PDA

View Full Version : Uncompressed audio dropouts with *wired* squeezebox (router related?)



Daryle A. Tilroe
2004-12-12, 11:11
Over the last month I have not had a chance to listen for
long periods of time so I have just recently noticed that
my *wired* squeezebox has acquired dropouts randomly, but
on the order of a couple of times an hour.

I am playing back FLACs so there is a significant
uncompressed audio bandwidth in use but it has never been
a problem before (in the last year). Looking a the display
there are definitely buffer underruns once every 5 minutes
or so where it dips from 98-100% to under 80% and then
sometimes zero leading to a brief dropout.

About a month ago two things changed: 1. I upgraded from
5.3.1 with v39 firmware to 5.4 with v40 firmware. 2. I
changed firewall routers from a Linksys BEFSR41v1 to a
BEFSR81v3 (always with the latest firmware).

I just finished rolling back to 5.3.1 v39 and the symptoms
persist. I cannot immediately try a hub in place of the router
since I don't have any spares; but this is next on my list.

I guess my question is: have any wired FLAC users had problems
with the newer Linksys routers?

--
Daryle A. Tilroe

David Brittain
2004-12-12, 15:25
I just moved to a netgear switch and am also now experiencing drop-outs.
I was using an SAR715 ADSL modem/router before I ran out of ports. So, I
now use this as a modem and hook it straight into my Netgear FS108. I
then attach all my network devices to the FS108. Unfortunately, my
squeezebox now experiences 1-2 drop-outs per hour. If I connect the
server and squeezebox back to the SAR715 then all works ok. So, it
sounds similar to your problem, but with different hardware.

Also, playing FLAC and also wired. Using 5.4.

Dave

Daryle A. Tilroe wrote:

> Over the last month I have not had a chance to listen for
> long periods of time so I have just recently noticed that
> my *wired* squeezebox has acquired dropouts randomly, but
> on the order of a couple of times an hour.
>
> I am playing back FLACs so there is a significant
> uncompressed audio bandwidth in use but it has never been
> a problem before (in the last year). Looking a the display
> there are definitely buffer underruns once every 5 minutes
> or so where it dips from 98-100% to under 80% and then
> sometimes zero leading to a brief dropout.
>
> About a month ago two things changed: 1. I upgraded from
> 5.3.1 with v39 firmware to 5.4 with v40 firmware. 2. I
> changed firewall routers from a Linksys BEFSR41v1 to a
> BEFSR81v3 (always with the latest firmware).
>
> I just finished rolling back to 5.3.1 v39 and the symptoms
> persist. I cannot immediately try a hub in place of the router
> since I don't have any spares; but this is next on my list.
>
> I guess my question is: have any wired FLAC users had problems
> with the newer Linksys routers?
>

Daryle A. Tilroe
2004-12-12, 18:05
David Brittain wrote:

> I just moved to a netgear switch and am also now experiencing drop-outs.
> I was using an SAR715 ADSL modem/router before I ran out of ports. So, I
> now use this as a modem and hook it straight into my Netgear FS108. I
> then attach all my network devices to the FS108. Unfortunately, my
> squeezebox now experiences 1-2 drop-outs per hour. If I connect the
> server and squeezebox back to the SAR715 then all works ok. So, it
> sounds similar to your problem, but with different hardware.
>
> Also, playing FLAC and also wired. Using 5.4.

You upgraded for the same reason; need more ports for your
squeezeboxes :-)! Anyhow I have seen similar weird issues
at work with duplex mismatches; which is now my #1 suspicion
(followed by the Linksys doing some stupid renegotiation or
buffer flush or similar).

With the new Linksys hardware some retarded engineer (ok he was
probably forced by marketing but should have not caved) decided to
save 50 cents and remove the speed and duplex leds so now there
is only a link/activity led on each port. This makes it very
difficult to confirm 100/full connection which is what I like
to force my equipment to if possible. Auto duplex negotiation
is spotty at best. Anyhow I am now trying auto and have not
seen a dropout yet. Will test auto/full/half a few times and
see if I can spot a correlation. I'm wondering if the switch
will not or cannot properly do full duplex.

--
Daryle A. Tilroe