PDA

View Full Version : Slow Blinking Red/Won't Reset/Did Storm Kill my Logitech Squeezebox Receiver?



SNazz123
2014-11-29, 17:35
Hello all. I'm stuck with the slow blinking red light which should mean my receiver will be seen by the Logitech Squeezebox Duet Controller, right? Wrong. I've unplugged receiver, held the front button. It won't move to a fast red nor will it cycle through other colors. Now, I have two of these receivers. The one upstairs is seen by the Controller. My iPhone 6 (which has Peng 8 app on it) is seen by the Controller but only intermittently. (Mostly when the phone is right next to the Controller). The downstairs receiver - the one stuck on slow blinking red light - is seemingly dead.

I've got a Mac Pro (late 2013 version). I'm running Yosemite aka 10.10.1 - the latest. I have a new Airport Extreme 802.11ac, 6th generation router. Everything else is working fine with this router. Apple blurb: "On June 10, 2013, the AirPort Extreme Base Station was updated to support the 802.11ac protocol. Retaining the same name, the new model underwent a redesign from the five previous generations. With a smaller footprint of 3.85 inches square and 6.6 inches tall, it now has a 64% smaller footprint than the previous generation. Additionally, Apple has configured the new model with six antennas. Three are designated for the 2.4 GHz spectrum and three for the 5 GHz spectrum."

A call to Logitech suggested the problem might be with my network. I doubt that. I moved the red light unit upstairs and the good unit downstairs without changing their power supplies. The working upstairs unit (now downstairs with the downstairs power supply) continued to work fine. The red light unit that is now upstairs (with the upstairs power supply) continues to seem "dead".

Resetting the Controller to Factory settings did not work. Resetting the Controller whilst holding down the red button didn't work either.

I need this to work ASAP for the holidays. I've tried reviving the receiver with Logitech manual help and many online tips but nothing is working. We had a nasty couple of days here in the Northeast of the U.S. and power outages. Our power went down hard several times. Although both receivers are on power supplies does it seem to anyone out there that one of mine just died?

Would Logitech either swap this out of warranty Logitech Squeezebox Receiver for me OR do they sell factory repaired replacements?

HELP!

Thanks!

SNazz

Mnyb
2014-11-29, 22:51
Slow blinking red ligth means that this reciever needs to be setup again .

toby10
2014-11-30, 03:43
......
Would Logitech either swap this out of warranty Logitech Squeezebox Receiver for me OR do they sell factory repaired replacements?

Neither, but it's likely just a setup issue as Mnyb suggested. Sure router settings were not affected by these power outages? Guest network?

SNazz123
2014-11-30, 09:38
Slow blinking red ligth means that this reciever needs to be setup again .

Thank you Mnyb. I knew that the slow blinking red light means that the receiver is supposedly ready to either be set up again or is ready to join the network but it does not show up as a player in the controller. Also, what do you make of the fact that I cannot reset the receiver at all? Holding down the button whilst I plug in the AC power is supposed to start a fast blinking red light and cycle it through the other color until it arrives at white. The fact that this is not happening makes me thing this is fried.

BTW, I sent this post to Logitech, and, so far, no response, alas.

Thanks for your input.

SNazz

SNazz123
2014-11-30, 09:41
Neither, but it's likely just a setup issue as Mnyb suggested. Sure router settings were not affected by these power outages? Guest network?

Thanks toby10. I wish it just were a setup issue but, as I just posted to Mnyb: The player refuses to show on the controller whilst the other receiver shows up just fine. And the one move that had worked in the past - resetting the receiver from the front button - is non-operational. The router works fine for everything else including the other receiver so that baffles me.

SNazz

kidstypike
2014-11-30, 09:59
Thank you Mnyb. I knew that the slow blinking red light means that the receiver is supposedly ready to either be set up again or is ready to join the network but it does not show up as a player in the controller. Also, what do you make of the fact that I cannot reset the receiver at all? Holding down the button whilst I plug in the AC power is supposed to start a fast blinking red light and cycle it through the other color until it arrives at white. The fact that this is not happening makes me thing this is fried.

BTW, I sent this post to Logitech, and, so far, no response, alas.

Thanks for your input.

SNazz

It doesn't sound like you're doing it right.
Leave the receiver powered up, just press and hold the button on the receiver until it flashes red rapidly, (it should NOT cycle through all the colours), it should then be available on your controller to set up.

Mnyb
2014-11-30, 10:09
Thanks toby10. I wish it just were a setup issue but, as I just posted to Mnyb: The player refuses to show on the controller whilst the other receiver shows up just fine. And the one move that had worked in the past - resetting the receiver from the front button - is non-operational. The router works fine for everything else including the other receiver so that baffles me.

