PDA

View Full Version : Snow saver for new graphic display



Nick Walker
2004-12-10, 01:52
Hi all

Does anyone know if there is a version of the snow saver that will work on
the new graphics display?

Thanks ... nick

kdf
2004-12-10, 08:25
Quoting Nick Walker <nickwalker911 (AT) hotmail (DOT) com>:

> Hi all
>
> Does anyone know if there is a version of the snow saver that will work on
> the new graphics display?
>
>
none yet. I had figured I'd try, but I have had zero time to tackle it.
-kdf

Rickarddahlstrand
2005-09-12, 14:05
Quoting Nick Walker <nickwalker911 (AT) hotmail (DOT) com>:

> Hi all
>
> Does anyone know if there is a version of the snow saver that will work on
> the new graphics display?
>
>
none yet. I had figured I'd try, but I have had zero time to tackle it.
-kdf

I would kill for this plugin on my new SB2!! Any news on this?

kdf
2005-09-12, 19:55
On 12-Sep-05, at 2:05 PM, Rickarddahlstrand wrote:
>>
>
> I would kill for this plugin on my new SB2!! Any news on this?
>
I think the status is pretty much exactly the same.
I believe it has been removed from the builds and I know of no third
party that is currently working on converting it
-k

max.spicer
2005-09-13, 04:25
What's the snow saver?

Max


Hi all

Does anyone know if there is a version of the snow saver that will work on
the new graphics display?

Thanks ... nick

kdf
2005-09-13, 11:01
Quoting "max.spicer" <max.spicer.1vaozz (AT) no-mx (DOT) forums.slimdevices.com>:

>
> What's the snow saver?

When screensavers were first added to the slimserver featureset (before
SqueezeBoxG was released), Felix posted a Snow screensaver that used custom
characters to show falling 'snowflakes' on the display. It was fantastic, and
eventually included in the server builds in order to demo the screensaver
feature. When the display went graphic, the server no longer supported the
custom characters in the same way. The snow screensaver was rendered useless
for all new devices and is no longer included in the builds. It needs a fairly
extensive rewrite, and while the server is closer to supporting custom symbols,
it probably does need more work to get there. As you can imagine, rendering
falling snow on the screen tends to get lost in all the other work.

-k

max.spicer
2005-09-14, 04:53
Really? I'd have thought that SlimDevices would make it their top priority! ;-)

Max


As you can imagine, rendering
falling snow on the screen tends to get lost in all the other work.

kdf
2005-09-14, 08:59
On 14-Sep-05, at 4:53 AM, max.spicer wrote:

>
> Really? I'd have thought that SlimDevices would make it their top
> priority! ;-)
>
but getting the snowflakes to display in cyrillic is a bugger
-k

fcm4711
2005-09-14, 15:05
Hi all

Well, Phil Barrett was the creator of the Snow saver.
I did quite some screensavers (TinyLittlePacMan, WorldClock, LineX, and BinaryClock, but Snow is not my Baby.
And yes, it was fantastic - I remember having it running all winter long. :)

Felix

Craig, James (IT)
2005-09-15, 04:23
Is there any documentation on how to manipulate the SB2 display
anywhere?
The only plugin that seems to do anything with it is SlimTris and I
can't quite work out what's going on.


James
--------------------------------------------------------

NOTICE: If received in error, please destroy and notify sender. Sender does not waive confidentiality or privilege, and use is prohibited.

Aynsley Blake
2005-09-15, 04:39
I'm using a nightly from a couple of days ago and it seems that the menu
behaviour has changed.

I used to be able to drill in the following way using the remote:

Track -> Track info, then down to artist, then -> and it would show me a
list of all albums by that artist, I could then -> again to get track
list of that album.

Now it goes:

Track -> Track info, then down to artist, then -> and it only shows the
album for the track you started with, then -> again and it only shows 1
track (again, the one it started with).

Hope that makes sense

Aynsley Blake
2005-09-15, 04:47
I think I've found a bug/issue with the Random Mix feature.

When you go to random track mix, it loads up 10 tracks, when it's played
one, that track gets deleted from the playlist and another one gets
added to the end of the playlist. In this way, it's always on track 1 of
10. OK so far.

The problem comes when it picks a song you don't like, and you use the
remote to skip to the next track. It's then on track 2 of 10. It then
plays the rest of the 10 tracks and stops.

Robin Bowes
2005-09-15, 04:58
Aynsley Blake wrote:
> I think I've found a bug/issue with the Random Mix feature.
>
> When you go to random track mix, it loads up 10 tracks, when it's played
> one, that track gets deleted from the playlist and another one gets
> added to the end of the playlist. In this way, it's always on track 1 of
> 10. OK so far.
>
> The problem comes when it picks a song you don't like, and you use the
> remote to skip to the next track. It's then on track 2 of 10. It then
> plays the rest of the 10 tracks and stops.

Aynsley,

I had the same problem which was caused by having both kdf's original
plugin *and* the "official" plugin installed at the same time (I
initially used kdf's plugin then received the "official" one by default
since I track the latest svn trunk.

