PDA

View Full Version : Help Needed: I can buy used Dual-Core Atom 1.5GHz (N550) - 2GB - 160GB HDD very cheap



tigs
2015-11-23, 08:55
It is made by Jetway, mini-itx box.

My question is:

is it good enough for a LMS? How is this compared to a RPi 2? I plan to set it up as a pfsense (or anyother platform) router with LMS server running on it.

I dont want to invest a lot at this moment.

Thanks

Apesbrain
2015-11-23, 09:01
I ran LMS on an Atom 330 (1.6GHz dual-core) w/ 2GB for many years without issue. Plenty good enough and very stable. Only switched away from it because I got a more powerful machine to also run Plex and some other stuff.

d6jg
2015-11-23, 09:27
The PC is OK but I think you may have issues installing LMS on top of pfsense.

I am guessing that the reason for this is that you wish to open your LMS to the internet? If so, you might find that something like Koozali SME server is a better fit for your needs. You'd need 2 x LAN and the software installed in server & gateway mode. It is fairly easy to open specific ports if you know how - http://contribs.org. I am fairly certain that LMS will run on it as its Centos based.

tigs
2015-11-23, 09:42
The PC is OK but I think you may have issues installing LMS on top of pfsense.

I am guessing that the reason for this is that you wish to open your LMS to the internet? If so, you might find that something like Koozali SME server is a better fit for your needs. You'd need 2 x LAN and the software installed in server & gateway mode. It is fairly easy to open specific ports if you know how - http://contribs.org. I am fairly certain that LMS will run on it as its Centos based.

Thanks.

the reason i would like to run on a router is that I would like to simplify the setup without investing too much. Right now,the LMS is on mac mini. I don't want to keep my mac mini on all the time. I don't want to invest on NAS either. I am having an USB drive attached to the router serving all the files. I am thinking to get this and set it up for dual purpose, router and LMS. If i weren't able to install LMS on top of pfsense, i will try the koozali SME. It will then be basically a bulky RPi. I wonder how this compared to the ARM A7 based RPi 2. There is not much info available

mherger
2015-11-23, 09:46
FWIW: I've been running LMS on SME for years. It's my home server not only for LMS, and it's running on some oldish Atom CPU too.

Michael

> Am 23.11.2015 um 17:27 schrieb d6jg <d6jg.76tisn (AT) no-mx (DOT) forums.slimdevices.com>:
>
>
> The PC is OK but I think you may have issues installing LMS on top of
> pfsense.
>
> I am guessing that the reason for this is that you wish to open your LMS
> to the internet? If so, you might find that something like Koozali SME
> server is a better fit for your needs. You'd need 2 x LAN and the
> software installed in server & gateway mode. It is fairly easy to open
> specific ports if you know how - http://contribs.org. I am fairly
> certain that LMS will run on it as its Centos based.
>
>
>
> *Vortexbox LMS 7.8 music on QNAP TS419p via NFS* iThingys/iPeng/Tablets
> *Living Room* - SB3 -> Onkyo TS606 - > Celestion Ditton F20s - Zone 2 ->
> Sony TA FE 320 -> Sennheiser RS 130 & B&W P7
> *Office* - RPi -> Sony TA FE320 -> Celestion F10s / SB3 -> Onkyo CRN 755
> -> Wharfedale Modus Cubes
> *Dining Room* -> SB Boom *Kitchen* -> UE Radio (upgraded to SB Radio)
> *Bedroom (Bedside)* - SB Touch -> Topping TP21 -> AKG Headphones
> *Bedroom (TV)* - Amazon Fire TV (SB Player) -> Topping TP20 ->
> Wharfedale Modus Cubes
> ------------------------------------------------------------------------
> d6jg's Profile: http://forums.slimdevices.com/member.php?userid=44051
> View this thread: http://forums.slimdevices.com/showthread.php?t=104685
>
>

tigs
2015-11-23, 09:53
[QUOTE=mherger;836880]FWIW: I've been running LMS on SME for years. It's my home server not only for LMS, and it's running on some oldish Atom CPU too.

Michael

Thanks Michael and @Apesbrain for your inputs.

d6jg
2015-11-23, 09:54
FWIW: I've been running LMS on SME for years. It's my home server not only for LMS, and it's running on some oldish Atom CPU too.

Michael


If its good enough for Michael !

I really don't think you are going to get LMS running on pfsense. It is too much router/firewall whereas SME is nicely balanced between router/firewall and file server with plenty of room for additional stuff. It is on the one hand extremely easy and on the other a bit of a PITA to initially fathom out the template structure but once you have it is a piece of proverbial to run.