PDA

View Full Version : raspberry pi 3b



banned for life
2016-03-01, 13:03
Now that it has WiFi for the same price I'd like a "player" distro

4Live

Giza2020
2016-03-01, 14:20
? What do you mean? A lms server and/or squeeze player on the pi?

Have a look at the 3rd party thread. ..there's been one for ages.

Apologies if missed understood

banned for life
2016-03-10, 09:01
? What do you mean? A lms server and/or squeeze player on the pi?

Have a look at the 3rd party thread. ..there's been one for ages.

Apologies if missed understood

Thanks. I was typing about a player.

My pi3 shipped from SC yesterday....

bfl

slate
2016-03-13, 10:38
look no further
https://sites.google.com/site/picoreplayer/home/news

http://forums.slimdevices.com/search.php?searchid=2223670

Jeff07971
2016-03-13, 10:46
look no further
https://sites.google.com/site/picoreplayer/home/news

http://forums.slimdevices.com/search.php?searchid=2223670


Doesn't work on Pi3 Yet !

DJanGo
2016-03-13, 10:50
Doesn't work on Pi3 Yet !

Isnt a Pi3 a little bit tooooooo oversized for a "player"?

Remember - It needs a 3 A Powersupply!

Jeff07971
2016-03-13, 10:53
Isnt a Pi3 a little bit tooooooo oversized for a "player"?

Remember - It needs a 3 A Powersupply!

I doubt if thats true. even if it is mine is running OpenElec on a 1A supply !

and I've just realised I have a Pi 2 (pcp) running from the 3's USB port !

Edit: Just checked its a 1.2A PSU

philippe_44
2016-03-13, 11:38
Isnt a Pi3 a little bit tooooooo oversized for a "player"?

Remember - It needs a 3 A Powersupply!


I doubt if thats true. even if it is mine is running OpenElec on a 1A supply !

and I've just realised I have a Pi 2 (pcp) running from the 3's USB port !

Edit: Just checked its a 1.2A PSU

You're very likely both correct. Pi3 can run with a lower A rating, as long as you don't push it to max CPU load, don't connect too many peripherals etc ... Then you're at risk of random behavior if the USB supply is overloaded (chip's behavior is undeterministic when V drops below max ratings, especially for small periods - some have use that for interesting power attack)

DJanGo
2016-03-13, 11:41
I doubt if thats true. even if it is mine is running OpenElec on a 1A supply !

and I've just realised I have a Pi 2 (pcp) running from the 3's USB port !

Edit: Just checked its a 1.2A PSU
https://www.raspberrypi.org/help/faqs/#powerReqs
A 1.2 A PSU delivers max. 1.2A. - If you need 1.2A all the Time you need a Bigger PSU.
Its the same with Speakers you never drive them with max power unless you want to crash something.

The official (http://thepihut.com/collections/raspberry-pi-power-supplies/products/official-raspberry-pi-universal-power-supply?variant=3748998148) PSU for the Rpi3 delivers 2.5A.

Jeff07971
2016-03-13, 12:23
You're very likely both correct. Pi3 can run with a lower A rating, as long as you don't push it to max CPU load, don't connect too many peripherals etc


Thats kinda what I was saying, runing openelec on a Pi3 Plus PCP on a Pi2 draw less than 1.2A.

I never see a low volatage indication on either unit.

According to Rpi org these two will draw around 0.91 A (assuming both decoding H.264 Video)

EDIT: Cant tell what a Pi3 will draw using PCP as as PCP does not run on a Pi3

Jeff

DJanGo
2016-03-14, 05:35
After my RPi3 is delivered i am pretty sure, its too oversized for a simple Player.

Cause the WIFI Antenna is now on the Board and not sticking outside on a USB "nice" Cases out of Aluminium arent the best choice if the router is far away. In fact same case same place rpi2 no prob, rpi 3 no connection (in the case)

TbH: Its much oversized as a simple Audio player i dont think there is a market for this right now.
As a Server it might be a better starting point as the Rpi2.

Please dont missunderstood me, but using a oversized Rpi with an undersized PSU keeping in mind of "runs good if it never will be stressed out "seems a bit strange to me.
A copyjob and a apt-get upgrade at the same time and hopefully the system is working again after that - is that kind of russian rulette that most of the typical "users" never wanna try or solve this without shouting agains rpi, lms, squeezelite.

Jeff07971
2016-03-14, 05:46
Cause the WIFI Antenna is now on the Board and not sticking outside on a USB "nice" Cases out of Aluminium arent the best choice if the router is far away. In fact same case same place rpi2 no prob, rpi 3 no connection (in the case)


Completely agree, The WiFi behaves oddly as well, mine dosent see my access points (Dual band x 2 SSID's, havent worked out why yet) but does see's SSID of people across the road (in a plastic case) in a metal case sees none.

You can attach a external aerial but you have to solder on an SMT U.fl connector (They're really really small !) to do this really.

The cost of the Pi3 is maybe the only reason to get it, I got mine for the same price as a Pi2 otherwise I wouldn't have bothered TBH

Jeff

epoch1970
2016-03-14, 05:51
Cause the WIFI Antenna is now on the Board and not sticking outside on a USB "nice" Cases out of Aluminium arent the best choice if the router is far away. In fact same case same place rpi2 no prob, rpi 3 no connection (in the case)

TbH: Its much oversized as a simple Audio player i dont think there is a market for this right now.
As a Server it might be a better starting point as the Rpi2.
Besides wifi, I am interested in the built-in short range BT capability.
Do you know if there are projects out there that use a mobile phone (with BT) as user identification mean, and then say, open the local wifi AP, or sync some user directory or preferences local to the Pi?

In short, something where BT would be used for profiling the system's behaviour.

banned for life
2016-03-18, 10:49
Note that the pi 3 memory card slot is NOT sprung.

Stick it in: pull it out.

You will need some Dremel-time to use most pi 2 cases.

B4Life