I fixed the problem by removing the original plugin.

This is the relevant thread:

http://forums.slimdevices.com/showthread.php?t=16374

R.
--
http://robinbowes.com

If a man speaks in a forest,
and his wife's not there,
is he still wrong?

kdf
2005-09-15, 08:33
On 15-Sep-05, at 4:23 AM, Craig, James (IT) wrote:

> Is there any documentation on how to manipulate the SB2 display
> anywhere?
> The only plugin that seems to do anything with it is SlimTris and I
> can't quite work out what's going on.
>

using the graphics is a hard one. check out Felix's TinyLittlePacMan
screensaver. There are some basic drawing functions that might be
helpful. As far as the snow screensaver, what is needed is a way to
create custom characters by importing a bitmap, or even converting the
old style custom char to a single char bitmap added to the symbol
table. This would serve to make the old plugin compatible with very
little changes.

It would also help with having the curernt shuffle mode displayed with
a character or repeat, or any custom crap that anyone wants to display
without requiring Dean to rebuild the whole font set.

-k

kdf
2005-09-15, 08:36
On 15-Sep-05, at 4:47 AM, Aynsley Blake wrote:

> I think I've found a bug/issue with the Random Mix feature.
>
> When you go to random track mix, it loads up 10 tracks, when it's
> played one, that track gets deleted from the playlist and another one
> gets added to the end of the playlist. In this way, it's always on
> track 1 of 10. OK so far.
>
> The problem comes when it picks a song you don't like, and you use the
> remote to skip to the next track. It's then on track 2 of 10. It then
> plays the rest of the 10 tracks and stops.
>
This came up only yesterday, and it turned out that everything worked
fine after clearing a conflict of having the third party Random Plugin
installed as well as the Random Mmix plugint that comes with 6.2
builds. Please make sure that you do not have both
Plugins/RandomPlay/Plugin.pm and Plugins/Random.pm installed. If so,
delete the latter.

-k

Craig, James (IT)
2005-09-15, 08:45
Based on what's in SlimTris, I can see how to display a custom
full-screen bitmap using the "bits" key value,
Although this is a rather painful format - seems like each hex character
controls a group of pixels?

It would be ideal if one could overlay this on top of the usual 2 line
display but I can't seem to make that work,
Seems to be either the bits or the lines, not both?

James
--------------------------------------------------------

NOTICE: If received in error, please destroy and notify sender. Sender does not waive confidentiality or privilege, and use is prohibited.

Aynsley Blake
2005-09-15, 09:19
Yup, that seems to have fixed it. Thanks

Triode
2005-09-15, 10:14
The way do to it for graphic display is to return a full screen bitmap. Custom characters won't work for graphics displays I'm
afraid.

If you do look at it - I suggest you read the display API page in the technical infomation section on 6.2 (part of the help pages).
Please use display hash rather than the previous bitmap method to speed things up a bit.

Yes each byte controls 8 pixels in a vertical row. To get good speed on a slow server, you probably want to pre build the bitmaps
for a snow flake at each vertical position. Then when you want to build a frame it is simply a matter of bitwise-or ing bitmaps
together.

So the idea would be to define a bitmap for a snow flake (probably one for SBG and one with more pixels for SB2). [Bear in mind
that on the graphic displays the first byte is a vertical column, but this does not matter if your shape has rotational symmetry]
Then build bitmaps of this shape at each virtical offset you want - nb this bitmap only needs to be as wide as the flake.

Then when you want to display a frame, you traverse each horizontal line bitwise oring together the appropriate 2 bytes (SBG) or 4
bytes (SB2) for that column for each flake which appears in that column. Produce a byte string which represent the whole screen
and then send it to $client->update() as a bits component of a display hash [or have it return by the lines function].

Let me know if you plan to look at this and want more help.

Adrian

----- Original Message -----
From: "Craig, James (IT)" <James.Craig (AT) morganstanley (DOT) com>
To: "Slim Devices Discussion" <discuss (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com>
Sent: Thursday, September 15, 2005 4:45 PM
Subject: RE: [slim] Re: Snow saver for new graphic display


Based on what's in SlimTris, I can see how to display a custom
full-screen bitmap using the "bits" key value,
Although this is a rather painful format - seems like each hex character
controls a group of pixels?

It would be ideal if one could overlay this on top of the usual 2 line
display but I can't seem to make that work,
Seems to be either the bits or the lines, not both?

James
--------------------------------------------------------

NOTICE: If received in error, please destroy and notify sender. Sender does not waive confidentiality or privilege, and use is
prohibited.

Craig, James (IT)
2005-09-15, 10:23
Mmm I'm kind of there now.
There is snow falling on my softsqueeze!

But the original screensaver overlayed the snow on top of the now
playing display or date screensaver as I recall - is it possible to do
that do you think?

James
--------------------------------------------------------

NOTICE: If received in error, please destroy and notify sender. Sender does not waive confidentiality or privilege, and use is prohibited.

Triode
2005-09-15, 10:31
Its definately possible to have both displayed at the same time - just include the text and bitmap in the same display hash.

