PDA

View Full Version : Advice Please - FLAC to MP3



peterguk
2016-05-07, 14:25
Hi Everyone. Some advice please.

Currently have LMS running on Windows 7 Microserver. About 300 albums, all FLAC.

I want to select about 100 tracks and convert from FLAC to run on my ipod in the car.

So what's the easiest way? Do i install itunes on the Microserver, or are there better ways?

Jeff07971
2016-05-07, 15:14
Hi Everyone. Some advice please.

Currently have LMS running on Windows 7 Microserver. About 300 albums, all FLAC.

I want to select about 100 tracks and convert from FLAC to run on my ipod in the car.

So what's the easiest way? Do i install itunes on the Microserver, or are there better ways?

I use EZ CD Convertor, this can do whole directories or all your collection in one hit.

Edit: Also carries over tags !

garym
2016-05-07, 15:48
foobar2000.
http://www.cnet.com/how-to/how-to-convert-flac-audio-files-to-mp3-with-foobar2000/

Install from here:
http://www.foobar2000.org/getfile/a75dce0375c33e763a15ca23e5fa2b3f/foobar2000_v1.3.10.exe

also install codec pack:
https://www.foobar2000.org/encoderpack

and then LAME (for making mp3):
http://www.rarewares.org/mp3-lame-bundle.php

mdconnelly
2016-05-08, 09:23
MediaMonkey does a nice job of this - particularly if you want to put in on your phone as well.

CloudAtlas
2016-05-08, 12:28
Been using DbPoweramp for ages - produces good results for me.

Sent from my SM-T810 using Tapatalk

rkrug01
2016-05-08, 13:02
Look into mp3fs https://khenriks.github.io/mp3fs/ which is a fuse file
system which converts flac to MP3 on the fly.


Le dimanche 8 mai 2016, CloudAtlas <
CloudAtlas.7ff0k0 (AT) no-mx (DOT) forums.slimdevices.com> a écrit :

>
> Been using DbPoweramp for ages - produces good results for me.
>
> Sent from my SM-T810 using Tapatalk
>
>
>
>
> ------------------------------------------------------------------------
> CloudAtlas's Profile:
> http://forums.slimdevices.com/member.php?userid=65221
> View this thread: http://forums.slimdevices.com/showthread.php?t=105561
>
>

Julf
2016-05-08, 13:06
Look into mp3fs https://khenriks.github.io/mp3fs/ which is a fuse file
system which converts flac to MP3 on the fly.

A great setup, and one I use, but more suited to constantly keeping your collection synchronized between your home and car. Sounds like the OP wants to hand-pick a subset and convert it once.

RonM
2016-05-08, 14:47
Been using DbPoweramp for ages - produces good results for me.


I agree, it's the best I've ever used. You do pay a nominal amount if you keep it, but it has a three week fully functional trial. It nicely supports preservation of tags, and the output location can be easily and powerfully defined (e.g. artist/album/songs, etc). Spoon, the developer, generally responds to queries, mostly respectfully, but sometimes with a bit of an edge for the stupider questions.

https://dbpoweramp.com/

R.

GeeJay
2016-05-08, 20:00
dbpoweramp for me, too.

It's been awhile since I've done this, but I think you can rip a CD to both FLAC and mp3 at the same time if you know you want a lossy version.

Jeff07971
2016-05-09, 01:37
A great setup, and one I use, but more suited to constantly keeping your collection synchronized between your home and car. Sounds like the OP wants to hand-pick a subset and convert it once.

Tried to install this on my Centos7 system but too many dependencies are unmet :(

Looks like a great idea

banned for life
2016-05-09, 07:47
foobar2000.
http://www.cnet.com/how-to/how-to-convert-flac-audio-files-to-mp3-with-foobar2000/

Install from here:
http://www.foobar2000.org/getfile/a75dce0375c33e763a15ca23e5fa2b3f/foobar2000_v1.3.10.exe

also install codec pack:
https://www.foobar2000.org/encoderpack

and then LAME (for making mp3):
http://www.rarewares.org/mp3-lame-bundle.php

Foobar is a very good alternative that also does Apple Lossless

DJanGo
2016-05-09, 09:00
Hi Everyone. Some advice please.

Currently have LMS running on Windows 7 Microserver. About 300 albums, all FLAC.

I want to select about 100 tracks and convert from FLAC to run on my ipod in the car.

So what's the easiest way? Do i install itunes on the Microserver, or are there better ways?

