PDA

View Full Version : Ran out of decoder data memory

Eric Seaberg
2015-07-19, 20:34
I've been running a Slim system since 2006 using a Mac Mini as server (recently upgraded) to multiple SB3s, Duet and Transporter. The Transporter feeds my 5.1 system and I've NEVER had a problem until tonight when I wanted to listen to a playlist consisting of multiple DTS encoded files, converted to FLAC.

Everything we OK until I got to specific files from an album where ANY of the files from that album would STOP playback. THe ONLY way to get things to play again was pulling power from the Transporter while holding down '1' on the remote... restting Xilinx... made no difference. Once I hit the files I wanted to play before, everything would stop and give me the error "RAN OUT OF DECODER DATA MEMORY".

I have NEVER seen this error before and KNOW that I've listened to the DTS encoded FLAC files before.

Any ideas? These files have played before WITHOUT ISSUE.

Thanks

Mac Mini 2.6GHz i7
OS 10.10.4
16GB RAM
Slim Server v7.9.0, 1427865259, Thu Apr 2 21:01:28 PDT 2015
even though I've installed as late as 7.9.0-1436858598 with no difference.

atrocity
2015-07-20, 07:33
Any ideas? These files have played before WITHOUT ISSUE.

Is it only the Transporter that doesn't want to play the DTS tracks?

Can you use the FLAC command line to test the files in question for corruption? (Sorry, I can't remember the command, but it should be easy enough to look up.)

Eric Seaberg
2015-07-20, 07:41
Is it only the Transporter that doesn't want to play the DTS tracks?

Can you use the FLAC command line to test the files in question for corruption? (Sorry, I can't remember the command, but it should be easy enough to look up.)

The transporter is the only device hooked up to my 5.1 receiver. I guess I could try with an SB3. I can also convert the FLAC files back to WAV and import into ProTools, where I have both a DTS and Dolby Digital decoder plugin.

I'll look for the command line, too.