What's harder would be to locate the snow based on the rendering of the text. If you are cunning you could call $client->render
with a display hash containing the text you want to display. This will return a bitmapref for the resulting text, you could then use
this to influence the bitmap you want to build for the snow. I would suggest you then call $client->update with the same text
definition and bits in the display hash, that way the caching done in the display routines would keep the values of the text.

Mail me off list if you want more info

Adrian

----- Original Message -----
From: "Craig, James (IT)" <James.Craig (AT) morganstanley (DOT) com>
To: "Slim Devices Discussion" <discuss (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com>
Sent: Thursday, September 15, 2005 6:23 PM
Subject: RE: [slim] Re: Snow saver for new graphic display


Mmm I'm kind of there now.
There is snow falling on my softsqueeze!

But the original screensaver overlayed the snow on top of the now
playing display or date screensaver as I recall - is it possible to do
that do you think?

James
--------------------------------------------------------

NOTICE: If received in error, please destroy and notify sender. Sender does not waive confidentiality or privilege, and use is
prohibited.

Steve
2005-09-16, 04:13
I never knew this feature existed! It's exactly what I've been after for
ages. Installed it last night... perfect. Makes an amazing device even
better.

Rickarddahlstrand
2005-09-16, 14:29
Mmm I'm kind of there now.
There is snow falling on my softsqueeze!


Is it?? Gimmi snow!!

James
2005-09-17, 02:17
I wanted to make sure it worked properly first... so here we are.
It works on Softsqueeze, SB2 & SBG. It should still work on character displays but it's possible I've broken it so let me know if so.


I think this used to be part of the standard install - does someone from SlimDevices want to re-add it? Otherwise I'll put it on my webpage.

Unzip the file and place Snow.pm in the plugins directory.

James

max.spicer
2005-09-17, 03:08
Works for me! Bigger snow flakes would be nice, but guess you couldn't write Merry Christmas then.

Max


I wanted to make sure it worked properly first... so here we are.
It works on Softsqueeze, SB2 & SBG. It should still work on character displays but it's possible I've broken it so let me know if so.


I think this used to be part of the standard install - does someone from SlimDevices want to re-add it? Otherwise I'll put it on my webpage.

Unzip the file and place Snow.pm in the plugins directory.

James

ceejay
2005-09-17, 07:01
I wanted to make sure it worked properly first... so here we are.
It works on Softsqueeze, SB2 & SBG. It should still work on character displays but it's possible I've broken it so let me know if so.


Very nice!

Enhancement rquest for the next release - more snow (you must have very light blizzards down your way !! ).

But much appreciated in any case...

Ceejay

Rickarddahlstrand
2005-09-18, 07:36
I wanted to make sure it worked properly first... so here we are.
It works on Softsqueeze, SB2 & SBG. It should still work on character displays but it's possible I've broken it so let me know if so.

Works great!! It's now running on all my devices.

Thanks, Rickard.

dean
2005-09-18, 08:38
Awesome. I'm going to add it to the standard slimserver distribution.

Thanks!

James
2005-09-18, 11:23
Here's an updated version - I've added:
bigger flakes,
a new 'whiteout' quantity option for people who really love snow,
and an alternate style setting when off.

James

Dave D
2005-09-22, 18:28
Nice plugin. Will keep it a secret here at home until the holidays.

One or two small bugs:

1) There appears to be too much space in front of the letter "V". This makes "VERY" almost look like "V ERY", but not quite.

2) While trying to figure out #1 (I didn't), I noticed that in snow.pm, line 807 (%letters hash) the letter "V" should be "U" (there are two V's).

Also, is there any easy way to change the strings displayed? It wouldn't be so simple as changing the PLUGIN_SCREENSAVER_SNOW_WORD_* strings, would it?

Thanks, Dave

Craig, James (IT)
2005-09-23, 03:11
Dave,
Thanks for the tips - I had deleted U in error when playing about with
the characters!
I've also narrowed the V a little - it was so much wider than the other
characters.

To change the messages, edit the SNOW_WORD strings.
And if you change the number that exist for a given language you would
need to change the NUMBER_OF_WORDS as well.

Attached should be my latest version which also fixes reversed flake
positions on the SBG, and (again) increases the amount of snow.

James
--------------------------------------------------------

NOTICE: If received in error, please destroy and notify sender. Sender does not waive confidentiality or privilege, and use is prohibited.

ceejay
2005-09-23, 07:06
Excellent, thank you. I especially appreciate the added snow!

Ceejay.

Regnad
2005-09-23, 08:08
I get an "invalid/corrupt" message when un-zipping. WinXP native unzip...

Help!

Craig, James (IT)
2005-09-23, 08:19
I'm sure this discussion has come up before... Are you downloading from
the web forum with ie?

It did work fine for me on the email copy I received, using the Windows
XP tool.

I'll update the copy on my website but can't until next week now.

James
--------------------------------------------------------

NOTICE: If received in error, please destroy and notify sender. Sender does not waive confidentiality or privilege, and use is prohibited.