>> com.slim.softsqueeze.player.PlayerException: Mixer line is unavailable
>> at
>> com.slim.softsqueeze.player.JavaSoundPlayer.initSt ream(JavaSoundPlayer.java:174)
>> at
>> com.slim.softsqueeze.player.JavaSoundPlayer.<init>(JavaSoundPlayer.java:95)
>> at com.slim.softsqueeze.Player.connect(Player.java:17 7)
>> at com.slim.softsqueeze.Player.autostart(Player.java: 203)
>> at com.slim.softsqueeze.Player.slimprotoCmd(Player.ja va:90)
>> at
>> com.slim.softsqueeze.Protocol$TcpSocket.run(Protoc ol.java:357)
>>
>> I guess I have to define my sound interface somewhere. But this is
>> really
>> hard without UI :-)
>>
>> Are there any command line parameters for:
>>
>> - sound interface
>> - MAC address
>>
>> Currently I'm running it with the following line:
>>
>> java -Dslimserver=localhost -Dserverversion=5.4.0 -Dskins=headless -jar
>> SoftSqueeze.jar
>>
>> This is on Linux (e-smith aka. RH7.3), jre 1.4.2_06
>>
>> Regards,
>>
>> --
>>
>> Michael
>>
>> -----------------------------------------------------------
>> Help translate SlimServer by using the
>> SlimString Translation Helper (http://www.herger.net/slim/)
>>
>>

mherger
2004-12-22, 15:40
>> Doing a lot of things on Linux is tough without a UI. I suggest you
>> load VNC on that Linux box and get stuff running by connecting from
>> another computer.
>> Don
>>
>
> http://www.monkeynoodle.org/comp/remote-x-cygwin-howto
>
> Might be worth dusting off the old slimp3slave or something similar.

In fact I wanted to replace slimp3slave by SoftSqueeze :-). I've been
running slimp3slave for quite some time (I'm not even using its latest
release!). But SoftSqueeze's responsiveness and ability to synchronize
players lead me to give it a try. I can stick with the other "dusty" tool,
though.

--

Michael

-----------------------------------------------------------
Help translate SlimServer by using the
SlimString Translation Helper (http://www.herger.net/slim/)

rtitmuss
2004-12-22, 15:43
Michael,

Java should be picking a default sound interface automatically. This
error suggests that Java cannot access the sound card. I get the same
error on my Linux server, but I don't have a sound card installed in my
server. How do you have your sound configured in Linux? It might be a
permissions problem?

You can set the MAC address on the command line using the
-Dmacaddress=00:00:00:00:00:00 parameter. You can also set the sound
interface using -Daudio.mixer=XXXX, but without the UI you won't be able
to find out what value to use for the XXXX.

Hope this helps.

Richard



Michael Herger wrote:

> I'm trying to run SoftSqueeze on my headless Linux box. I had to
> install XFree libs, but now SS at least starts. But as soon as I'd
> like to play a song I get the following errors:
>
> 8 [SlimTCP] ERROR javasound - LineUnavailable
> javax.sound.sampled.LineUnavailableException: Audio Device Unavailable
> at com.sun.media.sound.HeadspaceMixer.nResume(Native Method)
> at com.sun.media.sound.HeadspaceMixer.implOpen(Unknow n Source)
> at com.sun.media.sound.AbstractMixer.open(Unknown Source)
> at com.sun.media.sound.AbstractMixer.open(Unknown Source)
> at com.sun.media.sound.AbstractDataLine.open(Unknown Source)
> at
> com.slim.softsqueeze.player.JavaSoundPlayer.initSt ream(JavaSoundPlayer.java:168)
>
> at
> com.slim.softsqueeze.player.JavaSoundPlayer.<init>(JavaSoundPlayer.java:95)
>
> at com.slim.softsqueeze.Player.connect(Player.java:17 7)
> at com.slim.softsqueeze.Player.autostart(Player.java: 203)
> at com.slim.softsqueeze.Player.slimprotoCmd(Player.ja va:90)
> at com.slim.softsqueeze.Protocol$TcpSocket.run(Protoc ol.java:357)
> 72 [SlimTCP] ERROR player - Audio player exception
> com.slim.softsqueeze.player.PlayerException: Mixer line is unavailable
> at
> com.slim.softsqueeze.player.JavaSoundPlayer.initSt ream(JavaSoundPlayer.java:174)
>
> at
> com.slim.softsqueeze.player.JavaSoundPlayer.<init>(JavaSoundPlayer.java:95)
>
> at com.slim.softsqueeze.Player.connect(Player.java:17 7)
> at com.slim.softsqueeze.Player.autostart(Player.java: 203)
> at com.slim.softsqueeze.Player.slimprotoCmd(Player.ja va:90)
> at com.slim.softsqueeze.Protocol$TcpSocket.run(Protoc ol.java:357)
>
> I guess I have to define my sound interface somewhere. But this is
> really hard without UI :-)
>
> Are there any command line parameters for:
>
> - sound interface
> - MAC address
>
> Currently I'm running it with the following line:
>
> java -Dslimserver=localhost -Dserverversion=5.4.0 -Dskins=headless
> -jar SoftSqueeze.jar
>
> This is on Linux (e-smith aka. RH7.3), jre 1.4.2_06
>
> Regards,
>

