PDA

View Full Version : Is Squeezebox for me?



technium
2015-12-22, 04:42
Hi All

I have only just come across the Squeezebox range and was wondering if its something I could use for what I want.

I have several digital music files stored either on the main pc but also on a NAS storage device. I have already got a touch screen monitor running pub software on a pc and use this as a touch screen jukebox which is then hooked up to a cheapish amp and speakers but this is too bulky and not useable in another room.

I would like to be able to have something like the SBTouch in the living room but also another way to control my music from another room such as the gym room so can I link two SBTouches and if so is there a cheaper solution than buying two devices? I understand the SBTouch connects via rca leads to the amp so not exactly portable hence the need to another device in another room, unless of course ive got it all wrong?

Any help or suggestions appreciated.

thanks

Colin

castalla
2015-12-22, 05:24
Hi All

I have only just come across the Squeezebox range and was wondering if its something I could use for what I want.

I have several digital music files stored either on the main pc but also on a NAS storage device. I have already got a touch screen monitor running pub software on a pc and use this as a touch screen jukebox which is then hooked up to a cheapish amp and speakers but this is too bulky and not useable in another room.

I would like to be able to have something like the SBTouch in the living room but also another way to control my music from another room such as the gym room so can I link two SBTouches and if so is there a cheaper solution than buying two devices? I understand the SBTouch connects via rca leads to the amp so not exactly portable hence the need to another device in another room, unless of course ive got it all wrong?

Any help or suggestions appreciated.

thanks

Colin

So, you want audio playback in two rooms?
If so, then you need 2 players (eg. Touch, SB Radio (which doesn't require an amp), and other 3rd party devices, such as a Chromecast, etc.).

An alternative is to use a tablet/smartphone with squeezebox player software on it to play via device speakers (headphones, etc). You can also install an app to control the whole SB system.

Be more specific and somebody will be able to advise.

ps: bear in mind that SB devices are no longer manufactured, and finding a 'new' device can be difficult at a reasonable price.

technium
2015-12-22, 05:54
So, you want audio playback in two rooms?
If so, then you need 2 players (eg. Touch, SB Radio (which doesn't require an amp), and other 3rd party devices, such as a Chromecast, etc.).

An alternative is to use a tablet/smartphone with squeezebox player software on it to play via device speakers (headphones, etc). You can also install an app to control the whole SB system.

Be more specific and somebody will be able to advise.

ps: bear in mind that SB devices are no longer manufactured, and finding a 'new' device can be difficult at a reasonable price.

Hi thanks for replying

Yes I want to be able to play music in several rooms but also control music in at least two different rooms. The same music will be played so im not trying to play one track in the gym room and another track in the living room. I just want to be able to easily play my music and change tracks while on the treadmill running but also be able to change tracks etc from a device in the living room aswell. I currently have a switch box for my speakers so can turn them all on and off individually for each room.

As they are no longer manufactured is there something that has replaced the squeezebox that does the job just as well? I have seen a few on online auction sites so that would be the route I would have to go to buy one should I decide the SB would do what I need.

thanks again

Colin

castalla
2015-12-22, 06:39
Hi thanks for replying

Yes I want to be able to play music in several rooms but also control music in at least two different rooms. The same music will be played so im not trying to play one track in the gym room and another track in the living room. I just want to be able to easily play my music and change tracks while on the treadmill running but also be able to change tracks etc from a device in the living room aswell. I currently have a switch box for my speakers so can turn them all on and off individually for each room.

As they are no longer manufactured is there something that has replaced the squeezebox that does the job just as well? I have seen a few on online auction sites so that would be the route I would have to go to buy one should I decide the SB would do what I need.

thanks again

Colin

Sounds like you need to consider the smartphone (as a controller) route. There are several android apps and an iphone app (ipeng) - either free or very low cost. Players, as above, range from the original SB devices to DIY units (based on the raspberry pi). Only the Touch and Radio have onboard displays.

In theory, you can sync devices to play the same material - I'm no expert on the sync. process.

