PDA

View Full Version : Touch Skin



Dan Speirs
2004-12-05, 11:12
same... win2k pro
--- Iain Shaw <iain (AT) nqube (DOT) com> wrote:

> getting this is in 5.4.0 and have been getting it
> since I first tried
> the Touch skin. Running SlimServer on Win 2K Server
>
> Dan Speirs wrote:
> > I really like the simplicity of the Touch skin
> even
> > tough I don't use an actual touch screen. I have
> > noticed, though, that when I am building a
> playlist
> > from either "browse by album" or "browse by
> artist"
> > and I pick "add" next to an album or an artist
> that is
> > adds the selection then goes to browse by genre.
> > Shouldn't this just add the selection and then go
> back
> > to the way you were browsing instead or browse by
> > genre?
> >
> > Anyone else able to replicate this?
> >
> > Dan
> >
> >
> >
> > __________________________________
> > Do you Yahoo!?
> > The all-new My Yahoo! - What will yours do?
> > http://my.yahoo.com
>
>

Ben Klaas
2004-12-05, 15:08
side discussion-- is anyone actually using a touchscreen with this skin?
I've often felt that the ideal streaming music player to my stereo would
involve a small touchscreen using "touchable" cover art to manage
playlists. Just curious if anyone has done this successfully yet...

#!/ben

Dan Speirs wrote:

>same... win2k pro
>--- Iain Shaw <iain (AT) nqube (DOT) com> wrote:
>
>
>
>>getting this is in 5.4.0 and have been getting it
>>since I first tried
>>the Touch skin. Running SlimServer on Win 2K Server
>>
>>Dan Speirs wrote:
>>
>>
>>>I really like the simplicity of the Touch skin
>>>
>>>
>>even
>>
>>
>>>tough I don't use an actual touch screen. I have
>>>noticed, though, that when I am building a
>>>
>>>
>>playlist
>>
>>
>>>from either "browse by album" or "browse by
>>>
>>>
>>artist"
>>
>>
>>>and I pick "add" next to an album or an artist
>>>
>>>
>>that is
>>
>>
>>>adds the selection then goes to browse by genre.
>>>Shouldn't this just add the selection and then go
>>>
>>>
>>back
>>
>>
>>>to the way you were browsing instead or browse by
>>>genre?
>>>
>>>Anyone else able to replicate this?
>>>
>>>Dan
>>>
>>>
>>>
>>>__________________________________
>>>Do you Yahoo!?
>>>The all-new My Yahoo! - What will yours do?
>>>http://my.yahoo.com
>>>
>>>
>>

Kevin Hawkins
2004-12-06, 11:07
Ben Klaas wrote:

> side discussion-- is anyone actually using a touchscreen with this
> skin? I've often felt that the ideal streaming music player to my
> stereo would involve a small touchscreen using "touchable" cover art
> to manage playlists. Just curious if anyone has done this successfully
> yet...
>
I just tried this - strangely enough it works OK on the SlimServer
machine but when I click say 'Artist' on a remote machine it takes the
SlimServer down (application not service) . Is there really anything
different between a remote client and local one here ? All the displays
blank but slim.exe is still running but taking 0% cpu and a static
memory profile. Fishbone works ok remotely.

As an aside how do I elegantly exit SlimServer now having lost control
of it but it is still resident ? I dont want to just kill the
application as it might damage the DB . I have previously always done
this via an XP shutdown that seems to manage to quit slim.exe
(eventually) after saying it cant for awhile. I dont want SlimServer to
ever have to rebuild my database ;-). Is 'end process' the same
mechanism that Windows shutdown and the installers use ?

K