PDA

View Full Version : Using Squeezebox as wireless DAC



Phonophobe
2015-01-26, 07:39
I want to play audio from my laptop through my hifi wirelessly.

I already own two Squeezebox Classics and a Boom. Is it possible to set these up as simple wireless DACs so that any audio which would normally be heard from my laptop speakers is played through the hifi?

Many thanks!

DanSmedra
2015-01-26, 07:56
That's the purpose of Logitech Media Server (LMS).

Man in a van
2015-01-26, 08:02
I want to play audio from my laptop through my hifi wirelessly.

I already own two Squeezebox Classics and a Boom. Is it possible to set these up as simple wireless DACs so that any audio which would normally be heard from my laptop speakers is played through the hifi?

Many thanks!

Welcome,

Don't know about the Classics, but from the Boom wiki:=

Q. Is there a line-out?

A. There is a subwoofer/headphone output. The functionality is selectable from a menu item in the Squeezebox Boom. If you want to drive a stereo receiver or other amplified speakers, you can do that. There is a slight difference in the circuitry between headphone and line-out circuits, but it should work in nearly all situations. The worst case that will happen, in only some cases, would be that there is slightly more noise heard through your speakers. No damage will occur.


A better solution is a raspberry pi with dac card or cheap usb/headphone unit like a Stoner

https://www.facebook.com/StonerAcoustics

not too sure if the drivers for this are included in the 'pi kernel.

This item did work with the previous Squeezeplug version (don't know about the new v7.5.0)

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Delock-USB-Sound-SPDIF-Adapter/dp/B0084CGO88

This is most likely better than the Delock

http://www.behringer.com/EN/Products/UCA202.aspx




( if funds preclude the purchase together, first buy the 'pi, then the card).

Do some research.

atb

Ronnie

get.amped
2015-01-26, 08:34
If you have LMS on the laptop, you should be able to do this with the WaveIn Plugin.

d6jg
2015-01-26, 09:33
Think some people might of got the wrong end of the stick here - do you mean you want to play ANY audio that's on your laptop to one of your Squeezebox devices ?

If so then do you have a working LMS on your network ? Assuming you do then you need to run it with upnp switched on then your squeezeboxes will appear in Windows Media Player etc as players. How you switch upnp on depends on what OS LMS is running on.

Man in a van
2015-01-26, 10:05
I want to play audio from my laptop through my hifi wirelessly.

I already own two Squeezebox Classics and a Boom. Is it possible to set these up as simple wireless DACs so that any audio which would normally be heard from my laptop speakers is played through the hifi?

Many thanks!


From the Classic online user manual


1
. Connect Squeezebox to your stereo amplifier or receiver using the included RCA cable with the red and white connectors.


LMS on the Laptop

RonM
2015-01-26, 10:35
I want to play audio from my laptop through my hifi wirelessly.

I already own two Squeezebox Classics and a Boom. Is it possible to set these up as simple wireless DACs so that any audio which would normally be heard from my laptop speakers is played through the hifi?

Many thanks!

LMS needs to be involved, so you need to install that on your laptop.

Normally one would have a wifi router acting as intermediary between the laptop and the players (with the speakers built in to the Boom). In the absence of that, you can set up the laptop so that it is in effect both the server and the router. You do this by implementing an "ad hoc" connection between the laptop and the device. "Ad hoc" is what it's called in the Windows context.

I've done this with my laptop and a Boom, when on vacation. Allowed me to control the music from my laptop, from the Boom and using a remote. Could use an Android/iPhone as well.

Ad hoc connections are not the most straightforward things, but ultimately work fine. There are more difficulties implementing these on Win8, but it's not impossible.

R.

Mnyb
2015-01-26, 23:36
Use LMS logitech media server . And there is a WAV-in plugin for sources other than files that LMS has scanned .
And with the latest LMS 7.9 you can use to browse folder without scan and play the files .