Also, bear in mind that you also need to install the Logitech Media Server software on a networked PC (or some NAS devices allow for LMS install).

The alternatives I'd consider are Sonos speakers (2 for 400 usd) or the new 30 usd Chromecast Audio device (which needs active speakers, or an amp plus passive speakers). Both these require a tablet/smartphone as a controller.

technium
2015-12-22, 06:54
Sounds like you need to consider the smartphone (as a controller) route. There are several android apps and an iphone app (ipeng) - either free or very low cost. Players, as above, range from the original SB devices to DIY units (based on the raspberry pi). Only the Touch and Radio have onboard displays.

In theory, you can sync devices to play the same material - I'm no expert on the sync. process.

Also, bear in mind that you also need to install the Logitech Media Server software on a networked PC (or some NAS devices allow for LMS install).

The alternatives I'd consider are Sonos speakers (2 for 400 usd) or the new 30 usd Chromecast Audio device (which needs active speakers, or an amp plus passive speakers). Both these require a tablet/smartphone as a controller.

Thanks Castalla,

OK I think the Touch sounds like the correct device and I guess im right in thinking that this device connects to my amp and my amp then connects to the speakers, theres no speakers connected to the SBTouch? I can then control the SB Touch with an iphone app from another room which then gives me access to my music from both locations and this would then mean I wont need two devices and wont need to worry about the sync process. Does that sound correct?

the LMS will be installed on either the main pc (probably best solution) or on either my Buffalo Terastation or Netgear NAS, either way that seems like a basic job right?? :)

You mention alternatives but I shouldnt need them if my option just mentioned works should I as I can use my existing amp and speaker setup with the SBTouch.

thanks again

Colin

castalla
2015-12-22, 07:05
Thanks Castalla,

OK I think the Touch sounds like the correct device and I guess im right in thinking that this device connects to my amp and my amp then connects to the speakers, theres no speakers connected to the SBTouch? I can then control the SB Touch with an iphone app from another room which then gives me access to my music from both locations and this would then mean I wont need two devices and wont need to worry about the sync process. Does that sound correct?

the LMS will be installed on either the main pc (probably best solution) or on either my Buffalo Terastation or Netgear NAS, either way that seems like a basic job right?? :)

You mention alternatives but I shouldnt need them if my option just mentioned works should I as I can use my existing amp and speaker setup with the SBTouch.

thanks again

Colin

The Touch requires an amp+speakers (or active speakers).

IPeng is a controller (and I think it's also a player - you need to check in the iPeng thread - http://forums.slimdevices.com/showthread.php?51929-iPeng-support-thread). If you want the same music playing simultaneously on the devices then they have to be sync'ed - otherwise each device can be controlled independently via the controller.

The Touch can also act as a controller for other devices.

technium
2015-12-22, 07:16
The Touch requires an amp+speakers (or active speakers).

IPeng is a controller (and I think it's also a player - you need to check in the iPeng thread - http://forums.slimdevices.com/showthread.php?51929-iPeng-support-thread). If you want the same music playing simultaneously on the devices then they have to be sync'ed - otherwise each device can be controlled independently via the controller.

The Touch can also act as a controller for other devices.

ok thanks, the Touch will be connected to main home amp+speakers

I will read up on IPeng but I will use that then to control the one and only Touch so that will give me access to the music from the other room but still only use the 1 device.

I just want the same music playing through all my speakers throughout the house which will be connected to the 1 Amp that the Touch is connected to so the synce wont be an issue as its only one device.

thanks again for your help, now just need to start looking to purchase an SB Touch.

cheers and Have a good Christmas

Colin

castalla
2015-12-22, 07:35
ok thanks, the Touch will be connected to main home amp+speakers

I will read up on IPeng but I will use that then to control the one and only Touch so that will give me access to the music from the other room but still only use the 1 device.

