PDA

View Full Version : Size file limit +3GB file



jim77
2016-08-31, 12:41
Guys,

I search & reviewed the posts on non-existing file size limit but...
I have 3.25GB mp3 file that is not seen by music scanner and the file can not be added to library.
I can play the file by selecting 'folders' and clicking on the file manualy. LMS is not recognizing the length of the file tho.

So to the point, there is file size limit at least on LMS on Windows 10

j

mherger
2016-08-31, 14:40
> I search & reviewed the posts on non-existing file size limit but...
> I have 3.25GB mp3 file that is not seen by music scanner and the file
> can not be added to library.
> I can play the file by selecting 'folders' and clicking on the file
> manualy. LMS is not recognizing the length of the file tho.

Consider this a bug. But trust: it won't be fixed any time soon. A 3GB
mp3?!? You gotta be kidding me... Split it. That's your best bet.

--

Michael

d6jg
2016-08-31, 14:51
I reckon 3.25 Gb equates to close to 24 hours at a sensible Kbps level. WTF is it?

jim77
2016-09-02, 13:20
I reckon 3.25 Gb equates to close to 24 hours at a sensible Kbps level. WTF is it?

right, 24h mix

http://www.electronicbeats.net/feed/someone-made-24-hour-aphex-twin-megamix-listen/

d6jg
2016-09-02, 13:23
[emoji106]
If it was a FLAC you could split it and never notice (gapless) but much more difficult to get right with mp3.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Mnyb
2016-09-03, 01:28
I think a couple of gaps is tolerable ;) in a 24hr club marathon dj session .
You will fall asleep at hour 10-12 or the drugs you use to not fall asleep make you not notice the gaps :D

It's kind of cool , what about making this kind of mix is it done in one session or does the dj take lunch dinner and sleep pauses ?
Maybe done over some weeks carefully selecting tracks ?

T-bird
2016-09-05, 10:12
I just had to try :D

No problem on an linux system

21022

d6jg
2016-09-05, 10:43
I just had to try :D

No problem on an linux system

21022

Was it worth it?

Mnyb
2016-09-05, 12:15
I just had to try :D

No problem on an linux system

21022

That may help op's case is Linux or the chosen file system ? Or some bug when compiling the Windows exe

T-bird
2016-09-05, 12:44
Was it worth it?

The download was fast 5 MB/s +, but not my taste of music, so no it wasn't, just curious to see if the OS had any impact, can be the file system also

verypsb
2016-09-06, 09:56
I just had to try :D

No problem on an linux system

21022

And this is telling us exactly what?

No problem using LMS 7.9 installed on Windows 10.

21032

Mnyb
2016-09-06, 10:41
64 or 32 bit OS ? Heck I'll DHL later this week I have a 32 bit Linux server ...

verypsb
2016-09-06, 11:56
I'm using Windows 10, x64, 1607 build 14393.105, NTFS file system for OS & music files
Logitech Media Server Version: 7.9.0 - 1472937447 @ Sat Sep 3 21:26:49 CUT 2016

Best regards,
Dennis.

Mnyb
2016-09-06, 12:21
He it works for me too .

An observation op claims the files is 3,25GB it is 3.5 GB (3,489,917,426 bytes) so i think he has corrupt file . some players may play it anyway but not squeezeboxes .

Some real bugs .

Search wont work inside this huge file .(tried boom or Touch ) it just restarts .

LMS thinks the song is 596 hours long

verypsb
2016-09-06, 12:27
Search wont work inside this huge file .(tried boom or Touch ) it just restarts.
Confirmed.

gregklanderman
2016-09-06, 13:56
no, it is 3.25GB: 1GB = 2^30 bytes = 1073741824 bytes

Greg


>>>>> On September 6, 2016 Mnyb <Mnyb.7ln2un (AT) no-mx (DOT) forums.slimdevices.com> wrote:

> He it works for me too .
> An observation op claims the files is 3,25GB it is 3.5 GB (3,489,917,426
> bytes) so i think he has corrupt file . some players may play it anyway
> but not squeezeboxes .

> Some real bugs .

> Search wont work inside this huge file .(tried boom or Touch ) it just
> restarts .