But forget about using for movies or video games , the buffering involved means just to much lag . LMS + squeezeboxes is a music system that's basically works the other way around from what you thinking about . You sitting with your player using its UI or some app pulling music from a computer/NAS that's not in the room with you . Not sitting in from of a computer pushing out music to the players .

However there are some solutions for using foobar2000 and also MediaMonkey as players .

Phonophobe
2015-01-27, 10:45
LMS needs to be involved, so you need to install that on your laptop.

Normally one would have a wifi router acting as intermediary between the laptop and the players (with the speakers built in to the Boom). In the absence of that, you can set up the laptop so that it is in effect both the server and the router. You do this by implementing an "ad hoc" connection between the laptop and the device. "Ad hoc" is what it's called in the Windows context.

I've done this with my laptop and a Boom, when on vacation. Allowed me to control the music from my laptop, from the Boom and using a remote. Could use an Android/iPhone as well.

Ad hoc connections are not the most straightforward things, but ultimately work fine. There are more difficulties implementing these on Win8, but it's not impossible.

R.

Thanks for this, RonM, very interesting. I do usually use a router between my laptop and the players but I have been having connectivity problems, possibly due to my wireless extender (but that's a whole other issue altogether!), so I'll look into the ad hoc connection. Unfortunately I am running Win 8 at present.

Phonophobe
2015-01-27, 10:49
Think some people might of got the wrong end of the stick here - do you mean you want to play ANY audio that's on your laptop to one of your Squeezebox devices ?

If so then do you have a working LMS on your network ? Assuming you do then you need to run it with upnp switched on then your squeezeboxes will appear in Windows Media Player etc as players. How you switch upnp on depends on what OS LMS is running on.

Thanks for pointing that out, d; yes, to clarify, I want to play ANY audio through the squeezebox. For example: youtube, BBC iPlayer, movies on my hard drive or DVD.

I do already have LMS running on Win 8. Your suggestion about upnp sounds interesting. Do you have more info or can you point me somewhere?

Mnyb
2015-01-27, 11:32
Thanks for pointing that out, d; yes, to clarify, I want to play ANY audio through the squeezebox. For example: youtube, BBC iPlayer, movies on my hard drive or DVD.

I do already have LMS running on Win 8. Your suggestion about upnp sounds interesting. Do you have more info or can you point me somewhere?

Movies your probably get a 20-30 second delay/lag (or more ) you cant fix ? do a forum search , you find plenty of people have tried before , I donít know if anyone have made any progress lately . But I never seen any conclusion to these treads .
Its a very popular question that pops up now and then .

There is a youtube plugin ,but its playing the audio , assume you want to see the movie too at the same time ?

d6jg
2015-01-27, 11:39
UPnP support is in LMS but you have to start it with the option enabled. I am afraid I don't use LMS that way but if you search around or ask a direct connection someone will tell you.

Basically if you enable it your Squeezeboxen appear as uPnP players (renderers) in things like Windows Media Player.

What OS does your LMS run on?

d6jg
2015-01-27, 12:07
I am incorrect. There is UPnP/DLNA server in LMS but not what you want.

You are looking for the features provided by
http://www.whitebear.ch/mediaserver

RonM
2015-01-27, 12:10
Thanks for this, RonM, very interesting. I do usually use a router between my laptop and the players but I have been having connectivity problems, possibly due to my wireless extender (but that's a whole other issue altogether!), so I'll look into the ad hoc connection. Unfortunately I am running Win 8 at present.

It's possible. Google "ad hoc network Win8" and you do get hits. One has to tinker with the innards of Win8 a bit, but it doesn't seem to be too difficult.

This is primarily a solution for a situation without a router. If you have a router it's much more straightforward.

I used to have some issues with my router, a function of it being in the basement and several walls between it and some of my outdoor deck uses, but all that was resolved when I got a premium router with greater signal strength. I do love my Asus RT-N66u.

Ron