SNazz


It doesn't sound like you're doing it right.
Leave the receiver powered up, just press and hold the button on the receiver until it flashes red rapidly, (it should NOT cycle through all the colours), it should then be available on your controller to set up.

And be close to that reciever ! in setup mode it talks directly to the controller and not via the network .

Btw in some cases some people had to also reset the controller

SNazz123
2014-11-30, 12:43
It doesn't sound like you're doing it right.
Leave the receiver powered up, just press and hold the button on the receiver until it flashes red rapidly, (it should NOT cycle through all the colours), it should then be available on your controller to set up.

Thanks kidstypike. I've done this before many times and I know it either cycles through the colors (under some circumstances at least) or, as you say, flashes red rapidly. However, pressing and holding the button on the receiver NEVER results in the rapid red flashing as it used to! Unplugging, pressing the button whilst plugging back in also only gets me a slow flash in red. That's all that is happening no matter what I try.

I'm stumped and frustrated.

SNazz

aubuti
2014-12-03, 09:26
At this point I would try setting up the SB Receiver using the Net::UDAP tool (see http://forums.slimdevices.com/showthread.php?57861-Net-UDAP-SqueezeBox-Receiver-configuration-tool). I find it great for taking a lot of the randomness out of the usual SBR setup process.

OneYet
2015-04-18, 13:34
Found this on another site.
Helped me.

Dear all
After going trough a lot of forums and contacting the Locitech Support I found a solution for the problem.

SOLUTON: Do not only recet the receiver.
Reset the Controler (Settings / Advanced / Restore Factory Settings) AND the receiver (press red blinking button until start blinking red quickly) at the same time.

Then it worked on my side.

Does it help?
Lukesch

fcm4711
2015-04-18, 23:58
Hi there

I am sure you already have seen this: http://wiki.slimdevices.com/index.php/SBR_front_button_and_LED

The 'certain circumstances' you mentioned is pressing and holding the button while plugging power in. That is a factory test mode btw.

I wonder if for some reason the button stopped working mechanically / electrically. Do you have an multimeter? If yes, you could open the Receiver and check whether the button still works as expected.

Felix

HAL2001
2017-04-02, 01:59
Sorry to revive an old thread but this is exactly the problem I have. Did this ever get solved? I think I tried everything but I never get the fast blinking light followed up by a slow blinking light. And another thing. How about the two lights on the BACK of the receiver on the network connection. Should they blink? They don't do anything in my case. Does this mean my receiver is broken?

w3wilkes
2017-04-02, 08:48
Is your receiver LAN attached or wireless? How long did you hold the front button depressed to get a reset? I would think you'd get a purple light if it was toast. Are you running the current firmware 77?

Mnyb
2017-04-03, 00:23
If its blinking red slowly it expects to be setup by you with your controller....
It makes an adhoc connection directly to the reciever so get close to it.

Is there anything conected on the lan port ? Your not using homeplugs or anything ? Then i sugest conecting directly to a switch or router if intend to use ethernet it wont be able to setup that unless its conected

ramitche
2017-04-09, 19:26
Sorry to revive an old thread but this is exactly the problem I have. Did this ever get solved? I think I tried everything but I never get the fast blinking light followed up by a slow blinking light. And another thing. How about the two lights on the BACK of the receiver on the network connection. Should they blink? They don't do anything in my case. Does this mean my receiver is broken?

Did you get this to work? After years of flawless performance, I'm experiencing this too... pressing the button never goes to fast blink red. Seems dead.

callesoroe
2017-04-10, 02:46
Did you get this to work? After years of flawless performance, I'm experiencing this too... pressing the button never goes to fast blink red. Seems dead.

may be power supply

Mnyb
2017-04-10, 04:01
Did you get this to work? After years of flawless performance, I'm experiencing this too... pressing the button never goes to fast blink red. Seems dead.

>20 seconds ?

ramitche
2017-04-10, 18:06
>20 seconds ?

Even tried > 60 seconds.. same ... just a slow red blink.

Does anyone know if there's someone that can troubleshoot and/or service these devices? I really don't want to move away from this technology unless I really have to.

w3wilkes
2017-04-12, 15:58
You could always build a new PI player.

ramitche
2017-04-17, 20:18
[UPDATE]

So, in the end, that didn't work... i picked up a new power supply and it works reliably now. I guess the old PS got fried somehow. I did see a red light emanating from the digital audio port on the back of the SB Player, so i thought the PS was ok, but obviously it was not delivering enough power.

I now have a working SB Duet Player.