PDA

View Full Version : New Router and network name, now players cant find library - help!



donmatter
2016-05-26, 02:04
Reluctantly and only because of increasingly temperamental Wifi performance I have installed a new Sagecom router which set up and performs perfectly.

So, looking forward to even better Squeezebox performance, proceeded to factory reset players and controller only to get 'couldn't detect library' message.

Guessing I must need to re-install LMS, reluctantly, because of various fixes installed for BBC iPlayer and Jazz fm On Demand.

Only comment on the new router, the previous one let me set the network name and this one gives it to you so that the name and SSID are the same. Can LMS cope with this, and if not how do I re-name the SSID? - Running v. 7.7.5 - 1416570306 @ Thu Nov 27 07:38:09 CUT 2014 on Windows 7.

Many thanks,

Don

bpa
2016-05-26, 02:31
Reluctantly and only because of increasingly temperamental Wifi performance I have installed a new Sagecom router which set up and performs perfectly.

So, looking forward to even better Squeezebox performance, proceeded to factory reset players and controller only to get 'couldn't detect library' message.

Guessing I must need to re-install LMS, reluctantly, because of various fixes installed for BBC iPlayer and Jazz fm On Demand.

Only comment on the new router, the previous one let me set the network name and this one gives it to you so that the name and SSID are the same. Can LMS cope with this, and if not how do I re-name the SSID? - Running v. 7.7.5 - 1416570306 @ Thu Nov 27 07:38:09 CUT 2014 on Windows 7.

Many thanks,

Don

Make everything is restarted with router first, then LMS and when LMS is up and running (check LMS log to make it has network access) then power up players. If SSID has changed then player needs to know which network LMS is on before it can look for a library.

No need to reinstall LMS as all wifi stuff is in the players.

Each player has a network setup - you don't say which type. In the wireless setup usually a player will show which SSID it sees - you select it, add passsword etc.

If a player can "see" mysqueezebox.com - then it has connected onto the new SSID - then you should try to connect to LMS.

DJanGo
2016-05-26, 04:49
No need to reinstall LMS as all wifi stuff is in the players.

:cool:


Running v. 7.7.5 - 1416570306 @ Thu Nov 27 07:38:09 CUT 2014 on Windows 7.


as bpa stated already not for WLAN and not re-install but you should trash 7.7.5 and give way for 7.9.

bpa
2016-05-26, 05:34
If you do decide to upgrade LMS - only do it after you have got the players connected to your existing LMS.

To minimise chance of problems and help isolate and fix problems - only one change "item" in your system at a time. At the moment you are tyring to solve a problem due to your router change - do not change anything else except the wireless settings of the player and even then - only do one player at a time. When you get one player working - it will be easier to get all the others online.

w3wilkes
2016-05-26, 08:56
You shouldn't need to reinstall LMS. If your PC is successfully connected to your new router and has internet access you should be good to go with controller / receiver setup.

Are you sure you factory reset both the controller and receiver? Receiver... long push on front button until fast red blink, about 15 seconds. On controller - Advanced settings -> something like Restore factory settings. When the controller restarts it should initially prompt for Language and then network. In network setup you'll need to set to your new network SSID and then the network passkey. Then you should be prompted to set up the receiver and it should list your receiver by its MAC address. In this part of the setup process the controller directly connects to the receiver and the controller gives the receiver the network SSID and passkey. Then the receiver goes through setup to connect to your Wifi network, the LED on the receiver goes something like Yellow (waiting to connect to network) then Green (network connect - waiting for DHCP to give an IP address) then Blue (got IP and waiting to connect to LMS) and finally dim White when it actually hooks up with LMS. Here's a wiki on the receiver setup and LED color meanings;
http://wiki.slimdevices.com/index.php/SBR_front_button_and_LED

donmatter
2016-05-26, 11:51
Many thanks for prompt and multiple replies.

Started again:

1. Logged computer onto Wifi
2. Started LMS, got the following log entry:

[16-05-26 19:10:00.4348] main::init (353) Starting Logitech Media Server (v7.7.5, 1416570306, Thu Nov 27 07:38:09 CUT 2014) perl 5.014001
[16-05-26 19:10:06.0509] Slim::Utils::Misc::msg (1311) Warning: [19:10:06.0507] defined(@array) is deprecated at C:\ProgramData\Squeezebox\Cache\InstalledPlugins/Plugins/CDplayer/CDPLAY.pm line 481, <DATA> line 166.
[16-05-26 19:10:06.0511] Slim::Utils::Misc::msg (1311) Warning: [19:10:06.0510] (Maybe you should just omit the defined()?)

