PDA

View Full Version : Help! - Squeezebox Classic (SB3) with dead screen - still plays music



jdaun
2016-07-12, 12:18
Hi,

I have a Slim Devices Squeezebox (the SB3 or Classic) and the screen died suddenly. Screen worked last night, then this morning the screen is dead.
I use it in Ethernet mode (not wireless mode) and it still plays music. And the remote control still works (can control the volume, power on/off, etc)
The only problem is that I now need to navigate using my PC monitor to select music, since the SB3 screen is dead.

Any ideas how to troubleshoot this specific problem, where ONLY the screen is dead?
I have a multimeter and am not afraid to poke around inside the unit - but looking for guidance on what to look for.

My Google searches haven't turned up much, seems many times when the screen is dead, the entire unit (or power supply) is dead ... which is not my situation.

Thanks!

epoch1970
2016-07-12, 12:24
Are you sure luminosity is not turned all the way down instead? (You can change that from the IR and the web interface in prefs>Player>player_name - Display)

jdaun
2016-07-12, 12:29
Are you sure luminosity is not turned all the way down instead? (You can change that from the IR and the web interface in prefs>Player>player_name - Display)

Good question. Yes, after the screen was dead, I played with both the Brightness button on the remote, and the Display settings in the web interface. Neither had any impact - the screen remains blank.

d6jg
2016-07-12, 12:49
If it is any consolation I run both mine with the screens permanently switched off. I have an O2 Joggler alongside one which acts as a now playing screen and control point.
As long as it plays you don't often need the screen.

jdaun
2016-07-12, 13:03
If it is any consolation I run both mine with the screens permanently switched off. I have an O2 Joggler alongside one which acts as a now playing screen and control point.
As long as it plays you don't often need the screen.

I'm guessing you run yours in wireless mode, and the Joggler is also connected via wifi?
That's not my setup, I run mine in Ethernet mode, relying upon the remote and the screen on the squeezebox to navigate my music collection from across the room.
But thank you for the info!

d6jg
2016-07-12, 13:22
No both are wired via Powerline Ethernet.
The SB3 and Joggler are synced as a group and the Joggler is plugged into an input on my amp (it could actually play but I never switch to that input so it's sound is muted). I do this so I can use the VU Meter (modified) which only works when the Joggler is a player. It needs Ethernet in this mode as when synced the VU meter will stall over wifi.
I usually control using IPeng.
The main point is no display on the SB3 is not the end of its functionality.

d6jg
2016-07-12, 13:32
PS my wife actually LIKES the Joggler as it makes a great digital clock when not in use.

jdaun
2016-07-12, 13:57
Sorry, I should clarify - My Squeezebox is connected directly to my PC music server using a crossover ethernet cable.
I don't have a network (wired or wifi) in the system at all.
So I believe using iPeng or any other networked remote control solution isn't an option - but please correct me if I still misunderstand.

d6jg
2016-07-12, 14:12
You are correct. IPeng is not an option unless you added a wireless access point and a switch or a wireless router. The Joggler as control on its own would require just a switch.

PS you don't gain anything audiophile wise by only having a server and a player connected via crossover cable.

epoch1970
2016-07-13, 02:18
I understand zilch about electronics and electricity but this I know: the VFD screen uses high voltage, there is a transformer in there that converts the low voltage current flowing from your PSU to high voltage.
If your PSU is weak or if the power plug in the SB3 has some play/rust/soldering issue (you'll find posts about these 3 cases IIRC), then perhaps the transformer is not fed enough current to activate the screen.

If would try wiggling the socket, or using another PSU.

I don't know if a xilinx reset can help (press key "1" while booting, see wiki page (http://wiki.slimdevices.com/index.php/Special_IR_Keys_on_Reboot_for_Factory_Reset_and_La st_FW)), but trying is easy.

Reseating the wifi card or removing it if it has turned bad seem to cure all sorts of issues.

jdaun
2016-07-13, 15:02
Thanks epoch -

I'm going to check the female power jack on the SB3, I seem to recall that never seemed very solid (maybe the solder has weakened).

Does anyone know, if I pull the power plug from the SB3, will it reconnect to my music server automatically when I power it up? Or will it try to walk me through all network setup questions (which I won't be able to see since the screen is blank?)

toby10
2016-07-14, 01:05
It should simply connect automatically. My SB3 has been on the same WiFi network for about 8 years, power is completely shut off (unplugged) when not in use, never had to set it up again after initial setup.

jdaun
2016-07-14, 10:21
Thanks all.

I unplugged power supply from the SB3 last night, and the display worked after plugging it back in! And yes, it automatically connected to my music server without having to go through the setup again.

I need to experiment further, it's possible this was a fluke. If it happens again I'll dig in further.

Also, I came upon this link where someone experienced the same symptoms as me, but with a different cause ... may be useful to someone else in the future, if they happen upon this thread: http://www.diyaudio.com/forums/pc-based/218122-help-needed-repairing-squeezebox-classic-vfd.html

Fizbin
2016-07-14, 16:52
If you continue to have issues, get a new PS. You can get one here:

http://www.ebay.com/itm/Logitech-Squeezebox-Slim-Device-Classic-Power-Adapter-PSAA10R-050-NEW-OEM-/161060667443?hash=item257ff6c033:m:mI8OR8ULTfpRFmu SROAgT-A
(I think this is the correct one...check your specs first)

d6jg
2016-07-15, 08:58
If you continue to have issues, get a new PS. You can get one here:

http://www.ebay.com/itm/Logitech-Squeezebox-Slim-Device-Classic-Power-Adapter-PSAA10R-050-NEW-OEM-/161060667443?hash=item257ff6c033:m:mI8OR8ULTfpRFmu SROAgT-A
(I think this is the correct one...check your specs first)

Logitech themselves often have them

http://support.logitech.com/en_us/parts

Fizbin
2016-07-15, 15:10
I believe that seller on ebay (who also sells new Transporters) is affiliated with Logitech. Plus his adapters are cheaper. (To the US, anyway)

Mnyb
2016-07-17, 05:03
Sorry, I should clarify - My Squeezebox is connected directly to my PC music server using a crossover ethernet cable.
I don't have a network (wired or wifi) in the system at all.
So I believe using iPeng or any other networked remote control solution isn't an option - but please correct me if I still misunderstand.

Why not conect both server and player tonyour network then you can use all kinds of controllers ?
However you cant reach the network settngs on the SB3 anymore :/ so you have to adapt to the network settings the player already has ....

Mnyb
2016-07-17, 05:05
Ah missed that the screen came back to life 😊

Fahzz
2016-07-18, 05:54
I believe that seller on ebay (who also sells new Transporters) is affiliated with Logitech. Plus his adapters are cheaper. (To the US, anyway)

Does anyone know if any of his OEM batteries can be used in a Duet controller?