Last but not the least statement

Use itunes cause you need to convert them and to put them on the ipod as well.

pfd
2016-05-10, 07:06
I've used flac2mp3 for years. https://github.com/robinbowes/flac2mp3

Set up the location of your MP3 converter and just fire it off. It will convert what it needs to and ignore what it doesn't in the same directory tree.

Dogberry2
2016-05-11, 08:21
dbpoweramp for me, too.

It's been awhile since I've done this, but I think you can rip a CD to both FLAC and mp3 at the same time if you know you want a lossy version.
Yes, it does that. I have mine set up to rip CDs (still my primary source of purchased music) to duplicate libraries, one FLAC (for the home Squeezebox system) and one MP3 (for putting into the car and phones, which don't support FLAC). Works beautifully, keeps the file structure neatly organized, and uses the same tags for both. It also has a "batch converter" that will let you take all or part of your FLAC library and do a mass-convert to MP3 (or vice-versa).

JonWill
2016-05-11, 23:36
Yes, it does that. I have mine set up to rip CDs (still my primary source of purchased music) to duplicate libraries, one FLAC (for the home Squeezebox system) and one MP3 (for putting into the car and phones, which don't support FLAC). Works beautifully, keeps the file structure neatly organized, and uses the same tags for both. It also has a "batch converter" that will let you take all or part of your FLAC library and do a mass-convert to MP3 (or vice-versa).
Oooh ... that sounds interesting - can you tell me how to do that? I rip in DBPoweramp to FLAC and then us the DBPoweramp batch convertor to convert the FLAC files to a duplicate MP3 library for my iPOD. If I could do it in one, that would be great!

Jon

Dogberry2
2016-05-12, 08:47
Oooh ... that sounds interesting - can you tell me how to do that? I rip in DBPoweramp to FLAC and then us the DBPoweramp batch convertor to convert the FLAC files to a duplicate MP3 library for my iPOD. If I could do it in one, that would be great!

Jon
It's been years since I set up dBpoweramp and configured everything, but as I recall, you just select "Multi Encoder" as the Rip To option. I don't remember for sure whether this is built-in, or if it has to be installed as a separate plug-in from the website. It basically just lets you define more than one codec (each with its own configuration options) to be used whenever you rip a CD. It's described here: http://www.dbpoweramp.com/help/Codec/[Multi%20Encoder]/help.htm

garym
2016-05-12, 09:01
It's been years since I set up dBpoweramp and configured everything, but as I recall, you just select "Multi Encoder" as the Rip To option. I don't remember for sure whether this is built-in, or if it has to be installed as a separate plug-in from the website. It basically just lets you define more than one codec (each with its own configuration options) to be used whenever you rip a CD. It's described here: http://www.dbpoweramp.com/help/Codec/[Multi%20Encoder]/help.htm

I'm a long time dBpoweramp user as well (and highly recommend it). I personally don't use the multiencoder to create FLAC and mp3. I rip my CDs to FLAC and then separately use dBpoweramp to convert the FLAC files to mp3 (Lame -V2) for use in my iThings. For me, no matter how careful I am in ripping to FLAC and making sure metadata is correct, I often notice something I want to change about the tags after the fact. And if it is a multidisk set, I redo the ReplayGain tags using all disks in set to set ALBUM level RG tags.

Once I'm 100% happy with FLAC file tags, album art, etc., I can then easily point the dbpa converter to my FLAC file parent directory and tell it to convert to mp3 and place the files (using same directory organization scheme (Artist/Album/tracks) in a parent MP3 directory. It knows which FLAC files have already been converted, so it only converts the new FLAC files I've added, so very simple. I just run this every few weeks to keep my mp3 directory up to date.

rkrug
2016-05-13, 01:32
garym <garym.7fm5lb (AT) no-mx (DOT) forums.slimdevices.com> writes:

> Dogberry2 wrote:
>> It's been years since I set up dBpoweramp and configured everything, but
>> as I recall, you just select "Multi Encoder" as the Rip To option. I
>> don't remember for sure whether this is built-in, or if it has to be
>> installed as a separate plug-in from the website. It basically just lets
>> you define more than one codec (each with its own configuration options)
>> to be used whenever you rip a CD. It's described here:
>> http://www.dbpoweramp.com/help/Codec/[Multi%20Encoder]/help.htm
>
> I'm a long time dBpoweramp user as well (and highly recommend it). I
> personally don't use the multiencoder to create FLAC and mp3. I rip my
> CDs to FLAC and then separately use dBpoweramp to convert the FLAC files
> to mp3 (Lame -V2) for use in my iThings. For me, no matter how careful I
> am in ripping to FLAC and making sure metadata is correct, I often
> notice something I want to change about the tags after the fact.