3. Reset one player and controller
4. Got through to blue light on player and got following message on controller:
We couldn't connect to Sagecom-etc(new network name
Make sure your computer is turned on and connected to the network (it is!)
and that LMS is currently running (it is)

Is there a setting on my new network that is preventing LMS being seen?

Thanks, Don

ps.

Tried again without CD player (sorry bpa!), got the following log entry:

[16-05-26 20:11:56.7272] main::init (353) Starting Logitech Media Server (v7.7.5, 1416570306, Thu Nov 27 07:38:09 CUT 2014) perl 5.014001

got the same connection error message.

castalla
2016-05-26, 11:59
Many thanks for prompt and multiple replies.

Started again:

1. Logged computer onto Wifi
2. Started LMS, got the following log entry:

[16-05-26 19:10:00.4348] main::init (353) Starting Logitech Media Server (v7.7.5, 1416570306, Thu Nov 27 07:38:09 CUT 2014) perl 5.014001
[16-05-26 19:10:06.0509] Slim::Utils::Misc::msg (1311) Warning: [19:10:06.0507] defined(@array) is deprecated at C:\ProgramData\Squeezebox\Cache\InstalledPlugins/Plugins/CDplayer/CDPLAY.pm line 481, <DATA> line 166.
[16-05-26 19:10:06.0511] Slim::Utils::Misc::msg (1311) Warning: [19:10:06.0510] (Maybe you should just omit the defined()?)

3. Reset one player and controller
4. Got through to blue light on player and got following message on controller:
We couldn't connect to Sagecom-etc(new network name
Make sure your computer is turned on and connected to the network (it is!)
and that LMS is currently running (it is)

Is there a setting on my new network that is preventing LMS being seen?

Thanks, Don

Is the router set to b.g.n ?

donmatter
2016-05-26, 12:53
Is the router set to b.g.n ?

Sorry, haven't met this, can't see any reference to it when I go online to the router, what does it stand for please?

Don

PS. Right, now understand we're talking about the WiFi standard which for this Sagecom 2704N router is quoted as: 802.11 B/G/N (2.4GHz 2 x 2)
as I can't see any reference on line to the device, can we assume it's set to b.g.n by default?

d6jg
2016-05-26, 12:57
2 things

1. The machine running LMS should ALWAYS be wired. It's not clear but it looks like yours is wireless. While that may work it is prone to instability and best practise is wired.

2. Some, but not all, wifi routers have client isolation options. Meaning one client can't see another and vice versa. This woul definitely stop LMS and Players connecting.

In your case the player doesn't look like it is even connecting to the wifi. As suggested look at types being offered and also key options. Can you temporarily wire the player to check basic connectivity?

castalla
2016-05-26, 13:00
Sorry, havn't met this, what does is stand for please?

Don

Your router will have a setting for wireless mode for the 2.4 Ghz - eg, bgn mixed. Some routers are set by default to n only - this will not work for players.

w3wilkes
2016-05-26, 14:14
And just for extra measure I once had a case where one of my receivers absolutely refused to go beyond the blue LED during setup. I ended up having to use Net::UDAP to setup the receiver specifying the IP of my server. This has only happened once, but just thought I'd mention it as these receivers can be finicky sometimes.

donmatter
2016-05-26, 14:25
Your router will have a setting for wireless mode for the 2.4 Ghz - eg, bgn mixed. Some routers are set by default to n only - this will not work for players.

Found it and yes it is set for b/g/n (up to 144 Mb/s)

I will also try a direct wired server. Thinking back, most if not all my players were probably set up when I was using a wired server and I just moved the server to wireless later.

w3wilkes
2016-05-26, 14:42
You might also check to see if the router is set to "auto" for wifi channel. I've had trouble with receivers losing their connection when the router is set to auto. Pick your least used channel of 1, 6 or 11.

donmatter
2016-05-27, 02:09
2 things

1. The machine running LMS should ALWAYS be wired. It's not clear but it looks like yours is wireless. While that may work it is prone to instability and best practise is wired.

2. Some, but not all, wifi routers have client isolation options. Meaning one client can't see another and vice versa. This woul definitely stop LMS and Players connecting.

In your case the player doesn't look like it is even connecting to the wifi. As suggested look at types being offered and also key options. Can you temporarily wire the player to check basic connectivity?


Many thanks D6jg, all 4 players working now. As you suggested, worked with directly wired server.

When working also managed to switch all to the laptop on Wifi I normally use, and more to the point has all the fixes etc for which thanks again to Bpa and Triode.

Don

d6jg
2016-05-27, 09:46
Thats good to hear.

Always nice when someone posts back to say its fixed.