PDA

View Full Version : Caller ID and Slimserver



The1FastCar
2004-12-19, 19:52
1st reset the modem with AT&F

then try every combination of AT#CID=1 or AT+VCID=1



For most MODEMs, the string AT#CID=1 or AT+VCID=1will enable Caller ID.
Look in the user's manual for your MODEM to see if any setup string is
referenced or mentioned.

Other common setup strings are:

* AT#CID=2
* AT%CCID=1
* AT%CCID=2
* AT#CC1
* AT*ID1

The best way to test is to use a terminal data program. In Windows 3.X, the
TERMINAL program (usually in the accessories folder) can be used, (be sure
you set the COM port to the PORT your MODEM uses). In Windows
95/98/ME/2000/XP, the HyperTerminal program can be used.

To use HyperTerminal do the following:





1) Select "HyperTerminal" by navigating through the Start button to
"Programs," then "Accessories," then "HyperTerminal"

2) Double click on "hyperterm" or "hyperterm.exe"

3) Name the new connection "test," and select OK

4) Change the "connect using" to Direct to COM X, were X is the COM port
used by the Caller ID device

5) Click on OK on the screen for port settings





To test your MODEM, do the following:

1. Type the string ATZ, (OK should appear on the screen)

2. Enter the Caller ID string to be tested, (AT#CID=1 or AT+VCID=1 for most
modems)

3. If OK results, continue; If ERROR results the modem may not support
Caller ID; try a different setup string

4. Have someone call you and watch the terminal screen

5. If Caller ID is working, you will see the word RING, followed by one or
more additional data lines. The word RING will then continue to appear for
each incoming ring.

6. If Caller ID is not working, you will only see the word RING for each
incoming ring. If this is the case try another setup string and go back to
step 2.

The most common result, when Caller ID data works, is the following:

RING

DATE = xxxxx

TIME = xxxx

NMBR = xxxxxxxxx

NAME = xxxxxxxx

RING

RING .

-----Original Message-----
From: discuss-bounces (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com
[mailto:discuss-bounces (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com] On Behalf Of Mark Graham
Sent: Sunday, December 19, 2004 9:38 PM
To: discuss (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com
Subject: [slim] Caller ID and Slimserver



Hi Aaron,

Is there any method of enabling it. I've used hyperterminal and had to use
AT+VCID=1. I also tried 0 and 1 with no success. I called my number and
ring only showed up with no caller id data.

Thanks again for the help


Mark Graham
-------Original Message-------

From: Slim Devices <mailto:discuss (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com> Discussion
Date: 12/19/04 17:16:03
To: discuss (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com
Subject: [slim] Caller ID and Slimserver

have you enabled caller ID on the modem? most modems have it disabled by
default. Check this page for some common initialization strings:
http://www.mtnsys.com/pages/howto/htmdmtst.htm
"Mark Graham" <graham_mark (AT) sbcglobal (DOT) net> wrote in message
news:41C5CEE3.000003.02668 (AT) LAPTOP (DOT) ..

Hi everyone,

I've downloaded YAC and YAC to Slimserver software and can't seem to get it
to work.

I believe it may be the modem. I purchased a new modem yesterday that was
suppose to be caller ID capable. I've ran hyperterminal and it was only
showing the rings with no caller ID present.

Could anyone recommend a modem that will work?

The modem I purchased was the 3com/US Robotics 5660A. I also do have caller
ID enabled thru the telephone company.

Thanks for any help that can be given

Mark Graham




_____

Mark Graham
2004-12-19, 21:44
ATZ was the 1st string used. Then the only string that I didn't get an
error with was AT+VCID=1. I called my phone # and all that showed up was
the 3 rings with no caller id info.

I've got an email in with US robotics about the issue. If there's no
solution I'll probably return the modem and will forget about the caller ID
on the slimserver.


Mark Graham
-------Original Message-------

From: Slim Devices Discussion
Date: 12/19/04 20:52:38
To: 'Slim Devices Discussion'
Subject: [slim] Caller ID and Slimserver