> LMS thinks the song is 596 hours long

> --------------------------------------------------------------------
> Main hifi: Touch + CIA PS +MeridianG68J MeridianHD621 MeridianG98DH 2 x
> MeridianDSP5200 MeridianDSP5200HC 2 xMeridianDSP3100 +Rel Stadium 3
> sub.
> Bedroom/Office: Boom
> Kitchen: Touch + powered Fostex PM0.4
> Misc use: Radio (with battery)
> iPad1 with iPengHD & SqueezePad
> (spares Touch, SB3, reciever ,controller )
> server HP proliant micro server N36L with ClearOS Linux

> http://people.xiph.org/~xiphmont/demo/neil-young.html
> ------------------------------------------------------------------------
> Mnyb's Profile: http://forums.slimdevices.com/member.php?userid=4143
> View this thread: http://forums.slimdevices.com/showthread.php?t=106069

>

Mnyb
2016-09-06, 20:41
He he a bug in Linux mints cinnamon desktop then ( it says 3,5 GB ) but the correct amount of bytes , hmm bits and bytes confusion again ?

Well the as you can't search I the file, that makes it rather useless .
With lame encoded MP3 gapless is possible . It would be more sane to distribute the file in several parts with some embedded comments about which apex twin track is remixed etc .

But that fwd inside the file don't work and the time displays is wrong is a bug worthy of attention .
The breakpoint for this behaviour may be less than 24 hour and 14 minutes .

Ok,fwd works in a 60 minute flac ( Mike oldfield amarok which is one song at 60 minutes )



no, it is 3.25GB: 1GB = 2^30 bytes = 1073741824 bytes

Greg


>>>>> On September 6, 2016 Mnyb <Mnyb.7ln2un (AT) no-mx (DOT) forums.slimdevices.com> wrote:

> He it works for me too .
> An observation op claims the files is 3,25GB it is 3.5 GB (3,489,917,426
> bytes) so i think he has corrupt file . some players may play it anyway
> but not squeezeboxes .

> Some real bugs .

> Search wont work inside this huge file .(tried boom or Touch ) it just
> restarts .

> LMS thinks the song is 596 hours long

> --------------------------------------------------------------------
> Main hifi: Touch + CIA PS +MeridianG68J MeridianHD621 MeridianG98DH 2 x
> MeridianDSP5200 MeridianDSP5200HC 2 xMeridianDSP3100 +Rel Stadium 3
> sub.
> Bedroom/Office: Boom
> Kitchen: Touch + powered Fostex PM0.4
> Misc use: Radio (with battery)
> iPad1 with iPengHD & SqueezePad
> (spares Touch, SB3, reciever ,controller )
> server HP proliant micro server N36L with ClearOS Linux

> http://people.xiph.org/~xiphmont/demo/neil-young.html
> ------------------------------------------------------------------------
> Mnyb's Profile: http://forums.slimdevices.com/member.php?userid=4143
> View this thread: http://forums.slimdevices.com/showthread.php?t=106069

>

epoch1970
2016-09-07, 02:43
An observation op claims the files is 3,25GB it is 3.5 GB (3,489,917,426 bytes)...

no, it is 3.25GB: 1GB = 2^30 bytes = 1073741824 bytes

He he a bug in Linux mints cinnamon desktop then ( it says 3,5 GB ) but the correct amount of bytes , hmm bits and bytes confusion again ?

Nope, that's the battle of the gibi and the giga instead...
https://www.google.com/search?q=3489917426+bytes+in+Gigabyte
https://www.google.com/search?q=3489917426+bytes+in+Gibibyte

Could the OP be using FAT or something like that?

Mnyb
2016-09-07, 03:10
Nope, that's the battle of the gibi and the giga instead...
https://www.google.com/search?q=3489917426+bytes+in+Gigabyte
https://www.google.com/search?q=3489917426+bytes+in+Gibibyte

Could the OP be using FAT or something like that?

Yes one is to sell larger harddrives ;) fat would explain it

jim77
2016-09-09, 07:49
And this is telling us exactly what?

No problem using LMS 7.9 installed on Windows 10.

21032

interesting. this is not what i am seeing at
Logitech Media Server Wersja: 7.9.0 - 1472633108 @ Wed Aug 31 08:54:44 CUT 2016
Windows 10 64bit

i think i will install LMS on spare 2012 mac mini and find out if it helps