mherger
2004-12-22, 15:58
Richard

> Java should be picking a default sound interface automatically. This
> error suggests that Java cannot access the sound card. I get the same
> error on my Linux server, but I don't have a sound card installed in my
> server. How do you have your sound configured in Linux? It might be a
> permissions problem?

I have to get old before I learn this: check permissions. Bingo!

But I guess it's too heavy a load for my poor machine (C3/800): 30-35% cpu
usage compared to <10% using the dusty slimp3slave/mpg123 combo. I'll have
to live without synchronization.

> You can set the MAC address on the command line using the
> -Dmacaddress=00:00:00:00:00:00 parameter. You can also set the sound

Thanks!

> interface using -Daudio.mixer=XXXX, but without the UI you won't be able
> to find out what value to use for the XXXX.

No need for this with the necessary rights...

> Hope this helps.

Oh yes, it did! Thanks again.

Regards,

Michael


>
> Richard
>
>
>
> Michael Herger wrote:
>
>> I'm trying to run SoftSqueeze on my headless Linux box. I had to
>> install XFree libs, but now SS at least starts. But as soon as I'd
>> like to play a song I get the following errors:
>>
>> 8 [SlimTCP] ERROR javasound - LineUnavailable
>> javax.sound.sampled.LineUnavailableException: Audio Device Unavailable
>> at com.sun.media.sound.HeadspaceMixer.nResume(Native Method)
>> at com.sun.media.sound.HeadspaceMixer.implOpen(Unknow n Source)
>> at com.sun.media.sound.AbstractMixer.open(Unknown Source)
>> at com.sun.media.sound.AbstractMixer.open(Unknown Source)
>> at com.sun.media.sound.AbstractDataLine.open(Unknown Source)
>> at
>> com.slim.softsqueeze.player.JavaSoundPlayer.initSt ream(JavaSoundPlayer.java:168)
>> at
>> com.slim.softsqueeze.player.JavaSoundPlayer.<init>(JavaSoundPlayer.java:95)
>> at com.slim.softsqueeze.Player.connect(Player.java:17 7)
>> at com.slim.softsqueeze.Player.autostart(Player.java: 203)
>> at com.slim.softsqueeze.Player.slimprotoCmd(Player.ja va:90)
>> at
>> com.slim.softsqueeze.Protocol$TcpSocket.run(Protoc ol.java:357)
>> 72 [SlimTCP] ERROR player - Audio player exception
>> com.slim.softsqueeze.player.PlayerException: Mixer line is unavailable
>> at
>> com.slim.softsqueeze.player.JavaSoundPlayer.initSt ream(JavaSoundPlayer.java:174)
>> at
>> com.slim.softsqueeze.player.JavaSoundPlayer.<init>(JavaSoundPlayer.java:95)
>> at com.slim.softsqueeze.Player.connect(Player.java:17 7)
>> at com.slim.softsqueeze.Player.autostart(Player.java: 203)
>> at com.slim.softsqueeze.Player.slimprotoCmd(Player.ja va:90)
>> at
>> com.slim.softsqueeze.Protocol$TcpSocket.run(Protoc ol.java:357)
>>
>> I guess I have to define my sound interface somewhere. But this is
>> really hard without UI :-)
>>
>> Are there any command line parameters for:
>>
>> - sound interface
>> - MAC address
>>
>> Currently I'm running it with the following line:
>>
>> java -Dslimserver=localhost -Dserverversion=5.4.0 -Dskins=headless
>> -jar SoftSqueeze.jar
>>
>> This is on Linux (e-smith aka. RH7.3), jre 1.4.2_06
>>
>> Regards,
>>
>
>

rtitmuss
2004-12-22, 16:11
Michael Herger wrote:

