PDA

View Full Version : How to open an SB3 remote?



DanielTheGreat
2015-04-27, 07:23
I have a non-working remote for one of my SB3s that I want to try to fix. But I can't see how to open the remote's case without (possibly) damaging it.

Anybody know how to get it apart without damage?

Thanks,
Daniel (Gerroa, Australia)

epoch1970
2015-04-27, 12:41
I don't have an answer. However I think you might want to precise which model: The old one, flat and rounded at one end, or the more recent version shaped like a square "candy" bar ?
Good luck.

JJZolx
2015-04-27, 18:25
Is it this one? All of the others have a clearly defined springy latch on the back that you just push down and lift the hatch off.

http://www3.pcmag.com/media/images/225756-logitech-squeezebox-touch-remote.jpg

I believe the one above is just a larger version of the style that came with the Boom. I don't have one of the larger ones, but I do have the one shown below and it is a little perplexing. Basically, the top slides forward. If you hold the remote flat in your hand, slide the top forward with your thumb.

http://www7.pcmag.com/media/images/191558-logitech-squeezebox-boom-remote.jpg

Like this. :)

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RoDWg0qzVBk

There's also this video, showing how to separate it completely.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gkaAXnAyUac

cliveb
2015-04-28, 02:42
Is it this one? All of the others have a clearly defined springy latch on the back that you just push down and lift the hatch off.

http://www3.pcmag.com/media/images/225756-logitech-squeezebox-touch-remote.jpg

I believe the one above is just a larger version of the style that came with the Boom. I don't have one of the larger ones, but I do have the one shown below and it is a little perplexing. Basically, the top slides forward. If you hold the remote flat in your hand, slide the top forward with your thumb.

http://www7.pcmag.com/media/images/191558-logitech-squeezebox-boom-remote.jpg

I do have one of the later remotes, and I can assure you that it does NOT open up in the same way as the Boom remote. It isn't remotely (pardon the pun) like the Boom one.

Looking at it, I'd say the later SB3 remote appears to have the top face glued onto the body. Or maybe there are some tiny clips that hold it on (and which you will no doubt break if you try to prise it off at the wrong position). But what the heck, if yours isn't working, you may as well try using a craft knife to separate the top face and see how it goes. But if it's glued, chances are you could easily crack the plastic.

Let's hope someone who has actually done it comes along to help.

JJZolx
2015-04-28, 17:35
I do have one of the later remotes, and I can assure you that it does NOT open up in the same way as the Boom remote. It isn't remotely (pardon the pun) like the Boom one.

Are you talking about something more than just opening up the battery compartment? The Boom remote is the only one I know of where you can get to any of the electronics. I doubt that any of the others were ever designed to be disassembled.

cliveb
2015-04-29, 00:27
Are you talking about something more than just opening up the battery compartment? The Boom remote is the only one I know of where you can get to any of the electronics. I doubt that any of the others were ever designed to be disassembled.
I had assumed the OP wanted to get at the innards and try to troubleshoot why it wasn't working. Surely nobody would simply be asking how to change the batteries?

FWIW, most remotes these days seem to be sealed, and if they stop working you are expected to just replace them.

The only remote I ever fixed was for a B&O TV, after a dealer told me a new one would about 100. It was built like a tank (a friend remarked that you could knock nails in with it) and held together with screws.

Mnyb
2015-04-29, 16:00
The picture looks just like a Touch remote and a boom or radio remote , i'm sure the original SB3 remote was a little different .

And do search the forum people have replaced the failing ir diode in the older one.

Plan B a remote bought as spare for squeezebox Touch would work just fine with an SB3 (Classic) . If the firmware in the SB3 is recent you might not need to use the "brightness" button to initiate fw updates , so the lack of brigtness button is not critical (the Touch remote soes not have that )

michel
2015-05-03, 00:47
If you have the SB3 remote labelled 'Logitech' it is very easy to open.
You have to open the battery compartment, remove batteries and press against the logic board gently. This will lift the front plate a little bit just to be able to insert a blade and pry it open gently.

DanielTheGreat
2016-04-28, 22:22
For any future readers landing on this thread with the same question, the answer to my original query (how to open the remote) is now contained in my video:
https://youtu.be/cY8BYBW57WQ