PDA

View Full Version : Squeeze box dropping off Wireless network constantly usingDraytek Vigor 2600 router



mark.breslin@mediabase.co.uk
2004-12-15, 02:46
I received a new Wireless Squeezebox yesterday. I have had issues getting
it working wirelessly. Have spoken to Slim Devices on the telephone
yesterday and was not able the resolve issue. It looks like the issue is
with the router that I have. This issue has come up in the July archives
with no suggestions.

Wi Fi
Windows XP SP2
IBM T23 P111 1.3GHz
Vigor 540 Network card
Draytek Vigor 2600G Router

Norton Antivirus 2005 (turned off)
Zone Alarm Pro (turned off)
MS Inbuilt firewall (turned off)

I set all the firewalls to open the necessary ports but the Squeezebox
device could never connect to the Slim server software. The basic problem
is that the Squeezebox can connect for a minute or so and will then lose
connection. All network settings are correct, static IP addresses, firmware
is the latest on the router. The signal strength is 100%. The SSID is being
broadcast and there is security encryption or passwords to the router. I
have restricted access to the router to certain MAC address and the
Squeezebox has been added.

After failing to have the Squeezebox connected for more than 1 minute I
connected the squeezebox directly to the PC and successfully played music
continuously. Any suggestions much appreciated.

Thanks in advance
Mark

dave w
2006-04-24, 14:47
Mark - I too have been having some trouble getting wifi working with a draytek vigor2800vg. Oddly, when I disconnect the adsl line from the router the wifi between my router and the squeezebox runs reliably (i was running a continuous ping from my pc to the squeezebox) with the adsl line connected the wifi connectivity is erratic.

I am not sure if your problem is the same - but maybe worth trying ? I really want to get this sorted as I don't want to have to buy another wireless access point, or run cat5 cables all over the house.

Interested to hear if your problem goes away when you disconnect the adsl ? I'm going to investigate further to see if there is anything that can be done with the draytek (I suspect it could be a draytek firmware bug/incompatibility)

Millwood
2006-04-24, 16:29
The 6.2.2 beta seems almost ready to ship. You might try it. It includes new firmware.

I'd of course update the firmware wired. The update will happen almost automatically if you install 6.2.2. Just look for the message on the SB3 to press the brightness key and do so.

dave w
2006-04-25, 15:45
thks - tried the latest updates as it did mention some additional fixes for draytek devices (but I think that was just for additional WPA support)
sb has v45 firmware now
draytek has latest pre-release firmware
still get layer2 (i.e. wireless) instability up/down (when using 128bit WEP or unencrypted) - problem vanishes when the adsl connection is dropped..still not sure if this is specific to my hardware.
Anyone else successfully using a draytek vigor 2800vg with wireless sb ?

Des
2006-04-25, 16:10
Do you have a high error-rate on your ADSL link. I'm wondering if the processor in the modem is spending so much time fire-fighting some demanding condition that is is neglecting to service the wireless connection?

dave w
2006-04-26, 06:02
des-thanks.. yes..I too had been thinking that maybe it is cpu/memory allocation between the functions on the draytek router (wireless processing v wan/routing processing)....but the line seems to be running clean...and what puzzles me is my laptop and pda work can work fine over wireless with the dsl connected (no drops). I think it must be some bizarre combination of circumstances. I guess I'm going to have to take it up with draytek.

Finding out if anyone (ideally in the UK - I guess to be sure) has a 2800VG and runs a SB with wireless would help me to work out if it is a hardware fault with my particular router. Anyone out there who can confirm ?

Des
2006-04-26, 06:23
Dave, have you used the syslog facility with the modem. It is possible to log the modem activity using a local PC. I'm not at my PC at the moment, so I can't remember the name of the utility, but I think Draytek make it available as a download on their web-site.

dave w
2006-04-28, 02:22
I looked at the logs from the wan/adsl port but it did not give any real clues. The user logs did show the wireless device dropping out every few seconds.

at the moment I have an old trusty vigor2600 (to give the DSL) and my 2800vg connected to the lan acting a wireless access point. All is working reliably - but I do get into trouble and strife for 'gadget clutter' and I can't help thinking gbp180 for the 2800vg makes it an expensive wireless access point !!

I'm going to package up the logs and some screenshots and send to draytek.

g1pollo
2006-05-03, 15:47
Dave

I'm having exactly the same problem, SB2 and 2800VG dropout. Tried disconnecting the adsl and the SB wifi connect is rock solid, reconnect and I get dropout.
I've removed all security and the problem still exists, upgraded from a 2600 which worked with no problems at all.
No problems with wifi to other clients (laptop's etc) just the 2 SB's on the network.
Have you managed to get anywhere?

Cheers
Greg

dave w
2006-05-06, 02:59
Greg - thks for confirming that I am not alone with this problem.

To be honest as a I had a 'workaround' (using the 2600 for the dsl and the 2800vg for wireless) I had not pursued draytek for help..but hearing you have the same symptoms I have just submitted a problem to UK Draytek Support.