I just want the same music playing through all my speakers throughout the house which will be connected to the 1 Amp that the Touch is connected to so the synce wont be an issue as its only one device.

thanks again for your help, now just need to start looking to purchase an SB Touch.

cheers and Have a good Christmas

Colin

Sounds good. Good luck with the Touch search. Enjoy Christmas

RonM
2015-12-22, 16:07
ok thanks, the Touch will be connected to main home amp+speakers

I will read up on IPeng but I will use that then to control the one and only Touch so that will give me access to the music from the other room but still only use the 1 device.

I just want the same music playing through all my speakers throughout the house which will be connected to the 1 Amp that the Touch is connected to so the synce wont be an issue as its only one device.

thanks again for your help, now just need to start looking to purchase an SB Touch.

cheers and Have a good Christmas

Colin

I don't know what access you have to a Touch, but the online prices are quite high. The Transporter is an older but higher end device, originally much more expensive. I do see now that some versions of the Transporter have come down in price, for new units. Still more than a Touch, but worth considering. More flexible, and more cool looking if that matters. Possibly a better DAC amd the build quality is generally excellent. You control it in the same way, although it doesn't have its own touch screen.

Ron

technium
2015-12-23, 02:02
I don't know what access you have to a Touch, but the online prices are quite high. The Transporter is an older but higher end device, originally much more expensive. I do see now that some versions of the Transporter have come down in price, for new units. Still more than a Touch, but worth considering. More flexible, and more cool looking if that matters. Possibly a better DAC amd the build quality is generally excellent. You control it in the same way, although it doesn't have its own touch screen.

Ron

Thanks I did see the Transporter but at 700+ over here its out of my price range.

thanks

Colin

Man in a van
2015-12-23, 02:28
Thanks I did see the Transporter but at 700+ over here its out of my price range.

thanks

Colin

Colin, you don't say where you live.

A cheaper alternative might be a Raspberry PI B2 running Max2Play with either a DAC or SPDIF output (and LMS installed).

If you are going to control it with a 'phone app, then you don't need a screen, but I believe a version incorporating a display is available.


Ronnie

Super Josh
2015-12-23, 05:53
Colin,

I would just buy a Chromecast Audio device at around 30 quid. Doesn't have a display like the touch but is a lot cheaper and you can control it with iPeng and stream music from your LMS server okay.



Josh

d6jg
2015-12-23, 06:08
Colin,

I would just buy a Chromecast Audio device at around 30 quid. Doesn't have a display like the touch but is a lot cheaper and you can control it with iPeng and stream music from your LMS server okay.



Josh

Nothing wrong with a CCA except it doesn't (yet) do gapless playback or can be sync'd. I have one but I'd have to say it doesn't sound as good as a Rasp Pi 2B with either a Hifiberry or IQaudio DAC - both of the Pi's just sound cleaner.

RonM
2015-12-23, 14:56
I sae a Transporter SE for US$640 plus shipping. New.

Ron

Super Josh
2015-12-24, 00:02
I sae a Transporter SE for US$640 plus shipping. New.

Ron

That is around 430 + Shipping + the dreaded import/VAT fees. So getting on for between 500 - 600


Josh

technium
2016-01-15, 01:46
ok bit of an update.

I have been looking at online auctions for squeezebox here in the UK and bought a SB Receiver with remote for 50 which was going to be just a test and too be honest its great and does everything I need.

I purchased a new Marantz amp which has 4 channels and gives me 2 pairs of speakers one in each room. I was then going to buy another receiver and use my spare amp with it upstairs for speakers upstairs but have since found out I can install squeezeplay on my home pc upstairs and use those speakers for music upstairs.

We use the ipad and iphones to control the music as its better than using the little remote but so far we are very happy with it and Im really suprised and impressed with how quick and responsive the whole thing is.

One slight issue, the Marrantz Amp has 4 channels so each pair is setup properly but I have some Mission bookshelf speakers in Room A and Wharfedale Diamond 9.0 bookshelf speakers in Room B but if I set a certain volume I have noticed that the Mission speakers are alot louder than then Wharfedale speakers to depending on which room you are in it it etiher too loud or too quiet. Any idea why this might be?

Thanks for all your help with this.

Colin

Man in a van
2016-01-15, 02:46
ok bit of an update.

