PDA

View Full Version : Squeezebox DOA



Bart Maguire
2004-12-18, 04:43
Collected my Squeezebox from the DHL depot this morning and came
straight home to try it. I plug it in, it displays "SlimDevices", then it
displays "Welcome to Squeezebox, Free your Music", then it displays a
message telling me to use the up and down buttons to navigate and
the right to go on. Then it displays a set-up networking screen - but it
never goes any further. (this all happens without me touching anything
on the remote - is that the expected behaviour?)
I have tried changing the batteries in the remote. I have looked at the
remote through my camera, the LED flashes white. I have moved the
Squeezebox to a different room, with no artificial light. I have
unplugged the microwave. I have held down the power button on the
remote for 10 seconds. I have tried the remote from very close and
also from the other side of the room.
What next?

dean
2004-12-18, 11:31
Bart,

It sounds like either the remote is bad or the IR sensor has failed.

If you have a universal or programmable remote, try setting it to
control a JVC DVD player. Squeezebox will respond to the same
commands. That should help you isolate the problem.

In either case, contact support (AT) slimdevices (DOT) com, you'll need something
replaced.

-dean

On Dec 18, 2004, at 3:43 AM, Bart Maguire wrote:

> Collected my Squeezebox from the DHL depot this morning and came
> straight home to try it. I plug it in, it displays "SlimDevices",
> then it
> displays "Welcome to Squeezebox, Free your Music", then it displays a
> message telling me to use the up and down buttons to navigate and
> the right to go on. Then it displays a set-up networking screen - but
> it
> never goes any further. (this all happens without me touching anything
> on the remote - is that the expected behaviour?)
> I have tried changing the batteries in the remote. I have looked at
> the
> remote through my camera, the LED flashes white. I have moved the
> Squeezebox to a different room, with no artificial light. I have
> unplugged the microwave. I have held down the power button on the
> remote for 10 seconds. I have tried the remote from very close and
> also from the other side of the room.
> What next?
>
>