PDA

View Full Version : recurring problem: connection lost, yellow light

Fransie
2014-11-15, 04:58
Hi!

I have been using my Squeezebox Duet for many years now, but recently it is having problems. The controller will report that it can not connect to my computer, the light on the player is yellow. I am only able to resolve the problem doing a factory reset, during which I have to push the button on the player until it blinks red. Then I can use the system for one or two days until the problem occurs again. I am running version 7.7.3 of the Logitech Media Server. I am quite certain my WiFi router is not the problem, I have just replaced it with an advanced new model and that did not do anything noticable with respect to the network conncection problem.

I hope someone can help me. Performing the factory reset is time consuming and too much to ask from my wife and children, who also like to use the squeezebox.

Regards,
Frans

w3wilkes
2014-11-15, 21:59
Are you saying that you had the same problem before you changed out your router for this new "advanced new model"? Have you made sure you don't have interference from a neighbor on the same channel you're currently on. I find that my duets work best when I have the channel set to a specific channel rather than have the router in automatic mode. Is your LMS also wireless? Wireless LMS is not recommended.

I do have one installation with a wireless LMS. I have the wireless LMS running on a 300Mb 5Ghz channel and a couple of duets. The duets are only capable of running on 2.4Ghz channels so I don't have a issue.

Swiftie
2014-11-16, 00:38
Doing a factory reset is a bit drastic. Does turning it off/on not fix the problem (albeit temporarily)?

I don't think there is a switch, but briefly unplugging the power cable does the job. Turn your amplifier off (or down to zero volume) before doing this as you'd probably get an unpleasant click through your speakers.

Is your duet connected via WiFi or Ethernet (cable)?

Fransie