Collapse
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • GeeJay
    • May 2007

Taking the plunge: Need advice on homemade SB

I am not a techie, and don't have even rudimentary programming skills. Getting my existing SB ecosystem to work the way I wanted it to took me several years. Networking basics were a challenge, as well as troubleshooting other issues as they came up. I figured them out, though, so I'm not a complete technical idiot.

I introduce myself that way so when seeking advice, you understand why I don't understand most of the threads in the various developer forums dealing with the latest designs folks are experimenting with these days. I have a need, however, and am willing to invest a little time since this isn't an urgent need.

I'm looking to add a SB to my study. I'd be happy with a Radio-like device, although I don't need the screen. I will likely use small amplified speakers (haven't settled on those yet, so I could use advice there as well), and they can be wired or wireless.

I need the device to be both WiFi and Ethernet capable. I have had connectivity issues in the past with this particular room, variously trying both power line and wifi without consistent success. I anticipate the need to experiment with both before I settle on one.

I mainly stream from my local library, although on occasion I'll use one of the free services like Pandora. Sync is very important to me, as I frequently play the same music on multiple devices.

Hope I covered all the important stuff. Any advice on what I should do would be much appreciated.
    I’m down to one SB Touch and a Raspberry Pi. Mac Mini as a server (OS X Catalina). iPeng is my controller of choice. LMS 7.9.4. Erland’s plug ins are what keep me in the ecosystem.
  • SlimChances
    • Apr 2005

Originally posted by GeeJay