Same here - I am never happy with my tags...

> And if it is a multidisk set, I redo the ReplayGain tags using all
> disks in set to set ALBUM level RG tags.

Never thought about that - makes sense. Have to look into how I can do this.

>
> Once I'm 100% happy with FLAC file tags, album art, etc., I can then
> easily point the dbpa converter to my FLAC file parent directory and
> tell it to convert to mp3 and place the files (using same directory
> organization scheme (Artist/Album/tracks) in a parent MP3 directory. It
> knows which FLAC files have already been converted, so it only converts
> the new FLAC files I've added, so very simple.

Nice. I use XLD on a Mac and XLD converts first and than checks if the
output file exists. So dBpoweramp only checks first - good to know.

Has it also an option to only update the tags if needed? That would be
really nice.

Rainer

> I just run this every few weeks to keep my mp3 directory up to date.
>
>
>
> *Home:* VortexBox 4TB (2.3) > LMS 7.8 > Transporter, Touch, Boom, Radio
> (all ethernet)
> *Cottage:* VBA 3TB (2.3) > LMS 7.8 > Touch > Benchmark DAC I, Boom,
> Radio w/Battery (all ethernet except Radio)
> *Office:* Win8(64) > LMS 7.9 > Squeezelite
> *Spares:* Touch(3), Radio(3), Boom, SB3, CONTROLLER
> *Controllers:* iPhone6 & iPadAir2 (iPeng8 & Squeezepad), CONTROLLER, or
> SqueezePlay 7.8 on Win7(64) laptop
> *Files:* ripping: dbpoweramp > FLAC; post-rip: mp3tag, PerfectTunes;
> Streaming: Spotify
> ------------------------------------------------------------------------
> garym's Profile: http://forums.slimdevices.com/member.php?userid=17325
> View this thread: http://forums.slimdevices.com/showthread.php?t=105561
>
>

rkrug
2016-05-13, 01:46
Rainer M Krug <Rainer (AT) krugs (DOT) de> writes:

> garym <garym.7fm5lb (AT) no-mx (DOT) forums.slimdevices.com> writes:
>
>> Dogberry2 wrote:
>>> It's been years since I set up dBpoweramp and configured everything, but
>>> as I recall, you just select "Multi Encoder" as the Rip To option. I
>>> don't remember for sure whether this is built-in, or if it has to be
>>> installed as a separate plug-in from the website. It basically just lets
>>> you define more than one codec (each with its own configuration options)
>>> to be used whenever you rip a CD. It's described here:
>>> http://www.dbpoweramp.com/help/Codec/[Multi%20Encoder]/help.htm
>>
>> I'm a long time dBpoweramp user as well (and highly recommend it). I
>> personally don't use the multiencoder to create FLAC and mp3. I rip my
>> CDs to FLAC and then separately use dBpoweramp to convert the FLAC files
>> to mp3 (Lame -V2) for use in my iThings. For me, no matter how careful I
>> am in ripping to FLAC and making sure metadata is correct, I often
>> notice something I want to change about the tags after the fact.
>
> Same here - I am never happy with my tags...
>
>> And if it is a multidisk set, I redo the ReplayGain tags using all
>> disks in set to set ALBUM level RG tags.
>
> Never thought about that - makes sense. Have to look into how I can do this.

How do you do this - is this possible without re-encoding the flac
files?

>
>>
>> Once I'm 100% happy with FLAC file tags, album art, etc., I can then
>> easily point the dbpa converter to my FLAC file parent directory and
>> tell it to convert to mp3 and place the files (using same directory
>> organization scheme (Artist/Album/tracks) in a parent MP3 directory. It
>> knows which FLAC files have already been converted, so it only converts
>> the new FLAC files I've added, so very simple.
>
> Nice. I use XLD on a Mac and XLD converts first and than checks if the
> output file exists. So dBpoweramp only checks first - good to know.
>
> Has it also an option to only update the tags if needed? That would be
> really nice.
>
> Rainer
>
>> I just run this every few weeks to keep my mp3 directory up to date.
>>
>>
>>
>> *Home:* VortexBox 4TB (2.3) > LMS 7.8 > Transporter, Touch, Boom, Radio
>> (all ethernet)
>> *Cottage:* VBA 3TB (2.3) > LMS 7.8 > Touch > Benchmark DAC I, Boom,
>> Radio w/Battery (all ethernet except Radio)
>> *Office:* Win8(64) > LMS 7.9 > Squeezelite
>> *Spares:* Touch(3), Radio(3), Boom, SB3, CONTROLLER
>> *Controllers:* iPhone6 & iPadAir2 (iPeng8 & Squeezepad), CONTROLLER, or
>> SqueezePlay 7.8 on Win7(64) laptop
>> *Files:* ripping: dbpoweramp > FLAC; post-rip: mp3tag, PerfectTunes;
>> Streaming: Spotify
>> ------------------------------------------------------------------------
>> garym's Profile: http://forums.slimdevices.com/member.php?userid=17325
>> View this thread: http://forums.slimdevices.com/showthread.php?t=105561
>>
>>