1st reset the modem with AT&F

then try every combination of AT#CID=1 or AT+VCID=1


For most MODEMs, the string AT#CID=1 or AT+VCID=1will enable Caller ID.
Look in the user’s manual for your MODEM to see if any setup string is
referenced or mentioned.
Other common setup strings are:
AT#CID=2
AT%CCID=1
AT%CCID=2
AT#CC1
AT*ID1
The best way to test is to use a terminal data program. In Windows 3.X, the
TERMINAL program (usually in the accessories folder) can be used, (be sure
you set the COM port to the PORT your MODEM uses). In Windows
95/98/ME/2000/XP, the HyperTerminal program can be used.
To use HyperTerminal do the following:
1) Select "HyperTerminal" by navigating through the Start button to
Programs," then "Accessories," then "HyperTerminal"
2) Double click on "hyperterm" or "hyperterm.exe"
3) Name the new connection "test," and select OK
4) Change the "connect using" to Direct to COM X, were X is the COM port
used by the Caller ID device
5) Click on OK on the screen for port settings
To test your MODEM, do the following:
1. Type the string ATZ, (OK should appear on the screen)
2. Enter the Caller ID string to be tested, (AT#CID=1 or AT+VCID=1 for most
modems)
3. If OK results, continue; If ERROR results the modem may not support
Caller ID; try a different setup string
4. Have someone call you and watch the terminal screen
5. If Caller ID is working, you will see the word RING, followed by one or
more additional data lines. The word RING will then continue to appear for
each incoming ring.
6. If Caller ID is not working, you will only see the word RING for each
incoming ring. If this is the case try another setup string and go back to
step 2.
The most common result, when Caller ID data works, is the following:
RING
DATE = xxxxx
TIME = xxxx
NMBR = xxxxxxxxx
NAME = xxxxxxxx
RING
RING …

Jonathan Greene
2004-12-20, 12:06
any chance of getting this to work with VOIP services?


On Dec 19, 2004, at 11:44 PM, Mark Graham wrote:

> ATZ was the 1st string used. Then the only string that I didn't get
> an error with was AT+VCID=1. I called my phone # and all that showed
> up was the 3 rings with no caller id info.
>
> I've got an email in with US robotics about the issue. If there's no
> solution I'll probably return the modem and will forget about the
> caller ID on the slimserver.
>
>
> Mark Graham
> -------Original Message-------
>
> From: Slim Devices Discussion
> Date: 12/19/04 20:52:38
> To: 'Slim Devices Discussion'
> Subject: [slim] Caller ID and Slimserver
>
> 1st reset the modem with AT&F
>
> then try every combination of AT#CID=1 or AT+VCID=1
>
>
>
> For most MODEMs, the string AT#CID=1 or AT+VCID=1will enable Caller
> ID. Look in the user’s manual for your MODEM to see if any setup
> string is referenced or mentioned.
>
> Other common setup strings are:
> • AT#CID=2
> • AT%CCID=1
> • AT%CCID=2
> • AT#CC1
> • AT*ID1
>
>
> The best way to test is to use a terminal data program. In Windows
> 3.X, the TERMINAL program (usually in the accessories folder) can be
> used, (be sure you set the COM port to the PORT your MODEM uses). In
> Windows 95/98/ME/2000/XP, the HyperTerminal program can be used.
>
> To use HyperTerminal do the following:
>
>
>
>
> 1) Select "HyperTerminal" by navigating through the Start button to
> "Programs," then "Accessories," then "HyperTerminal"
>
>
> 2) Double click on "hyperterm" or "hyperterm.exe"
>
>
> 3) Name the new connection "test," and select OK
>
>
> 4) Change the "connect using" to Direct to COM X, were X is the COM
> port used by the Caller ID device
>
>
> 5) Click on OK on the screen for port settings
>
> To test your MODEM, do the following:
>
>
> 1. Type the string ATZ, (OK should appear on the screen)
>
>
> 2. Enter the Caller ID string to be tested, (AT#CID=1 or AT+VCID=1 for
> most modems)
>
>
> 3. If OK results, continue; If ERROR results the modem may not support
> Caller ID; try a different setup string
>
>
> 4. Have someone call you and watch the terminal screen
>
>
> 5. If Caller ID is working, you will see the word RING, followed by
> one or more additional data lines. The word RING will then continue to
> appear for each incoming ring.
>
>
> 6. If Caller ID is not working, you will only see the word RING for
> each incoming ring. If this is the case try another setup string and
> go back to step 2.
>
> The most common result, when Caller ID data works, is the following:
>
> RING
>
> DATE = xxxxx
>
> TIME = xxxx
>
> NMBR = xxxxxxxxx
>
> NAME = xxxxxxxx
>
> RING
>
> RING …
>
>
> <imstp_emo_en.gif>

the cosmic gate
2008-04-28, 00:09
At this moment i'll trying to setup YAC and slimyac.
But the problem, everything seems to work fine : when i tested the modem with hyperterminal everything is oke, i'll get the caller id etc.
When i tested this setup with : talking caller id, a had the setup that it has to connect to com 3, and the string to enable caller ID : AT+VCID=1 . everything works fin
BUT: when i start YAC and call the number nothing happens ?
When i use for example audo caller ID everything works fine ?
When i tested this setup with : talking caller id, a had the setup that it has to connect to com 3, and the string to enable caller ID : AT+VCID=1 . everything works fine.

Somebody who can help me ?

Duman
2008-04-28, 12:11
Hi Cosmic,

If your talking caller ID is working, you should be able to get your squeezebox to display caller ID information. Let's first try to get YAC working on your desktop.

