PDA

View Full Version : LaCie Ethernet disks - how noisy are they



Mike Marley
2004-12-07, 14:54
Would you mind expanding on the Micronet Raid? I am thinking of going
this route as well. I would love to hear your thoughts on the unit.
The more details the better. :)

Mike M.

stephen van vuuren
2004-12-08, 11:29
If you are comfortable tinkering, RAID 5 can be had in software:

http://www.tomshardware.com/storage/20041119/index.html - google
around for the files "pre-hacked" if you don't want to hex edit.

I'm actually running this with 2 SATA drives and 2 EIDE drives for use
in my pro NLE system and works fantastic so far. CPU usage is 2-5%
when capturing DV.


On Tue, 7 Dec 2004 14:23:47 -0800 (PST), Dondi Fusco <dondi_ (AT) yahoo (DOT) com> wrote:
> Sure... I have a large music library ~70,000 tunes. In
> the past I tried using spanning volumes of IDE disks.
> I have mainly WinXP network (3) clients plus one 500GB
> Ethernet Disk.
>
> To accommodate the MUSIC FOLDER for the SLIMSERVER, I
> wanted all my music under one share. When I first did
> spanned volumes I put 4 IDE drives together and made a
> music share. Problem with that was, once everything
> was tagged etc & if one disk craps-out you lose
> EVERYTHING!!! This happened twice.
>
> I moved on to RAID. I wanted a RAID-5 solution, so
> that if a drive failed, I could replace the drive and
> populate the new drive with the data without losing
> anything. This is where Im at now. The 500Gb Ethernet
> disk actually uses WinXP Embedded with two 250Gb IDE
> HDs spanned. I connect the MicroNet RAID via FireWire
> to the back of the Ethernet disk. All my clients read
> the media from the shares (MUSIC, VIDEO and FILES).
> Music is the only thing on the RAID, VIDEO and FILES
> are on the 500Gb portion of the Ethernet disk.
>
> You can configger as RAID 0, 1, 3, 5, 0+1 and JBOD.
> Here's a link to the RAID I have:
> http://micronet.com/General/prodList.asp?Cat=Product&CatId=45
>
> A bit expensive, but worth the piece of mind and
> hassle if a disk ever fails. I dont have to go through
> the restore process from over 550+ CDs and retag etc.
> :) All I have to do with RAID 5 is replace the defunct
> HD and it rebuilds itself. Priceless :)
>
> -- Dondi
>
>
>
> --- Mike Marley <mmarley (AT) accupoll (DOT) com> wrote:
>
> > Would you mind expanding on the Micronet Raid? I am
> > thinking of going
> > this route as well. I would love to hear your
> > thoughts on the unit.
> > The more details the better. :)
> >
> > Mike M.
> >
> >

Peter N
2004-12-21, 07:25
stephen van vuuren wrote:
> If you are comfortable tinkering, RAID 5 can be had in software:
>
> http://www.tomshardware.com/storage/20041119/index.html - google
> around for the files "pre-hacked" if you don't want to hex edit.
>

Is this hack possible on w2k as well?

/peter