PDA

View Full Version : squeezelite

2string1
2015-12-14, 13:41
Can someone explain why you would want squeezelite? The benefits over LMS...

Julf
2015-12-14, 13:50
Can someone explain why you would want squeezelite? The benifits over LMS...

Two totally different things. One is a client, the other a server.

2string1
2015-12-15, 04:11
What is the the difference in having squeezelite as a client and LMS as a server.:o

DJanGo
2015-12-15, 04:17
What is the the difference in having squeezelite as a client and LMS as a server.:o
the same difference between a hammer and a nail.

2string1
2015-12-15, 04:35
the same difference between a hammer and a nail.

That I know...I'm a carpenter... Do you know the difference between a hammer and a nail and hitting your finger?

DJanGo
2015-12-15, 04:44
That I know...I'm a carpenter... Do you know the difference between a hammer and a nail and hitting your finger?
you mean using tools for things they arent made for?

what did you expect?
Can you play vinyl just with your amp and use your speakers as a microphone?

A player plays - a server serves
a waitress waits and the speaker speaks

Julf
2015-12-15, 04:53

A server serves music. So it is where you store and manage your music. A client is a music player - it receives the music stream from the server, and plays it through an amplifier and speaker.

2string1
2015-12-15, 05:34
Isn't LMS a player also

castalla
2015-12-15, 05:43
Isn't LMS a player also

No - that's why you have to choose a player/client from the dropdown on the GUI.

2string1
2015-12-15, 06:03
So what is the advantage in having squeezelite as a player. Can you play higher res files or what? Believe me this is not easy for me to ask these questions! I have 2 choices for players LMS or mysqueezebox.com... I'm using mysqueezebox.com. I have no clue what the difference is.

d6jg
2015-12-15, 06:09
Isn't LMS a player also