PDA

View Full Version : Softsqueeze sync problems with 1.13



Russell Mulcahy
2004-12-03, 13:14
I just checked - the hardware box definitely lags! I am playing 128 and 192
MP3s over an 11b wireless network. I do get the occasional squeezebox reboot
(after several hours) that some others have reported but otherwise the
network seems fine. Signal strength is reported (from the server page for
the hardware box) as 43% at the moment. The softsqueeze is running on the
same machine as slimserver.

This used to work fine! What's the best diagnostic here?

Russell.


-----Original Message-----
From: discuss-bounces (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com
[mailto:discuss-bounces (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com] On Behalf Of Richard Titmuss
Sent: 03 December 2004 14:20
To: Slim Devices Discussion
Subject: [slim] Softsqueeze sync problems with 1.13

Russell,

That's strange, I have never heard of a squeezebox lagging behind
softsqueeze. Is your network connection between the squeezebox and
slimserver ok? What format of music are you listening to? When sync does not
work it's usually the other way around.

I will looking into why the slimserver version is being reported wrongly,
but don't worry that's just a cosmetic issue. In fact I will soon be
removing that configuration option as it is not required with the more
recent slimserver versions.

Regards,
Richard



Russell Mulcahy wrote:

>Hi,
>
>I used to sync between a squeezebox and softsqueeze (on the server)
>perfectly well but now the hardware box lags by a few seconds. Both
>players are otherwise playing fine.
>
>I think this started with Softsqueeze 1.13 but I am not quite sure. I
>am on the latest nightly of slimserver (on an XP Pro machine) and Java
1.5.0-rc.
>Audio is on "Primary .."
>
>I *have* noticed that the Slimserver version picked up by SS is always 5.3.
>Changing this to 5.4 seems to make no difference, though. The
>slimserver settings (http://localhost:9000/) page reports 5.4 as expected.
>
>Any ideas, anyone?
>
>

rtitmuss
2004-12-09, 13:53
Russell,

You could try enabling d_sync or d_source in the slimserver debugging
options. The best diagnostic is an ethereal trace captured on the server
that includes the packets to both Softsqueeze and the squeezebox - but I
don't think that will work on XP with slimserver and softsqueeze on the
same machine.

If you use an older version of softsqueeze does it work correctly?

Regards,
Richard


Russell Mulcahy wrote:

>I just checked - the hardware box definitely lags! I am playing 128 and 192
>MP3s over an 11b wireless network. I do get the occasional squeezebox reboot
>(after several hours) that some others have reported but otherwise the
>network seems fine. Signal strength is reported (from the server page for
>the hardware box) as 43% at the moment. The softsqueeze is running on the
>same machine as slimserver.
>
>This used to work fine! What's the best diagnostic here?
>
>Russell.
>
>
>-----Original Message-----
>From: discuss-bounces (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com
>[mailto:discuss-bounces (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com] On Behalf Of Richard Titmuss
>Sent: 03 December 2004 14:20
>To: Slim Devices Discussion
>Subject: [slim] Softsqueeze sync problems with 1.13
>
>Russell,
>
>That's strange, I have never heard of a squeezebox lagging behind
>softsqueeze. Is your network connection between the squeezebox and
>slimserver ok? What format of music are you listening to? When sync does not
>work it's usually the other way around.
>
>I will looking into why the slimserver version is being reported wrongly,
>but don't worry that's just a cosmetic issue. In fact I will soon be
>removing that configuration option as it is not required with the more
>recent slimserver versions.
>
>Regards,
>Richard
>
>
>
>Russell Mulcahy wrote:
>
>
>
>>Hi,
>>
>>I used to sync between a squeezebox and softsqueeze (on the server)
>>perfectly well but now the hardware box lags by a few seconds. Both
>>players are otherwise playing fine.
>>
>>I think this started with Softsqueeze 1.13 but I am not quite sure. I
>>am on the latest nightly of slimserver (on an XP Pro machine) and Java
>>
>>
>1.5.0-rc.
>
>
>>Audio is on "Primary .."
>>
>>I *have* noticed that the Slimserver version picked up by SS is always 5.3.
>>Changing this to 5.4 seems to make no difference, though. The
>>slimserver settings (http://localhost:9000/) page reports 5.4 as expected.
>>
>>Any ideas, anyone?
>>
>>