I have been looking at online auctions for squeezebox here in the UK and bought a SB Receiver with remote for 50 which was going to be just a test and too be honest its great and does everything I need.

I purchased a new Marantz amp which has 4 channels and gives me 2 pairs of speakers one in each room. I was then going to buy another receiver and use my spare amp with it upstairs for speakers upstairs but have since found out I can install squeezeplay on my home pc upstairs and use those speakers for music upstairs.

We use the ipad and iphones to control the music as its better than using the little remote but so far we are very happy with it and Im really suprised and impressed with how quick and responsive the whole thing is.

One slight issue, the Marrantz Amp has 4 channels so each pair is setup properly but I have some Mission bookshelf speakers in Room A and Wharfedale Diamond 9.0 bookshelf speakers in Room B but if I set a certain volume I have noticed that the Mission speakers are alot louder than then Wharfedale speakers to depending on which room you are in it it etiher too loud or too quiet. Any idea why this might be?

Thanks for all your help with this.

Colin


One speaker is more efficient than the other, so the volume will not correspound.

Decide which you prefer or buy four new ones (Richer Sounds have good deals on new old stock

http://www.richersounds.com/product/standmount-speakers/q-acoustics/2010i-gr/qaco-2010i-graph

or new stock

http://www.richersounds.com/product/standmount-speakers/q-acoustics/3010/qac-q3010-graph

Pop down and have a listen (join the VIP club for good deals)

Colin, your a lost man now:p

atb

Ronnie.

technium
2016-01-15, 03:31
Thanks Ronnie

Its not one speaker its one pair of speakers that is of lower volume and that pair is the brand new Wharfedale Diamonds that I just purchased from Richer sounds so I thought they would be ok.

:(

castalla
2016-01-15, 03:34
Thanks Ronnie

Its not one speaker its one pair of speakers that is of lower volume and that pair is the brand new Wharfedale Diamonds that I just purchased from Richer sounds so I thought they would be ok.

:(

Swap the pairs around - same problem?

Sounds like a speaker-amp issue

toby10
2016-01-15, 03:39
Any chance the Marantz offers gain/db settings per channel or speaker pair? My 8 year old Yamaha does but I haven't had to mess with it since initial setup.

technium
2016-01-15, 03:42
Thanks All

The Missions are wall mounted so Im going to get them down tonight and try the swap over to see if that makes any difference.

Toby - no idea I dont think so? its a Marantz Pm5005 if that helps? Sorry knew to all this stuff.

cheers

Colin

Man in a van
2016-01-15, 03:48
Thanks Ronnie

Its not one speaker its one pair of speakers that is of lower volume and that pair is the brand new Wharfedale Diamonds that I just purchased from Richer sounds so I thought they would be ok.

:(


Colin, if you look in the amp manual (rtfm) it will most likely advise that if using speaker outlet A and speaker outlet B together, that the speakers should be of the same input impedance. This means that the volume will be level matched at the speaker, which effectively means using the same speaker brand in both rooms.

Different speaker brands have a different efficiency so the volume they produce at the same level setting on the amp is likely to be different

This is the spec for the Diamonds


Sensitivity (dB)
The higher the figure the easier it is to drive - meaning that a less powerful amp may be used
86

Impedance (ohms)
Resistance. A standard figure is 8 ohm. Figure halves when doubling the number of speakers
6


If you look up the same spec for the Mission speakers it will tell you if the volume should be comparable to the Diamonds, or not>

ronnie.

technium
2016-01-15, 03:58
Thanks Ronnie, when I get the Missions off the wall I will then have an idea of what I have.

I will post back after with the results.

thanks all

Colin

Man in a van
2016-01-15, 07:44
Thanks Ronnie, when I get the Missions off the wall I will then have an idea of what I have.

I will post back after with the results.

thanks all

Colin


Colin, looking at your amp specs, it says


SPEAKERS A and SPEAKERS B 4 (two sets) 8 – 16 Ω/ohms


This means that when you play speaker A and B at the same time the impedance of the speakers used should be in the range of 8-16 ohms.