A few questions:
1- what is your operating system and what version of squeezecenter are you using?
2- Is YAC displaying anything on the lower right corner of your desktop when you call your number?
3- When you started YAC, did a screen appear allowing you to select your modem?
4- Did you disable your antivirus software and your talking caller ID program before trying YAC?

the cosmic gate
2008-04-28, 12:57
@Duman :

1)the version is squeezecenter 7.0 running on windows home server
2)YAC is running, but when i call it there's nothing (number pop-up )
3)yes when i started YAC, i can choose between serveral modems, i choose the creative modem
4)no i dont disable the AV, but i disabled all other caller ID programs.

i think that the problem is in the caller ID string etc .
This because when i use some other programs and i setup the program with the caller ID string its almost worked directely

So i think when YAC wont work then it wont work on the squeezebox at all.

the cosmic gate
2008-04-29, 03:36
i disabled the AV, but YAC wont work :(
Talking caller ID works okay (when i started this app)

Duman
2008-04-29, 05:43
It seems like the caller ID string is correct, if your other caller ID programs are working correctly. You can confirm this by viewing your modem log.

Also, have you updated your registry according to the YAC instructions?

the cosmic gate
2008-04-29, 06:17
update the reg ?(i never read about it)

The log :
04-29-2008 13:31:05.562 - File: C:\WINDOWS\system32\tapisrv.dll, Version 5.2.3790
04-29-2008 13:31:05.562 - File: C:\WINDOWS\system32\unimdm.tsp, Version 5.2.3790
04-29-2008 13:31:05.562 - File: C:\WINDOWS\system32\unimdmat.dll, Version 5.2.3790
04-29-2008 13:31:05.562 - File: C:\WINDOWS\system32\uniplat.dll, Version 5.2.3790
04-29-2008 13:31:05.578 - File: C:\WINDOWS\system32\drivers\modem.sys, Version 5.2.3790
04-29-2008 13:31:05.578 - File: C:\WINDOWS\system32\modemui.dll, Version 5.2.3790
04-29-2008 13:31:05.578 - File: C:\WINDOWS\system32\mdminst.dll, Version 5.2.3790
04-29-2008 13:31:05.578 - Modem type: Creative Modem Blaster V.92 DI5732
04-29-2008 13:31:05.578 - Modem inf path: oem10.inf
04-29-2008 13:31:05.578 - Modem inf section: ModemX
04-29-2008 13:31:05.578 - Matching hardware ID: pci\ven_14f1&dev_2f00&subsys_1031148d
04-29-2008 13:31:05.781 - Opening Modem
04-29-2008 13:31:05.781 - 115200,8,N,1, ctsfl=1, rtsctl=2
04-29-2008 13:31:05.781 - Initializing modem.
04-29-2008 13:31:05.781 - DSR is low while initializing the modem. Verify modem is turned on.
04-29-2008 13:31:05.796 - Send: AT<cr>
04-29-2008 13:31:05.796 - Recv: <cr><lf>OK<cr><lf>
04-29-2008 13:31:05.796 - Interpreted response: OK
04-29-2008 13:31:05.812 - Send: AT&FE0V1S0=0&C1&D2+MR=2;+DR=1;+ER=1;W2<cr>
04-29-2008 13:31:05.953 - Recv: <cr><lf>OK<cr><lf>
04-29-2008 13:31:05.953 - Interpreted response: OK
04-29-2008 13:31:05.968 - Send: ATS7=60M1+ES=3,0,2;+DS=3;+IFC=2,2;X4<cr>
04-29-2008 13:31:05.968 - Recv: <cr><lf>OK<cr><lf>
04-29-2008 13:31:05.968 - Interpreted response: OK
04-29-2008 13:31:05.968 - Sending user initialization commands.
04-29-2008 13:31:05.984 - Send: AT+VCID=1<cr>
04-29-2008 13:31:05.984 - Recv: <cr><lf>OK<cr><lf>
04-29-2008 13:31:05.984 - Interpreted response: OK
04-29-2008 13:31:05.984 - Waiting for a call.
04-29-2008 13:31:05.984 - Send: ATS0=0<cr>
04-29-2008 13:31:05.984 - Recv: <cr><lf>OK<cr><lf>
04-29-2008 13:31:05.984 - Interpreted response: OK

the cosmic gate
2008-05-01, 09:52
nobody who can help me ??PLZZZ :D

Duman
2008-05-01, 11:57
Hi,

The yac2slim download includes a registry.reg file. Open this file with a text editor, edit the file as described on http://www.savardsoftware.com/yac2slim/ , and then double-click the edited file to add the values to your registry.

These registry changes are required for yac2slim - YAC should be working even without the registry changes. Can you print out your modem log after receiving a call so we can confirm that the modem is properly interpreting the caller ID strings?

the cosmic gate
2008-05-01, 12:20
yes okay,but yac itself doesnt work!so i'll think that yac2slim wont work!

its possible to start yac,but when i call the number nothing happens at all(nu number popup etc).(other caller id programs work perfectly)?