I'll keep you posted !
Just now I'm going to try the 2.6.4.2 early release draytek firmware.

dave w
2006-05-06, 04:40
tried the darytek firmware 2.6.4.1rc2 - no improvement
(2.6.4.2 was a typo below)
I'll await feedback from draytek

stedes
2006-05-08, 09:48
Hi guys...same problem with 2800VG and SB3....however....when i got my router aroung SB3 firmware 28 nothing would happen....now we're up to fw 48 and the player connects and plays for a bit...3-4 songs...then drops out...so i guess slim technical support is working on it. I had problems with a Belkin before with the SB3 which prompted me to invest in a "good router"...I chose the Draytek for its VPN capabilities and I thought it would be good for SB3 too....oh well...

I think the guys at slim are doing a brilliant job and i think that by about fw 60 the problem will be fixed...go guys go!

dave w
2006-05-08, 16:33
stedes - the issue here is one for draytek (in my view). The wireless works fine with the DSL disconnected. The wireless functionality should be totally independent of the DSL connectivity - the operation of one should not influence the other.

seanadams
2006-05-08, 19:14
Hi guys...same problem with 2800VG and SB3....however....when i got my router aroung SB3 firmware 28 nothing would happen....now we're up to fw 48 and the player connects and plays for a bit...3-4 songs...then drops out...

This could be the router rebooting. Try pinging it continuously to see if it's crashing at the same time the squeezebox loses its connection... would be very helpful to know.

dave w
2006-05-10, 04:05
hi - I upgraded the SB3 firmware to v48 from v45 ('stedes' post mentioned it would be reliable for 3-4 songs )..For me it made no difference.

DSL connected - dropping wireless
DSL disconnected - wireless solid

Sean - for my case, the router does not crash/reboot.
The wireless seems to 'associate' and 'disassociate' between the SB3 and 2800VG. You just see lots of these messages in the router syslog. (you get dropped pings to the SB3 for 3 or 4 secs then it is o.k. for a few seconds, then drops ...and so on ).
All other functions on the router seem to work o.k. - e.g. other wireless clients remain solid.

dave w
2006-05-25, 06:31
An update on this- no good news yet. :(
have now exchanged around 12 emails with draytek...still no nearer to resolution. I'm told it is with their 2nd/3rd line support engineers.. I have no idea how they can hope to resolve this without actually building this in their lab.

What can cause the drops ?- it can only be:
1/ The SB3 responding badly to some 'dodgy' ethernet frames sent out from the router when the DSL is connected, or....
2/ the draytek dropping the connection because of some memory or other bizarre firmware issue.

I'm going to get a wireless sniffer onto the LAN to check if there are any malformed/spurious ethernet frames that are present when the dsl is connected (which the SB responds badly to). If there is nothing coming over the network then it has to be point 2. I am hoping I will see something coming out of the draytek as then I have some real substantive data to throw at draytek (rather than reporting the symptoms)...or even slimdevices could be part of the fix (if there is something odd that causes the wireless to drop - either the SB3 ignores it or the draytek does not send it!)

This is all conjecture for now....I'll post any findings, or any updates from Draytek.

harvi
2006-05-27, 06:50
dave w - you're definitely not alone on this one. I too have a 2800g/sb3 both with the latest firmware. Much the same as yourself I have the same symtoms, ie constant association/disassociation from the router, with or without WEP.

May 27 13:52:24 router Vigor: WLAN_DBG - MLME Disassoc MAC 0:ffffffa0:ffffffc5:ffffffb7:64:ffffffea
May 27 13:52:24 router Vigor: WLAN_DBG - MLME Associate MAC 0:ffffffa0:ffffffc5:ffffffb7:64:ffffffea
May 27 13:52:27 router Vigor: WLAN_DBG - MLME Disassoc MAC 0:ffffffa0:ffffffc5:ffffffb7:64:ffffffea
May 27 13:52:29 router Vigor: WLAN_DBG - MLME Associate MAC 0:ffffffa0:ffffffc5:ffffffb7:64:ffffffea
May 27 14:42:03 router Vigor: WLAN_DBG - MLME Disassoc MAC 0:ffffffa0:ffffffc5:ffffffb7:64:ffffffea
May 27 14:42:03 router Vigor: WLAN_DBG - MLME Associate MAC 0:ffffffa0:ffffffc5:ffffffb7:64:ffffffea

I also have a call open with Draytek in the UK. They have the 3rd level support person involved from Taiwan but hasn't been much help at the moment, response:

> Could the SqueezeBox connect to other APs or other Vigor Router
> (e.g.2600G)? According to the link
> http://www.slimdevices.com/Changelog6.html , it looks like
> SqueezeBox is compatible with Vigor2600G (when there is no
> encryption used). We cannot get the device for tests now, so we
> really need your help to clarify the issue. Thank you and we'll look
> forward to hearing from you : )

They want to send through a 2600g to me to test with, but I think we all know that this won't really accomplish much.

seanadams, would you be in a position to loan a "test unit" to Draytek? please let me know and I will get the contact details from the engineer in Taiwan.

Thanks
Harvi

KarlM
2006-06-10, 12:12
I get the same issues - though I have not tried the disconnect DSL yet as I run several websites.

