PDA

View Full Version : iPlayer freezes occasionally



rbl
2015-01-09, 04:19
I have used iPlayer for a long time and it is basically very good. However, every so often it freezes. Sometimes it kicks starts itself again after 10-30seconds, sometimes it doesn't. This happened on my old TalkTalk copper connection, but it still happens with my new BT fibre connection. I live in central London, and whenever I do a bandwidth test I always get close to 40Mb/s, and it seems very reliable so I suspect the problem is elsewhere. All my SB3s are wired, and I use SqueezeLite on my 6 month old Windows 7 PC. Any idea what it could be?

castalla
2015-01-09, 04:23
I have used iPlayer for a long time and it is basically very good. However, every so often it freezes. Sometimes it kicks starts itself again after 10-30seconds, sometimes it doesn't. This happened on my old TalkTalk copper connection, but it still happens with my new BT fibre connection. I live in central London, and whenever I do a bandwidth test I always get close to 40Mb/s, and it seems very reliable so I suspect the problem is elsewhere. All my SB3s are wired, and I use SqueezeLite on my 6 month old Windows 7 PC. Any idea what it could be?

Crappy BBC streams ...

rbl
2015-01-09, 11:45
Do you and others have the same problem then?

Seems odd to me that everyone else can make their streams work, radio and video, including tiny outfits, then why can't the mighty BBC?

castalla
2015-01-09, 12:08
Do you and others have the same problem then?

Seems odd to me that everyone else can make their streams work, radio and video, including tiny outfits, then why can't the mighty BBC?

I've noticed drop-outs have become more frequent recently.

bpa
2015-01-09, 13:20
Perhaps it's part of the audio changeover that happening in Feb - no more WMA and perhaps HLS replacing other formats

http://iplayerhelp.external.bbc.co.uk/help/playing_radio_progs/changes_audio_formats

rbl
2015-01-10, 05:29
On a slightly different note, does any one get drop out with iPLayer video? I use my Samsung BDH6500 "smart" bluray player, and it freezes every 10 minutes or so, albeit only for a second or two. Odd as other services seem fine ..

danco
2015-01-11, 03:45
I have had this issue for ages. No problem when BBC iPlayer is set to WMA only, but we are losing those streams soon.

Other settings always lose the program from time to time. Usually gives me the message "rebuffierng 5%" but stops at 5% and shortly gives me a message "Can't open file for ..."

I have a slightly complicated setup, and I haven't been able to work out where the problem is. Because of location (router at one end of my flat, computer at the other, SB in between) I use Devolo dLAN devices to connect. So there could be a problem with my network, with my internet connection, or with Talktalk. I've never been able to tell which. The Devolo utility shows connection of the network, my router has the relevant lights lit, but the Network Diagnostic Utility says there is no connection to my ISP.

LMS 7.9, Mac OS 10.10.1

danco
2015-01-11, 04:47
Oh, and another issue, which is presumably a problem at the BBC end.

I have been away for several weeks, and am trying to catch up with radio programs.

Several of them are listed in BBC iPlayer Extras, but when I try to play them they just show as 00:00 and Stopped.

bpa
2015-01-11, 05:42
I updated Extras plugin in mid Dec to 1.6 this removed the menus which BBC killed in Oct and added a lots of iPlayer categories/latest menus but BBC killed off a few more feeds just before Christmas affects mainly R1, R2 and 6Music. I have an updated version of plugin which gets around this issue.

If the program you have had problems are not R1,R2, 1Xtra or 6Music - please give specific example so I can check. Some programs are now UK only, they get listed but I cannot play them.

rbl
2015-01-11, 09:29
I have had this issue for ages. No problem when BBC iPlayer is set to WMA only, but we are losing those streams soon.

Other settings always lose the program from time to time. Usually gives me the message "rebuffierng 5%" but stops at 5% and shortly gives me a message "Can't open file for ..."

I have a slightly complicated setup, and I haven't been able to work out where the problem is. Because of location (router at one end of my flat, computer at the other, SB in between) I use Devolo dLAN devices to connect. So there could be a problem with my network, with my internet connection, or with Talktalk. I've never been able to tell which. The Devolo utility shows connection of the network, my router has the relevant lights lit, but the Network Diagnostic Utility says there is no connection to my ISP.

LMS 7.9, Mac OS 10.10.1

I also get the rebuffering, but to be fair it usually kick starts itself after 10-30 seconds, but not always. My entire system is wired so nothing to do with that. I used to have TalkTalk (copper), and recently changed to BT fibre, which made no difference at all. Will now try the WMA streams and see if that is any better...

danco
2015-01-11, 10:34
I updated Extras plugin in mid Dec to 1.6 this removed the menus which BBC killed in Oct and added a lots of iPlayer categories/latest menus but BBC killed off a few more feeds just before Christmas affects mainly R1, R2 and 6Music. I have an updated version of plugin which gets around this issue.

If the program you have had problems are not R1,R2, 1Xtra or 6Music - please give specific example so I can check. Some programs are now UK only, they get listed but I cannot play them.

I am in the UK. Quite a few programs on radio 4 that show up in the menus just produce Stopped 00:00. For instance, Count Arthur Strong's Christmas Speical, I'm Sorry I Haven't a Clue, Tom Wrigglesworth's Hang-Ups and several others. I haven't tried reaching them by my web browser yet.

danco
2015-01-11, 10:36
I also get the rebuffering, but to be fair it usually kick starts itself after 10-30 seconds, but not always. My entire system is wired so nothing to do with that. I used to have TalkTalk (copper), and recently changed to BT fibre, which made no difference at all. Will now try the WMA streams and see if that is any better...

WMA works well for me. But as it will be cut off soon, it isn't a real solution.

bpa
2015-01-11, 13:28
I've updated the Extra plugin to 1.7.

It plays Count Arthur Strong and I have got a clue programs OK for me in aac (I think Flash/AAC)

rbl
2015-01-14, 07:01
WMA works well for me. But as it will be cut off soon, it isn't a real solution.

Have tried the WMA streams over the last few days and I find it still stops occasionally. BBC iplayer (video) seems a lot worse however ..