PDA

View Full Version : LAME: where to put on OS X 10.10 and LMS 7.9



SamS
2015-01-31, 15:44
I know there are a few threads on this, but non seem to answer the question for OS X.

Which LAME should I use? I know there is one for iTunes. And where does it go?

I did a complete reinstall of LMS on a brand new machine, and I need LAME for transcoding my library on-the-go to my iPhone, via Peng.

mherger
2015-01-31, 23:01
> Which LAME should I use? I know there is one for iTunes. And where does
> it go?

I don't know about any specific Lame for iTunes. But as long as you can
run "lame" from the command line, you should be fine.

Check Settings/Information/Helper Applications Folder for a place where
to put your copy.

--

Michael

SamS
2015-02-01, 06:38
> Which LAME should I use? I know there is one for iTunes. And where does
> it go?

I don't know about any specific Lame for iTunes. But as long as you can
run "lame" from the command line, you should be fine.

Check Settings/Information/Helper Applications Folder for a place where
to put your copy.

--

Michael

Michael,

My first Helper folder is listed at: /Library/PreferencePanes/Squeezebox.prefPane/Contents/server/Bin/darwin

I untarred a LAME package folder and put it there (also saw some stuff like FLAC in my folder above), but that didn't work. I realize I'm doing this wrong :)

SamS
2015-02-01, 08:50
I found this helpful post/installer and it somehow put LAME in the right spot, my transcoding works great now!
http://forums.slimdevices.com/showthread.php?70922-LAME-on-OS-X-iTunes-9-SS-7-4-1&p=541520&viewfull=1#post541520

Ron Olsen
2015-02-01, 08:52
You can get a command-line version of lame for OS X by installing Macports: https://www.macports.org/

Once Macports is installed, open Terminal and enter

sudo port install lame
to install lame.

On my Mac Pro, this installs lame-3.99.5 in /opt/local/bin/lame.

SamS
2015-02-01, 10:48
Thanks Ron for that alternative method!