For the Diamond the impedance is given at 6 ohm (this will be an average figure, I guess).

It also says that if you run two sets of Diamonds the load seen by the amp will be 4 ohm.

The range for the amp is 8-16 ohm, so it will struggle a bit at high volume.

You need to find the figures for the Mission speakers and then go back to Richer Sounds and explain the problem.

The salesman should have explained this to you (if you told him what you wanted to do).

Let us know how you get on.

Ronnie

If both sets of speakers have a similar impedance figure, the the difference in volume will be accounted for by the Sensitivity figure (one set being an easier load for the amplifier and so a little louder at the sams volume setting.

Mnyb
2016-01-15, 10:04
It could be somewhat mitigated by placing the not so loud speakers in the smallest room . Or is any of the locations more well damped than the other ,then maybe the loudest speakers go here .

technium
2016-01-15, 11:35
ok guys here the update -

disconnected Missions from amp completely and played WDs on their own to a "normal" volume then disconnected the WDs and used the same speaker cable but connected them to the Missions and played the music and still pretty much same volume (or at least I couldnt really notice much difference) so then wife said to put WDs in living room on the cable the Missions were connected to and left the Missions connected in the Gym Room then tested again but this time both sounded great, they appear to be at the same level in volume so maybe it was either a dodgy connection which I fixed by fitting all cables with Banana plugs or like you guys suggested that having it in a different room made a difference.

FYI the Missions are 8 Ohms and the WDs are 6 Ohms but in the setup they are now seems to be ok although obviously this hasnt been tested for any length of time yet.

Thanks again for all your help.

Colin

technium
2016-01-23, 02:10
ok got another slight issue

I purchased some second hand Mission M72s which arrived this morning. Unfortunately they dont come with that metal piece which connects the two posts together for each input. Anyway I made up some wire to connect up the two + posts and another piece to connect up the two - posts but the music is pants, its very tinney and very low.

Have I got the connections right? They guy I bought them from said he had them set up for bi-wire which is why theres no posts but i think ive connected them up right havent i? as soon as I connect up the Wharfedales the sound is spot on again.

Help!

Also where could I buy the replacement metal connector from and whats its proper name?

thanks

Colin

DJanGo
2016-01-23, 02:35
ok got another slight issue

Have I got the connections right? They guy I bought them from said he had them set up for bi-wire which is why theres no posts but i think ive connected them up right havent i? as soon as I connect up the Wharfedales the sound is spot on again.

Help!

Also where could I buy the replacement metal connector from and whats its proper name?

thanks

Colin


Hi,

this is a bunch of questions that some Forum for your Speakers or the seller you've got them from.
The Thread "is Squeezebox for me" isnt the right place for this specific question.

Man in a van
2016-01-23, 02:53
ok got another slight issue

I purchased some second hand Mission M72s which arrived this morning. Unfortunately they dont come with that metal piece which connects the two posts together for each input. Anyway I made up some wire to connect up the two + posts and another piece to connect up the two - posts but the music is pants, its very tinney and very low.

Have I got the connections right? They guy I bought them from said he had them set up for bi-wire which is why theres no posts but i think ive connected them up right havent i? as soon as I connect up the Wharfedales the sound is spot on again.

Help!

Also where could I buy the replacement metal connector from and whats its proper name?

thanks

Colin


Hi,

this is a bunch of questions that some Forum for your Speakers or the seller you've got them from.
The Thread "is Squeezebox for me" isnt the right place for this specific question.

Colin, Jan is right (although I understand why you ask here).

PM me an e-mail address and I'll sort you out.

I'm a bit short of time at the moment, but will do my best if you are patient.

If you go and join http://www.hifiwigwam.com/forum.php

You will get your answer and some proper abuse, if your lucky:p

Ronnie

If they are the same model as the ones you have already, then the connections should be the same.

philippe_44
2016-01-23, 10:14
Any chance the Marantz offers gain/db settings per channel or speaker pair? My 8 year old Yamaha does but I haven't had to mess with it since initial setup.

I have a denon and a marantz that offer that too