PDA

View Full Version : MoodLogic Playlists



Adam White
2004-12-06, 10:48
A while ago, I trialled Moodlogic. It all looked good (I know some people disagree). It created a shed load of playlists in slimserver.

Now, I've since purchased the full moodligoc product and I have absolutely no idea how to generate these (they've long since gone)

Any ideas (I cant find info anywhere!)......

kdf
2004-12-06, 11:02
Quoting Adam White <adam (AT) AdamAndLiz (DOT) com>:

> A while ago, I trialled Moodlogic. It all looked good (I know some people
> disagree). It created a shed load of playlists in slimserver.
>
> Now, I've since purchased the full moodligoc product and I have absolutely no
> idea how to generate these (they've long since gone)
>
> Any ideas (I cant find info anywhere!)......


what version of the server are you using?
can you see the "use moodlogic' option in server settings, is is checked?
do you see the playlists after going into server settings, performance, 'wipe
cache' and waiting for the scan to complete.

-kdf

Adam White
2004-12-06, 13:28
Slimserver Version 5.4 for windows. Yes, it's set in server settings

I cleared the cache, took a few minutes to re-generate and no moodlogic
playlists appeared.

I went into moodlogic to activate a couple of cd's I'd just ripped and
slim.exe kicked in and started generatting playlists.

I'm confused here! Is there an official way of re-generating lists, it
seems a little hit and miss.



----- Original Message -----
From: "kdf" <slim-mail (AT) deane-freeman (DOT) com>
To: "Slim Devices Discussion" <discuss (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com>
Sent: Monday, December 06, 2004 6:02 PM
Subject: [slim] MoodLogic Playlists


> Quoting Adam White <adam (AT) AdamAndLiz (DOT) com>:
>
>> A while ago, I trialled Moodlogic. It all looked good (I know some
>> people
>> disagree). It created a shed load of playlists in slimserver.
>>
>> Now, I've since purchased the full moodligoc product and I have
>> absolutely no
>> idea how to generate these (they've long since gone)
>>
>> Any ideas (I cant find info anywhere!)......
>
>
> what version of the server are you using?
> can you see the "use moodlogic' option in server settings, is is checked?
> do you see the playlists after going into server settings, performance,
> 'wipe
> cache' and waiting for the scan to complete.
>
> -kdf
>

kdf
2004-12-06, 14:30
Quoting Adam White <adam (AT) AdamAndLiz (DOT) com>:

> Slimserver Version 5.4 for windows. Yes, it's set in server settings
>
> I cleared the cache, took a few minutes to re-generate and no moodlogic
> playlists appeared.
>
> I went into moodlogic to activate a couple of cd's I'd just ripped and
> slim.exe kicked in and started generatting playlists.
>
> I'm confused here! Is there an official way of re-generating lists, it
> seems a little hit and miss.

Those playlists (at least the automatic ones) are reliant on your moodlogic
database. The server will periodically check the database for any changes. if
a change is detected then the server will trigger a rescan. You can set the
minimum rescan interval in the server settings under moodlogic. The auto
playlists (the one that start with MoodLogic: +) are created from common
activated data. If you do not have enough of a certain mood, then moodlogic
will not create the playlist. If the playlist is not in the moodlogic
database, then slimserver will not load a playlist. Slimserver does not, and
cannot create playlists that do not exist in the moodlogic database already.

You can create manual playlists from moodlogic using the mood mixers as well.
Those whoudl also appear in slimserver after rescan, although there does seem
to be a delay between creating the playlist in the moodlogic aplication, and
the data being committed to the moodlogic database. I'm unsure whether this is
a moodlogic thing, or simply due to windows delayed write.

if you want to see more details on how the slimserver is loading up moodlogic
data for you, start the server from command line like so:

click start->run
type "c:\program files\slimserver\server\slim.exe --d_moodlogic"
click ok

the server will then open in a 'dos window' and the text output will show the
progress of the server loading moodlogic data

cheers,
kdf