PDA

View Full Version : IR Blaster help needed



pkfox
2016-07-14, 00:42
Hi All, I would like to be able to turn my amplifier on using an IR blaster, I have a Transporter and a Meridian 551 amp, my question is , does anyone know of a good device to use and how do I set it up ?

toby10
2016-07-14, 00:59
I've used a Xantech IR repeater/distribution system for years. Flawless performance and very customization. If you are lucky your AVR will have a "discrete IR input" on the back (like your Transporter has) so you don't need to hang the mini IR "eye" on the front cover.

http://xantech.com/Infrared/

pkfox
2016-07-14, 01:31
I've used a Xantech IR repeater/distribution system for years. Flawless performance and very customization. If you are lucky your AVR will have a "discrete IR input" on the back (like your Transporter has) so you don't need to hang the mini IR "eye" on the front cover.

http://xantech.com/Infrared/

Hi Toby, so I only need a cable ? unfortunately my amp doesn't have an IR input socket so it will have to go on the front ( not a big deal ) , what I need to know now is how do I train the thing to do what I want ? I read somewhere that a config file is required on the server ( mine is linux ) containing the codes for the target device - it's here where I start to glaze over :-) thanks for your help

toby10
2016-07-14, 04:20
Dunno about config files. I assume the Transporter simply takes any IR input then transmits it back out via the IR Out port. If that requires special config files ya got me.

You should just need one of these (below). That link is a dual head, but you can get a single head for just one device. There is no training as you describe. It just re-emits any/all IR signals back out through the port & attached cable/eye. The device(s) to which the "eye" is attached to will respond per the IR input. If you are sending the Marantz code it will respond. If you are sending say a Sony code the Marantz will ignore it as it has no idea what the Sony codes mean.

You simply attach the "eye" over the IR input of the device(s) via it's double sided clear sticky-tape.

http://www.sears.com/tnp-products-tnp-ir-emitter-extender-extension-cable/p-SPM9355999517

toby10
2016-07-14, 04:41
What is the setup you are going for?

1. Use LMS or SB Controller to control Meridian (which would certainly require special Meridian codes/files installed)
2. Use Transporter as an IR Blaster to Meridian (where Merdian is not visible to IR)
3. Both Meridian & Transporter are hidden, say in a cabinet, when cabinet doors are closed they cannot see IR commands

#3 is my usage. 1 & 2 I have no idea about.

pkfox
2016-07-14, 04:57
What is the setup you are going for?

1. Use LMS or SB Controller to control Meridian (which would certainly require special Meridian codes/files installed)
2. Use Transporter as an IR Blaster to Meridian (where Merdian is not visible to IR)
3. Both Meridian & Transporter are hidden, say in a cabinet, when cabinet doors are closed they cannot see IR commands

#3 is my usage. 1 & 2 I have no idea about.

Hi Toby my scenario is 1

epoch1970
2016-07-14, 08:43
I've looked at this amp, it has no IR input, but it has a "comms" link.
After a quick tour, it looks there is enough info to craft a communication cable (http://www.meridian-audio.info/public/5serleads%5b3580%5d.pdf) and to implement a control app (see p. 49+) (https://www.meridian-audio.com/wp-content/uploads/2016/03/MConfig-Guide.pdf) (perhaps even via ready-made software ?)

I don't know if anything like an SB plugin for Meridian exists, is trivial or not. But this I know: IR control provides no feedback, and usually power on/off is a toggle (not 2 separate IR signals). So it is extremely easy -and irritating- to entrer the state where Transporter/SB3 and amplifier are out of phase, with one powered on and the other powered off. No way out except by using the factory amp remote to resync its state.
A protocol that gives positive feedback on actions or the current amp power status is much preferable.

toby10
2016-07-14, 14:22
I've looked at this amp, it has no IR input......

That would be a problem. ;)

pkfox
2016-07-18, 02:17
What is the setup you are going for?

1. Use LMS or SB Controller to control Meridian (which would certainly require special Meridian codes/files installed)
2. Use Transporter as an IR Blaster to Meridian (where Merdian is not visible to IR)
3. Both Meridian & Transporter are hidden, say in a cabinet, when cabinet doors are closed they cannot see IR commands

#3 is my usage. 1 & 2 I have no idea about.