garym
2016-05-13, 07:12
>> And if it is a multidisk set, I redo the ReplayGain tags using all
>> disks in set to set ALBUM level RG tags.
>
> Never thought about that - makes sense. Have to look into how I can do this.

How do you do this - is this possible without re-encoding the flac
files?

Yes, I just redo the ReplayGain tags (I'm not re-encoding the files themselves). I can do this in two ways. One is to just open all the files (from all disks of the CD) in foobar2000, right click, select "ReplayGain" then choose "treat all selected files as an album" then apply. This reanalyzes the RG values and rewrites the RG tags. Or I can do the same thing in dBpa by choosing the tracks, "convert to" REPLAYGAIN DSP. This simply rewrites the RG tags and does not re-encode the audio.




> Has it also an option to only update the tags if needed? That would be
> really nice.


Not sure.

sherington
2016-05-16, 23:30
Personally, I would convert your iPod to Rockbox & continue to use FLAC files - its dead easy & you preserve the quality to an amazing extent. The difference is clearly 'seen' when you use earphones on the iPod.

Else I would use either DBPowerAmp or foobar200 - use both for different stuff & both are excellent. As I do for my daughter's iPod (she resoutely loves iTunes - representing a complete failure in my attempts to educate her!!!), you have to maintain a separate library for the ITunes thingy, supposing you want to keep the original FLAC files.

sherington
2016-05-16, 23:44
I have never had an Android phone music player that doesnt actually play FLAC files, even where they state that they are unsupported. Wouldn't bother with converting to MP3 for Android therefore - if playing your iPod through some type of connecotr to the car radio, you also don't need to convert if you use Rockbox. The only issue with Rockbox is that not all iPods are supported - see http://www.rockbox.org/

If you have an iPod Classic, go here for simple insructions - http://www.head-fi.org/t/532426/ipod-classic-rockbox-its-happening .. I have never had an issue on the classics at all, even though rockbox.org says its unstable. It ain't in real life.

OleHB
2016-05-17, 00:05
a deteil, that is very useful for me with foobar:

i tag my music carefully and when i convert good tagged flac-files into mp3, foobar copy also all tags.
normally i have to tag all mp3's again. with foobar all tags are copied too and i don't have to tag all files again.

usc95
2016-05-19, 14:14
I rip to ALAC instead of FLAC. Itunes will automatically transcode the ALAC files down to lossy AAC files during syncing. It will give you the option to choose the bitrate and do all the work. The nice thing is you only need one library for your i-devices and Squeezeboxes since LMS handles ALAC just fine. Many other devices now work with ALAC as well so it is not nearly as divisive a format as it used to be.

rkrug
2016-05-20, 03:11
usc95 <usc95.7fziso (AT) no-mx (DOT) forums.slimdevices.com> writes:

> I rip to ALAC instead of FLAC. Itunes will automatically transcode the
> ALAC files down to lossy AAC files during syncing. It will give you the
> option to choose the bitrate and do all the work. The nice thing is you
> only need one library for your i-devices and Squeezeboxes since LMS
> handles ALAC just fine. Many other devices now work with ALAC as well
> so it is not nearly as divisive a format as it used to be.

True - but my little Pogoplug was struggling with ALAC lossless files
as, I think, they were transcoded for streaming to the squeezelite
player on the pi.

Also: flac has included checksums, which makes maintenance much easier
(detect bit-rot).

So after converting everything to ALAC, and reverting to a backup after
some weeks trying, I will stick with flac.

