PDA

View Full Version : Uncompressed audio dropouts with *wired* squeezebox(router related?)



Ben Cook
2004-12-12, 13:43
Do the drop-outs happen at 60 minute intervals? If so it my be due to the
server running an hourly update of a cache (I can't remember exactly what
but it was discused here a while ago, though I haven't sussed out a way of
searching old discussions for this). Most of the drop-outs I experience are
at hourly intervals (though not every hour) possibly because my server is
underpowered (Via C3 700MHz CPU).

> -----Original Message-----
> From: discuss-bounces (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com
> [mailto:discuss-bounces (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com]On Behalf Of Daryle A.
> Tilroe
> Sent: 12 December 2004 18:11
> To: Slim Devices Discussion
> Subject: [slim] Uncompressed audio dropouts with *wired* squeezebox
> (router related?)
>
>
> Over the last month I have not had a chance to listen for
> long periods of time so I have just recently noticed that
> my *wired* squeezebox has acquired dropouts randomly, but
> on the order of a couple of times an hour.
>
> I am playing back FLACs so there is a significant
> uncompressed audio bandwidth in use but it has never been
> a problem before (in the last year). Looking a the display
> there are definitely buffer underruns once every 5 minutes
> or so where it dips from 98-100% to under 80% and then
> sometimes zero leading to a brief dropout.
>
> About a month ago two things changed: 1. I upgraded from
> 5.3.1 with v39 firmware to 5.4 with v40 firmware. 2. I
> changed firewall routers from a Linksys BEFSR41v1 to a
> BEFSR81v3 (always with the latest firmware).
>
> I just finished rolling back to 5.3.1 v39 and the symptoms
> persist. I cannot immediately try a hub in place of the router
> since I don't have any spares; but this is next on my list.
>
> I guess my question is: have any wired FLAC users had problems
> with the newer Linksys routers?
>
> --
> Daryle A. Tilroe
>

Daryle A. Tilroe
2004-12-12, 17:55
Ben Cook wrote:

> Do the drop-outs happen at 60 minute intervals? If so it my be due to the
> server running an hourly update of a cache (I can't remember exactly what

No. I have lots of server horsepower and do not get dropouts even if I
force a rebuild.

--
Daryle A. Tilroe