> But I guess it's too heavy a load for my poor machine (C3/800): 30-35%
> cpu usage compared to <10% using the dusty slimp3slave/mpg123 combo.
> I'll have to live without synchronization.
>
I uploaded Softsqueeze 1.15 to sourceforge yesterday, this includes
support for Sun's new Java MP3 Plugin. The cpu usage should be less
using this decoder, compared to the JLayer MP3 decoder that is included
with Softsqueeze (Sun claim 50% less cpu usage). Due to licensing
restrictions you need to download and install the Java MP3 Plugin
yourself, but Softsqueeze will detect it and use it when available. You
can download it from
http://java.sun.com/products/java-media/jmf/mp3/download.html. (I am
planning on writing some installation instructions for this soon, as the
Sun pages are not really end user friendly).

If you get chance to try I would be interested to know if this does
reduce the cpu usage for you. You might also want to try Java 5.0, as I
understand that this also includes some performance improvements over
Java 1.4.

Regards,
Richard

mherger
2004-12-22, 16:34
>> But I guess it's too heavy a load for my poor machine (C3/800): 30-35%
>> cpu usage compared to <10% using the dusty slimp3slave/mpg123 combo.
>> I'll have to live without synchronization.
>>
> I uploaded Softsqueeze 1.15 to sourceforge yesterday, this includes
> support for Sun's new Java MP3 Plugin. The cpu usage should be less

I noticed this when testing it on my workstation. And I got some errors
concerning X before I installed the plugin on my server. I guess it wanted
to ask me whether I wanted to download the plugin or not. But the message
needed some X to be displayed :-). Installed the plugin and the X problems
have gone.

[..]
> If you get chance to try I would be interested to know if this does
> reduce the cpu usage for you. You might also want to try Java 5.0, as I
> understand that this also includes some performance improvements over
> Java 1.4.

But the 30% CPU load is _with_ the plugin :-/. Those C3s aren't
powerhorses. For the aforementioned reason I can't even give you a number
without the plugin, sorry.

--

Michael

-----------------------------------------------------------
Help translate SlimServer by using the
SlimString Translation Helper (http://www.herger.net/slim/)

Daniel Cohen
2004-12-23, 10:40
On 22/12/04 at 11:11 pm +0000, Richard Titmuss wrote
>I uploaded Softsqueeze 1.15 to sourceforge yesterday, this includes
>support for Sun's new Java MP3 Plugin.

Is this plugin cross-platform? I couldn't tell from looking at Sun's site.
--
Daniel Cohen

Jason Holtzapple
2004-12-23, 16:01
Daniel Cohen wrote:
> On 22/12/04 at 11:11 pm +0000, Richard Titmuss wrote
>
>> I uploaded Softsqueeze 1.15 to sourceforge yesterday, this includes
>> support for Sun's new Java MP3 Plugin.
>
>
> Is this plugin cross-platform? I couldn't tell from looking at Sun's site.

It's working fine for me on Solaris Sparc. Although you'd expect that. :)

mherger
2004-12-24, 02:42
> On 22/12/04 at 11:11 pm +0000, Richard Titmuss wrote
>> I uploaded Softsqueeze 1.15 to sourceforge yesterday, this includes
>> support for Sun's new Java MP3 Plugin.
>
> Is this plugin cross-platform? I couldn't tell from looking at Sun's
> site.

There's a download for Windows and one for "others". Should work, I guess.

--

Michael

-----------------------------------------------------------
Help translate SlimServer by using the
SlimString Translation Helper (http://www.herger.net/slim/)

rtitmuss
2004-12-24, 04:07
Michael Herger wrote:

> If you get chance to try I would be interested to know if this does
> reduce the cpu usage for you. You might also want to try Java 5.0, as
> I understand that this also includes some performance improvements
> over Java 1.4.
>
> But the 30% CPU load is _with_ the plugin :-/. Those C3s aren't
> powerhorses. For the aforementioned reason I can't even give you a
> number without the plugin, sorry.
>
I would be really interested to know what the CPU load is without the
plugin. With the plugin installed can you run Softsqueeze with
-Daudio.mp3decoder=JLayer, this will then use the JLayer MP3 decoder
instead.