Rainer

>
>
> ------------------------------------------------------------------------
> usc95's Profile: http://forums.slimdevices.com/member.php?userid=59694
> View this thread: http://forums.slimdevices.com/showthread.php?t=105561
>
>

dasmueller
2017-12-05, 09:56
Played around this morning converting copies of FLAC files to Mp3 using Foobar-about 8 folders. I like the fact that it retains tags. What I did not like is that it converted the files but did not put the converted files in the original folders which is what I want to happen. Am I missing a setting ? I would also like the original files to be deleted is there a setting for that ? Thanks for your input

garym
2017-12-05, 10:00
Played around this morning converting copies of FLAC files to Mp3 using Foobar-about 8 folders. I like the fact that it retains tags. What I did not like is that it converted the files but did not put the converted files in the original folders which is what I want to happen. Am I missing a setting ? I would also like the original files to be deleted is there a setting for that ? Thanks for your input

I know there's a way for foobar2000 to retain the same folder structure for the converted mp3 files. But I don't know the specific settings. I use dbpoweramp for converting to mp3.

I just found this thread. didn't read it all, but it may answer your question.
https://hydrogenaud.io/index.php/topic,81768.0.html

another one:
https://www.reddit.com/r/headphones/comments/2k3jab/how_to_batch_convert_flac_files_to_mp3_files_with/

dasmueller
2017-12-05, 10:49
thanks gary.

It appears that there is a way to do it. I sometimes use Switch Sound File Converter which let's me convert and select out to same folder-it's just slow. It appears that niether it nor foobar retains replaygain tags. I may need to redo those.

It appears that I may need to do this in batches-I ran a 10 folder sample w FreeFileSync. Using that as a sample it would take about 16 hrs. to mirror my folders to a new drive and then lord knows how long to do the conversion.

garym
2017-12-05, 11:00
thanks gary.

It appears that there is a way to do it. I sometimes use Switch Sound File Converter which let's me convert and select out to same folder-it's just slow. It appears that niether it nor foobar retains replaygain tags. I may need to redo those.

It appears that I may need to do this in batches-I ran a 10 folder sample w FreeFileSync. Using that as a sample it would take about 16 hrs. to mirror my folders to a new drive and then lord knows how long to do the conversion.

seems like an inefficient way to do it. In dbpoweramp, I can point and click, not copy over flac files at all, just convert them all to mp3. And everything moves over, including replaygain tags. (RG tags are easy anyhow, as you can use foobar2000 to re-add RG tags when done if you needed them. In my own case, I have dbpa recalc the RG tags for my mp3 files at the same time it does the conversion.

Apesbrain
2017-12-05, 12:30
In foobar2000's converter "Destination" settings you can tell it to write new files to "Source track folder". You want new RG tags calculated after conversion as they will likely not be the same. All other tags copy over.

pablolie
2017-12-05, 13:55
dbpoweramp for me, too.

It's been awhile since I've done this, but I think you can rip a CD to both FLAC and mp3 at the same time if you know you want a lossy version.

Here's another enthusiastic endorsement for dbPoweramp. But it's not a free tool, you ave to buy it. It's also by far the best ripping tool for Windows.

...p

d6jg
2017-12-05, 13:59
Here's another enthusiastic endorsement for dbPoweramp. But it's not a free tool, you ave to buy it. It's also by far the best ripping tool for Windows.

...p

Yes you can rip to multiple formats
Exact audio copy is also a good ripper for Windows but doesn’t have the conversion tools of dbPoweramp

philippe_44
2017-12-05, 14:09
Here's another enthusiastic endorsement for dbPoweramp. But it's not a free tool, you ave to buy it. It's also by far the best ripping tool for Windows.

...p

+1

dasmueller
2017-12-05, 18:11
Thanks, will look at this !

Fahzz
2017-12-07, 17:25
Where can I find a good tutorial for how to use dbPoweramp? The help section that comes built in is a little vague. Are there any alternatives?

Apesbrain
2017-12-07, 18:16
Are there any alternatives?

Ripper: https://www.dbpoweramp.com/cd-ripper-setup-guide.htm

Converter: http://www.dbpoweramp.com/help/dmc/dmc.htm

garym
2017-12-08, 06:54
Ripper: https://www.dbpoweramp.com/cd-ripper-setup-guide.htm

Converter: http://www.dbpoweramp.com/help/dmc/dmc.htm

the dbpa forum is very helpful on questions.
https://forum.dbpoweramp.com/

And on almost every page of program options, etc. there are "?". They are not that obvious, but clicking can bring up detailed info on options and settings. For example, see these screen shots. These ? links are on lots of pages, so be sure to click on them.

24162

24163