PDA

View Full Version : Access Squeezebox classic without a display?



kllngtme
2015-09-01, 08:24
I purchased a Squeezebox Classic V3 off of someone and it ended up not having the display on it. It connects to my network and I have associated it to mysqueezebox.com account. The only thing left to do really is connect it to my server and then I'll be golden to use my phone to control it from there out..

Anyone have any ideas how to get this connected? Is there a way to CLI into it? Or am I going to have to guess using the remote control and hope I'm on the right screen? I have another Squeezebox classic I can use as a guide for the screen I was thinking...

What do you guys think? Can this thing be headless?

jeremy
2015-09-01, 08:34
I purchased a Squeezebox Classic V3 off of someone and it ended up not having the display on it. It connects to my network and I have associated it to mysqueezebox.com account. The only thing left to do really is connect it to my server and then I'll be golden to use my phone to control it from there out..

Anyone have any ideas how to get this connected? Is there a way to CLI into it? Or am I going to have to guess using the remote control and hope I'm on the right screen? I have another Squeezebox classic I can use as a guide for the screen I was thinking...

What do you guys think? Can this thing be headless?

Yes it can be headless, essentially that's what a receiver is (a player without a screen). I think it should connect to LMS automatically (as long as not password protected) Can you see it in your LMS web pages? If so then all you need is a smartphone or tablet & you're away

kllngtme
2015-09-01, 08:47
Yes it can be headless, essentially that's what a receiver is (a player without a screen). I think it should connect to LMS automatically (as long as not password protected) Can you see it in your LMS web pages? If so then all you need is a smartphone or tablet & you're away
No, I can only see it connect to mysqueezebox.com account. It shows connected there but not in my LMS yet. Under Players, it doesn't have it listed. My server isn't password protected at the moment in order to test this. I have been able to connect and disconnect it from mysqueezebox.com through the remote control but when I believe it is trying to connect to my local server it doesn't seem to be connecting or showing up under Players. Again, I'm trying this blindly really. Through mysqueezebox.com I removed all the Menu items except for settings and Connect to LMS. That's the way I've gotten this far...

kllngtme
2015-09-01, 09:15
Oh man! I got it! All Hail the Orange Squeeze app on my phone!! It saw the player "connected to other servers". Once I selected that player, it asked me if I wanted to connect it to my server :)

Sweet!

jeremy
2015-09-01, 09:24
Oh man! I got it! All Hail the Orange Squeeze app on my phone!! It saw the player "connected to other servers". Once I selected that player, it asked me if I wanted to connect it to my server :)

Sweet!

Enjoy!