PDA

View Full Version : Squeezebox DOA



Bart Maguire
2004-12-18, 12:45
Unfortunately I do not have a universal or programmable remote. I
suspect that the remote is OK, because I can see it flashing if I point it
at my digital camera (and I have changed the batteries in the remote)
I will be contacting the vendors support on Monday...
In response to Jack's thoughts about DHCP - there is a Windows 2003
DHCP server on the network - everything else gets it's address from
this DHCP server, Slimserver is running on a Suse 9.1 machine and is
also working (I can access it with Softsqueeze or streamed to Winamp
on any other macine on the network)

Bart

It sounds like either the remote is bad or the IR sensor has failed.

If you have a universal or programmable remote, try setting it to
control a JVC DVD player. Squeezebox will respond to the same
commands. That should help you isolate the problem.

In either case, contact support-
SBQ2+QqEGkfw8q5qbAAWkg (AT) public (DOT) gmane.org, you'll need
something
replaced.

-dean

Jack Coates
2004-12-18, 12:59
Bart Maguire wrote:
> Unfortunately I do not have a universal or programmable remote. I
> suspect that the remote is OK, because I can see it flashing if I point it
> at my digital camera (and I have changed the batteries in the remote)
> I will be contacting the vendors support on Monday...
> In response to Jack's thoughts about DHCP - there is a Windows 2003
> DHCP server on the network - everything else gets it's address from
> this DHCP server, Slimserver is running on a Suse 9.1 machine and is
> also working (I can access it with Softsqueeze or streamed to Winamp
> on any other macine on the network)
>
> Bart
>

Dean definitely knows more about it than I do -- from his comment it
sounds like the device doesn't receive the IR command telling it to go
ahead with network setup.

> It sounds like either the remote is bad or the IR sensor has failed.
>
> If you have a universal or programmable remote, try setting it to
> control a JVC DVD player. Squeezebox will respond to the same
> commands. That should help you isolate the problem.
>
> In either case, contact support-
> SBQ2+QqEGkfw8q5qbAAWkg (AT) public (DOT) gmane.org, you'll need
> something
> replaced.
>
> -dean
>
>
>