In the next release I will fix the mp3 decoder message so that it does
not try to display a dialog box in headless mode!

Regards,
Richard

Daniel Cohen
2004-12-24, 04:14
On 24/12/04 at 10:42 am +0100, Michael Herger wrote
>>On 22/12/04 at 11:11 pm +0000, Richard Titmuss wrote
>>>I uploaded Softsqueeze 1.15 to sourceforge yesterday, this
>>>includes support for Sun's new Java MP3 Plugin.
>>
>>Is this plugin cross-platform? I couldn't tell from looking at Sun's site.
>
>There's a download for Windows and one for "others". Should work, I guess.

Yes, the Web page is mostly descriptive of the Windows download, but
when one actually goes to download, there is the "others" version.

Where should the .jar file go in Mac OS X? The layout of folders
seems very different from that described on the Web page. Perhaps in
the Softsqueeze folder?

--
Daniel Cohen

rtitmuss
2004-12-24, 04:20
Daniel Cohen wrote:

> On 22/12/04 at 11:11 pm +0000, Richard Titmuss wrote
>
>> I uploaded Softsqueeze 1.15 to sourceforge yesterday, this includes
>> support for Sun's new Java MP3 Plugin.
>
>
> Is this plugin cross-platform? I couldn't tell from looking at Sun's
> site.

Yes, the plugin written in Java and is cross-platform. You can download
it from:
http://java.sun.com/products/java-media/jmf/mp3/download.html

The instructions on the website are not very user friendly, so to
install the plugin to use with Softsqueeze:

On Windows, download the .exe file for the windows platform. When you
run this installer it will install the Java MP3 Plugin in all versions
of Java you have installed on your computer.

On OSX, download the .zip file for Other Platform. Uncompress the .zip
file and copy lib/ext/mp3plugin.jar from the zip file into
/Library/Java/Extensions.

On Linux and other Unix OS, download the .zip file for Other Platform.
Uncompress the .zip file and copy lib/ext/mp3plugin.jar from the zip
file into your Java ext directory (for example
/usr/java/jdk1.5.0/jre/lib/ext).


The Sun download page gives instructions on how to register the plugin
to work with a JMF application, you do not need to follow these
instructions.

Regards,
Richard

Jason Holtzapple
2004-12-24, 07:11
Richard Titmuss wrote:
> Michael Herger wrote:
>
>> If you get chance to try I would be interested to know if this does
>> reduce the cpu usage for you. You might also want to try Java 5.0, as
>> I understand that this also includes some performance improvements
>> over Java 1.4.
>>
>> But the 30% CPU load is _with_ the plugin :-/. Those C3s aren't
>> powerhorses. For the aforementioned reason I can't even give you a
>> number without the plugin, sorry.
>>
> I would be really interested to know what the CPU load is without the
> plugin. With the plugin installed can you run Softsqueeze with
> -Daudio.mp3decoder=JLayer, this will then use the JLayer MP3 decoder
> instead.

There's a modest improvement for me with the new plugin. Roughly
22% cpu utilization v 28% for JLayer. This is on a SunBlade 2500
2x1280 MHz, running Solaris 10 and "Java 5"

$ java -version
java version "1.5.0_01"
Java(TM) 2 Runtime Environment, Standard Edition (build 1.5.0_01-b05)
Java HotSpot(TM) Server VM (build 1.5.0_01-b05, mixed mode)

mherger
2004-12-26, 12:45
>> If you get chance to try I would be interested to know if this does
>> reduce the cpu usage for you. You might also want to try Java 5.0, as
>> I understand that this also includes some performance improvements
>> over Java 1.4.
>>
>> But the 30% CPU load is _with_ the plugin :-/. Those C3s aren't
>> powerhorses. For the aforementioned reason I can't even give you a
>> number without the plugin, sorry.
>>
> I would be really interested to know what the CPU load is without the
> plugin. With the plugin installed can you run Softsqueeze with
> -Daudio.mp3decoder=JLayer, this will then use the JLayer MP3 decoder
> instead.

Without the plugin it's about 40-45% load. Quite a difference.

On my Athlon/1000 it's about 10-15% (w/) vs. 20-25% (w/o plugin).

> In the next release I will fix the mp3 decoder message so that it does
> not try to display a dialog box in headless mode!

