PDA

View Full Version : Windows 10



fuzzyT
2015-06-01, 07:23
With the pending, free release of Windows 10 it has me wondering whether
LMS is expected to work under Win10.

I'd like to upgrade my Win7 box that runs LMS, but don't want to break
my music server. In any case, I might wait until Win10 has been in the
wild for a few weeks or months but thought I'd go ahead and start the
conversation.

Is Logitech testing LMS under Win10? Has anyone in the community tried
running it under any of the betas?

Thanks.

mherger
2015-06-01, 08:49
Heh... the idea of installing a Windows 10 preview never crossed my mind
:-). When is it due?

I would expect it to work. But I better double check.

Michael


Am 01.06.15 um 16:23 schrieb Ron Thigpen:
> With the pending, free release of Windows 10 it has me wondering whether
> LMS is expected to work under Win10.
>
> I'd like to upgrade my Win7 box that runs LMS, but don't want to break
> my music server. In any case, I might wait until Win10 has been in the
> wild for a few weeks or months but thought I'd go ahead and start the
> conversation.
>
> Is Logitech testing LMS under Win10? Has anyone in the community tried
> running it under any of the betas?
>
> Thanks.
>

SlimChances
2015-06-01, 08:55
I think the release is July 29

verypsb
2015-06-01, 09:44
I could try it on the latest preview (built 10130). I don't expect any problems, all Windows 7, 8 and 8.1 programs should work...

Apesbrain
2015-06-01, 09:45
Just installed latest 7.9 on Win 10 build 10130. Win 10 presented a warning about installing a "program not commonly downloaded" but beyond that install completed. LMS Control Panel reports all running fine on port 9000 but getting "Hmm, we can't reach this page" trying to access web UI.

verypsb
2015-06-01, 10:34
Just installed latest 7.9 on Win 10 build 10130. Win 10 presented a warning about installing a "program not commonly downloaded"

It's the same on Windows 8/8.1


LMS Control Panel reports all running fine on port 9000 but getting "Hmm, we can't reach this page" trying to access web UI.

This happened on Windows 8/8.1 too when using IE 11.0. You had to disable 'Enhanced Protection' and add localhost/127.0.0.1 to the 'Trusted Websites'. If you open the LMS website in IE11 on Windows 10 it does work. I haven't figured out how to open the LMS webinterface in Edge (Project Spartan).
I couldn't find the aforementioned options in Edge (Project Spartan).

Also the well known tweaks to LMS Control Panel (Run as Administrator) and the LMS service (user account instead of local system when using a network share) are needed.

Best regards,
Dennis.

fuzzyT
2015-06-01, 13:36
On 6/1/15 11:55 AM, SlimChances wrote:
>
> I think the release is July 29

That's the release date I've seen, but they're just just starting to
release preliminary information.

MeSue
2015-06-01, 16:24
On 6/1/15 11:55 AM, SlimChances wrote:
>
> I think the release is July 29

That's the release date I've seen, but they're just just starting to
release preliminary information.


I just got the "reserve your copy of Windows 10" popup on my desktop. It just said "later this year" but July 29 is also what I've read elsewhere.

verypsb
2015-06-01, 22:43
On 6/1/15 11:55 AM, SlimChances wrote:
>
> I think the release is July 29

That's the release date I've seen, but they're just just starting to
release preliminary information.

It has been confirmed by Microsoft.

verypsb
2015-06-01, 23:04
I ran this once (from an administrative Command Prompt) and now am able to open LMS Web UI at least with no problem with Edge (Project Spartan) as default browser:

CheckNetIsolation LoopbackExempt -a -n=Microsoft.Windows.Spartan_cw5n1h2txyewy

Bas Horneman
2015-06-02, 04:56
To save electricity I installed lms on a raspberry pi 2. Works like a charm.

Apesbrain
2015-06-02, 06:18
I ran this once and now am able to open media browser at least with no problem with Edge (Project Spartan) as default browser:

CheckNetIsolation LoopbackExempt -a -n=Microsoft.Windows.Spartan_cw5n1h2txyewy
Thanks, that worked for both IE and Edge.

verypsb
2015-06-02, 22:08
To save electricity I installed lms on a raspberry pi 2. Works like a charm.

I assume you're talking about Windows 10 IoT for Raspberry Pi 2?

https://dev.windows.com/en-us/iot

Best regards,
Dennis.

Musiclover
2015-06-06, 15:19
To save electricity I installed lms on a raspberry pi 2. Works like a charm.

On ARM CPUs DSD files are NOT supportet
Intel is working with DSD files.

Marc Bartsch
2015-07-09, 11:48
Hi,

I just tried the latest Windows 10 ISO on my Surface 3 and I can confirm that LMS and Squeezeplay do indeed work. The problem is only that Microsoft does not allow any network communication between a Win 8.1/10 app and localhost. When you try to open the LMS web interface with the new Edge browser, you run into said problem. That is why you have to run the "CheckNetIsolation LoopbackExempt -a -n=Microsoft.Windows.Spartan_cw5n1h2txyewy" which has been suggested earlier in this thread.

There is a slightly more convernient way of achieving the same. Please download the following tool from codeplex:

https://loopback.codeplex.com/

You can check the apps that you want to exempt from the loopback network isolation and save. I checked all microsoft.microsoftedge_xyz entries in that list (there were several) and after that I was able to browse the LMS web interface with Edge.

Using this tool has the adavantage that you do not need to know the product ID of the app that you want to exempt.

Best wishes,

Marc.

slate
2015-07-09, 23:54
I just noticed this in the release notes for build 10166:

Microsoft today released Windows 10 Build 10166 to Windows Insiders. This new Windows 10 build includes new Microsoft Edge browser build. In this new Microsoft Edge build, localhost support us now re-enabled by default.

New:

◾localhost loopback is now enabled by default. You can toggle localhost by navigating to about:flags.

NMarshall
2015-07-23, 00:45
You will not upgrade to Windows 10 by default from next Wednesday - hence the' opt-in' upgrade icon in the toolbar. You can stay with Win7/8 and IE11 should you so wish.
Neil

verypsb
2015-07-23, 00:49
IE11 is also installed on Windows 10. (And why not install Google Chrome/Firefox/Opera if you want to?)