Anyone hadd any news on this?

consciouspnm
2006-06-20, 13:02
I've got a 2600We with the latest firmware and a SB3 and have the same issues. I've also logged a support call with Draytek UK.

dave w
2006-06-22, 09:10
have set up a wireless sniffer and sent the capture of the WLAN mgmt traffic to draytek and slimdevices..there seemed to be some differences in the beaconing with dsl connected and this seems to cause the SB3 to send a probe request - and this this is when the wlan drops.
Not sure why the beaconing changes when the DSL is connected.


the helpful slimdevices have logged a bug
http://bugs.slimdevices.com/show_bug.cgi?id=3590

the less than helpful draytek are still yet to convince me they are taking any decisive steps to resolve this.
If you have this problem please keep chasing draytek every other day for an update (I am).
The squeaky wheel should get the most grease !!

oreillymj
2006-06-23, 05:41
I'm only guessing here, but I wonder if the router firewall thinks that the SB3 is part of some sort of DOS attack, so it drops it off the Network.

Can you temporarily disable any built-in router firewall/ping blocking to see if that makes any difference.

As for the Belkin recommendation, I've had a F5D7230-4 since before 802.11G was ratified (it was considered Pre-G when I bought it) and it's never had a problem with my SB/PSP or Centrino laptop.

consciouspnm
2006-06-23, 07:12
Can you temporarily disable any built-in router firewall/ping blocking to see if that makes any difference.


I've tried that, it doesn't.

rtitmuss
2006-06-23, 10:36
I have just analysed the wireless trace Dave attached to this bug:
http://bugs.slimdevices.com/show_bug.cgi?id=3590

The problem seems to be caused by the Draytek router resetting the the beacon timestamp. The squeezebox firmware believes the router has rebooted and tries to authenticate/associate with the router again.

Dave I am happy to discuss this with Draytek support if you need any assistance in getting this resolved.

Richard

dave w
2006-06-24, 03:26
Richard - thanks for your swift analysis and for confirming why this is happening. I keep on ranting to draytek to let me have some dialogue with their engineers (rather than 1st line)..after 6 weeks they still refuse this.

If I can get a contact from draytek then I'll keep you posted (I think we know where the problem lies, it is just getting that acknowlegment from draytek that their wireless implementation is not stable).

consciouspnm
2006-06-24, 07:19
I'll log the info against my open call with Draytek as well.

harvi
2006-07-10, 12:45
Just to let you know that I've just tested a beta of the new firmware, and it seems to have fixed the problem. Once I get more info on a release date/version number I'll let you know.

dave w
2006-07-10, 15:55
Draytek sent me the 'test' firmware today too. Tests o.k.

al
2006-07-17, 11:52
Any news on whether they`ll be releasing this update?

dave w wrote:
> Draytek sent me the 'test' firmware today too. Tests o.k.
>
>

dave w
2006-07-18, 14:58
from the draytek (uk) forum there is a link to

http://www.draytek.co.uk/support/download/v2800_wlan_squeeze_e38.zip
(Regular UK modem code - for normal use)

draytek have not confirmed if the fix for the 2800vg will be worked into the regular firmware updates (i would strongly expect so as it makes the wireless behave better).

al
2006-07-19, 11:49
cheers

al

dave w wrote:
> from the draytek (uk) forum there is a link to
>
> http://www.draytek.co.uk/support/download/v2800_wlan_squeeze_e38.zip
> (Regular UK modem code - for normal use)
>
> draytek have not confirmed if the fix for the 2800vg will be worked
> into the regular firmware updates (i would strongly expect so as it
> makes the wireless behave better).
>
>

dfk
2006-07-19, 13:39
from the draytek (uk) forum there is a link to

http://www.draytek.co.uk/support/download/v2800_wlan_squeeze_e38.zip
(Regular UK modem code - for normal use)

draytek have not confirmed if the fix for the 2800vg will be worked into the regular firmware updates (i would strongly expect so as it makes the wireless behave better).

Thanks for the link. I was pulling my hair out with the wireless dropping between SB2 and the 2800VG that I have just set-up

michaelch
2006-07-31, 06:02
Does the firmware upgrade you suggest work on a 2600 v as well?

dfk
2006-07-31, 10:00
Does the firmware upgrade you suggest work on a 2600 v as well?

Hi Micheal

I noticed your question. I used a 2600VG for about a year and had no problems with it. I did find problems with my new 2800V which the firmare mentioned in this post sorted.

consciouspnm
2006-08-03, 03:11
According to Draytek, the fix is only for the 2800 series and they suggested upgrading my 2600We to another model.

darwinsmooth
2007-04-14, 13:13
I've just got a SB3 and am discovering the joys of using my 2800V with it over wireless ie: not at all. I am currently using the 2.7 firmware which doesn't seem to help. Does anyone know if the 2.7.1 includes these fixes ?

If not can someone who has post the squeeze fix somewhere as draytek have removed it from the support site.

darwinsmooth
2007-04-18, 07:13
Just to answer my own question, yes the 2.7.1 firmware (and one would have to assume later versions if your viewing this in the future) includes the fixes needed.