PDA

View Full Version : SqueezePlay skips to next track mid-track



adhawkins
2014-10-21, 02:22
Hi all,

Recently I've been finding that SqueezePlay will skip to the next track in a
playlist mid-way through a track. The SqueezePlay is accessing the server
remotely over the Internet if that's relevant.

What debug options should I initially enable to try to work out why this is
happening?

Server is 7.8.1~1413646184, running on Debian.

Thanks in advance for any advice and assistance you can offer.

Cheers

Andy

adhawkins
2014-10-24, 03:28
Hi,

Anyone got any ideas on this?

Cheers

Andy

cparker
2014-10-28, 13:26
Only thing I can think of is maybe the file is corrupt? When it jumps have you tried replaying the same file and seeing if it does it again?

I would debug under Advanced Logging using the player.xxxx options as a starter.

adhawkins
2014-10-31, 02:27
Only thing I can think of is maybe the file is corrupt? When it jumps have you tried replaying the same file and seeing if it does it again?

I would debug under Advanced Logging using the player.xxxx options as a starter.
Pretty much all of my music is stored as FLAC, so I'll run a test over all of it to see if that picks up any problems.

Thanks for the pointer for which debug info to enable, I've set the following to 'Debug' so that I can take a look should it happen again.

player.source
player.streaming
player.streaming.direct
player.streaming.remote

These seem to be generating an awful lot of data, I'll have to be careful as regards disk space I think! Any of the others I should also enable?

I have a suspicion it's been occurring when there's been network connectivity issues, but I would expect Squeezeplay to download most (if not all) of the track before it starts playing. Is this a likely cause?

Thanks again

Andy

adhawkins
2014-10-31, 03:59
Ok, I've just had it happen again. I've taken an extract of the relevant portions of server.log and attached them here.

Does that give any clue?

Thanks

Andy

Viking
2014-11-13, 19:47
Might try my fix...

http://forums.slimdevices.com/showthread.php?99940-My-solution-for-rebuffering-dropping-connection-and-randomly-skipping-to-next-song

adhawkins
2014-11-14, 02:11
Thanks for the response. However, my problems are on a remote instance of Squeezeplay, connected via a wired network to the Internet, and then to my server at home.

There's no wireless involved in the chain at all.

I'm starting to suspect that it's down to occasional network glitches. It seems possible that if the player disconnects and then reconnects it then skips to the next track in the playlist.

Any suggestions as to what logging to enable to prove this theory? Is it something that needs fixing in the client (i.e. Squeezeplay in this instance) or is this something controlled by the server when it sees a client re-connecting while playing?

Cheers

Andy

Mnyb
2014-11-16, 23:10
Is your upload bandwith sufficient ? Getting the same trouble with mp3 files ?

adhawkins
2014-11-17, 06:37
Hi,

Upload is something like 10 MBits/second. At any rate, the bitrate to this particular player is limited to 192 kBits/sec using the player settings.

Thanks for the suggestion though.

Andy

Deaf Cat
2014-11-17, 12:44
I had a similar problem a while back, and have not found a definite answer as of yet, though listening/testing time is somewhat limited.

What seemed to make a big difference was swapping LMS over, from an old XP celeron 1.2, to a dedicated LMS win8 pentium D machine, (wired touch, wireless SB2), however, every now and then (not often) I do get a skip to the next track.

I was thinking it was a processing glitch, the 1.2 was having a bit of trouble, and the fresh more powerful D managed much better...
(my network card in the D does however need unplugging and re-plugging to register on the network, 50% of the time when turning on the machine, it may well have smaller hick ups when on too causing the skips..?)

The old win98 laptop wired (softsqueeze) in the garage does skip rather a lot in comparison to the SB2 and touch.

:confused:

adhawkins
2014-11-17, 12:56
I don't think it's power of the server in my case. It's a VM running on an i5, so should have plenty of poke to hand LMS I'd have thought.

All evidence does suggest it's some kind of network issue. Wish the client (or server) could be changed to retry when short glitches occur, it'd be a lot more 'friendly' to do that than just to skip to the next track.

Andy

Deaf Cat
2014-11-22, 14:56
Yes, I would have thought an i5 should have no problem what so ever.

Makes me think that if everything in the network has a little problem here and a little problem there, all the little imperfections may well add up to a network glitch and cause a skip...

I set my headless LMS pentium D up over my network, and it has been noticeably more responsive since I have changed the network cable from cat5 to cat5e... :-o
I did not expect such a noticeable improvement in speed.:cool:

adhawkins
2014-11-24, 13:05
Personally, I'd rather a network glitch result in a pause or something like that rather than skipping to the next song.

I wonder if there's any way that this could be arranged?

Andy