Thanks for your efforts!

--

Michael

-----------------------------------------------------------
Help translate SlimServer by using the
SlimString Translation Helper (http://www.herger.net/slim/)

Bill Comisky
2004-12-26, 13:04
I've had this issue for a while.. SlimServer 5.4 on linux, using a firefox
1.0 browser. The status_header.html frame that holds the play mode,
volume, shuffle, repeat settings will often render as a blank white box.

A manual reload will restore it, but it will often revert to a white box
when the page/frame auto-reloads.

If I look at the frame source it seems to have all the information there,
so it seems like a rendering issue. Anyone else seen this with firefox?

bill

--
Bill Comisky
bcomisky (AT) pobox (DOT) com

Jack Coates
2004-12-26, 13:21
Bill Comisky wrote:
>
> I've had this issue for a while.. SlimServer 5.4 on linux, using a
> firefox 1.0 browser. The status_header.html frame that holds the play
> mode, volume, shuffle, repeat settings will often render as a blank
> white box.
>
> A manual reload will restore it, but it will often revert to a white box
> when the page/frame auto-reloads.
>
> If I look at the frame source it seems to have all the information
> there, so it seems like a rendering issue. Anyone else seen this with
> firefox?
>
> bill
>

haven't seen that in any browser on any platform. Which skin are you using?

--
Jack at Monkeynoodle dot Org: It's a Scientific Venture...
Riding the Emergency Third Rail Power Trip since 1996!

kdf
2004-12-26, 13:32
This is also a known bug:
http://bugs.slimdevices.com/show_bug.cgi?id=504

-kdf

Quoting Bill Comisky <bcomisky (AT) pobox (DOT) com>:

>
> I've had this issue for a while.. SlimServer 5.4 on linux, using a firefox
> 1.0 browser. The status_header.html frame that holds the play mode,
> volume, shuffle, repeat settings will often render as a blank white box.
>
> A manual reload will restore it, but it will often revert to a white box
> when the page/frame auto-reloads.
>
> If I look at the frame source it seems to have all the information there,
> so it seems like a rendering issue. Anyone else seen this with firefox?
>
> bill
>
> --
> Bill Comisky
> bcomisky (AT) pobox (DOT) com
>

Bill Comisky
2004-12-26, 14:53
Thanks kdf. Adding a height tag to the musicplayer.gif image seemed to
fix this for me. I'll add a comment to the bugzilla entry.

bill

On Sun, 26 Dec 2004, kdf wrote:

> This is also a known bug:
> http://bugs.slimdevices.com/show_bug.cgi?id=504
>
> -kdf
>
> Quoting Bill Comisky <bcomisky (AT) pobox (DOT) com>:
>
>>
>> I've had this issue for a while.. SlimServer 5.4 on linux, using a firefox
>> 1.0 browser. The status_header.html frame that holds the play mode,
>> volume, shuffle, repeat settings will often render as a blank white box.
>>
>> A manual reload will restore it, but it will often revert to a white box
>> when the page/frame auto-reloads.
>>
>> If I look at the frame source it seems to have all the information there,
>> so it seems like a rendering issue. Anyone else seen this with firefox?
>>
>> bill
>>
>> --
>> Bill Comisky
>> bcomisky (AT) pobox (DOT) com
>>

Bill Comisky
2004-12-26, 15:03
On Sun, 26 Dec 2004, Jack Coates wrote:

> Bill Comisky wrote:
>>
>> I've had this issue for a while.. SlimServer 5.4 on linux, using a
>> firefox 1.0 browser. The status_header.html frame that holds the play
>> mode, volume, shuffle, repeat settings will often render as a blank white
>> box.
>>
>> A manual reload will restore it, but it will often revert to a white box
>> when the page/frame auto-reloads.
>>
>> If I look at the frame source it seems to have all the information there,
>> so it seems like a rendering issue. Anyone else seen this with firefox?
>>
>> bill
>>
>
> haven't seen that in any browser on any platform. Which skin are you using?
>

I was using the Default skin, haven't tested the others. I have multiple
player entries which puts a picklist in this frame, so it may only
show up in that case. Adding a height attribute to the IMG tag for
musicplayer.gif fixed it for me, see:
http://bugs.slimdevices.com/show_bug.cgi?id=504

bill

--
Bill Comisky
bcomisky (AT) pobox (DOT) com