Hi Toby, received my cable today plugged it in to the transporter , installed IR Blaster plugin , configured a couple of keys through th IR Blaster web interface and lots of nothing happened - any ideas ?

toby10
2016-07-18, 06:15
Through the TP no, never used it or owned one. Is the IR eye lighting up (some do blink red, some don't)? I prefer the ones that do blink red as it is at least another diagnostic point for troubleshooting. Does LMS require the special config files you mentioned earlier for this to work? I don't have a TP so I cannot see TP menus/options offered on LMS settings.

pkfox
2016-07-18, 06:59
Through the TP no, never used it or owned one. Is the IR eye lighting up (some do blink red, some don't)? I prefer the ones that do blink red as it is at least another diagnostic point for troubleshooting. Does LMS require the special config files you mentioned earlier for this to work? I don't have a TP so I cannot see TP menus/options offered on LMS settings.

Hi Toby, no it doesn't blink and I don't know if it's supposed to or not - I've read that a cellphone camera can detect IR so I tried and that didn't detect anything so am beginning to suspect either the plugin doesn't work or the cable is dodgy. Oh well - I can live without it but it would have been an nice to have thing. Thanks again.

Sparcymarc
2017-03-09, 16:39
hey pkfox

So I've just set up my SB Touch to control my new Yamaha amp via an IR emitter and the ready made "IR-Blaster" plugin from Felix Mueller. it took some reading and headscratching to make it work, but thought this might help you if you're still having problems with your set up. I'm a total newb to this forum, and it's not letting me post links, but I'll try and describe as best I can!

So you were right that you need a config file to translate the signal to work with your amp. Way it works is that your SB is receiving the signal from the SB remote, and then sending out another IR signal in a format that your amp can understand. Basically you are getting the SB to pretend it's your amp's remote.

1. buy a cheap IR emitter to send the IR signal in the direction of your amp's IR receiver.

2. enable the IR-Blaster plugin from Felix Mueller (or GWENDESIGN) in the trusted Third Party plugins section of squeezeserver settings. Sounds like you've already done this.

3. Now you need to find and import the right IR control codes for your amp. Go to the Linux IRC database (LIRC) and search for your amp and download the .conf file. This file needs to be placed in the right directory on your Squeezebox server. The correct directory is listed on the IR Blaster settings page of the Squeezebox server (Player tab > [SB player name to control] > IR-Blaster).

4. Once the code is in the directory you can use the IR-blaster settings page to setup the tasks you want i.e. when SB remote sends Volume down signal, send out amp VOL_DOWN signal.

5. Stick your IR emitter in place over the IR sensor of your amp (I found that a strong torch shone on the front panel of my amp helped me find the sensor) and plug it in to your SB.

6. Now, if it all works, changing the volume on the SB should send the right signal to the IR emitter and the amp volume will change just as if you'd used the amp remote. Genius!

The cool thing is that the amp code is sent out whenever the SB volume is changed - if that is via the SB remote, or even through the web interface/squeezer app/ipeng/whatever.

NB Make sure you buy an IR EMITTER, not an IR receiver - they look pretty much the same! And make sure it has the right connector - on my SBT it just plugs into the 3.5mm headphone socket. Not sure about your TP.

NB if you don't find the exact code for your amp, couple of options: My amp wasn't on the LIRC list, but some of the other Yamaha amp codes had photos of the remote control next to them. I found one that looked quite similar to my remote and downloaded it. Luckily it works! Alternatively, look on the IR-Blaster wiki page and follow the link to the IR learning instructions. Apparently the transporter can learn IR codes from your amp remote and save them as config files to use with IR-Blaster. Doesn't work on SB touch though, so can't comment.

Hope this helps

Sparcymarc
2017-03-09, 16:41
hey pkfox

So I've just set up my SB Touch to control my new Yamaha amp via an IR emitter and the ready made "IR-Blaster" plugin from Felix Mueller. it took some reading and headscratching to make it work, but thought this might help you if you're still having problems with your set up. I'm a total newb to this forum, and it's not letting me post links, but I'll try and describe as best I can!

So check out http://www.gwendesign.com/slimserver/dev_hard_and_software.htm#irblaster and the IR Blaster info pages on the slimdevices wiki wiki.slimdevices.com/index.php/IRBlaster for more info on all of this

Here is the IR emitter I bought: https://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B008O35XOI/ref=ox_sc_act_image_1?ie=UTF8&psc=1&smid=A1LK9W1NQLJGM1

Lastly, the Linux IRC database is here: http://lirc-remotes.sourceforge.net/remotes-table.html