PDA

View Full Version : PC or Mac?

shacky
2016-01-15, 14:09
Time for new computer. My old one is going to our son so can't keep for LMS server.

I have ~400 gigs music files. Currently running 750 gb HD on my Inspiron laptop. Thinking if I go with newer PC or Mac with SSD it's time to move my files to EXT wireless or usb drive.

My wife is Mac person. While I'd like to get one platform for the home I keep looking at PC like HP Spectre 360 Bang & Olufsen.

Is there an advantage in terms of LMS and music streaming?

d6jg
2016-01-15, 14:30
Not really. For LMS you'd be better off with a Raspberry Pi and either attached USB or a NAS. Silent and very low power so can be left on permanently.

shacky
2016-01-15, 14:45
I'm a novice. Aren't they difficult to setup/configure?

d6jg
2016-01-15, 14:59
Not at all.
Max2play - entirely web based software. You burn it to a microSD card and stick it into your Pi connect to web browser, connect a USB drive or map a network drive. Done.

DJanGo
2016-01-15, 14:59
I'm a novice. Aren't they difficult to setup/configure?

tbh:
they are "difficult" to setup but you get triple more infos all over the web how to do that than Winblows or OSX.
In fact - lms on a system that has a gui and a guy behind that is not the real deal.
A dedicated lms Server (of course with your libsize) is always the best choice.

Get yourself a Mac, grap your old notebook and run it as a dedicated lms system.
My lms is from 2005, a macmini formfactor clone from (tooo lazy to look) runs fine (under debian)
So your Notebook may be newer but never ever older than my (t)rusty old Pentium M 1.8.

pippin
2016-01-15, 15:19
Be careful with a Pi as a server if you have a somewhat big library. Raspberry Pis have very slow disc access and networking (both running through a crippled USB bus). It's not a problem for streaming but expect scanning your library to take hours!

shacky
2016-01-15, 15:23