PDA

View Full Version : Mobile apps not connecting to LMS



JonWill
2014-07-28, 13:36
Today none of my mobile apps on my Samsung galaxy note 10.1 2014 edition can connect to lms... They have been working fine up until now... And all the same apps work on my HTC one.

The error message is:

Failed to connect to (ip address) (port 9000) after 6000MS: isconnected failed :EHOSTUNREACH (no route to host)

I am using orange squeeze (and preview), squeeze commander and the logitech app.

Any thoughts?

Jon

garym
2014-07-28, 13:46
Today none of my mobile apps on my Samsung galaxy note 10.1 2014 edition can connect to lms... They have been working fine up until now... And all the same apps work on my HTC one.

The error message is:

Failed to connect to (ip address) (port 9000) after 6000MS: isconnected failed :EHOSTUNREACH (no route to host)

I am using orange squeeze (and preview), squeeze commander and the logitech app.

Any thoughts?

Jon


probably not this, but I have numerous times been caught by the fact that I have my wifi turned off on my iphone and forget this when back home (and then iPeng won't connect to LMS, etc.). Obviously, in my case, turning wifi back on solves my problem.

JonWill
2014-07-28, 13:48
probably not this, but I have numerous times been caught by the fact that I have my wifi turned off on my iphone and forget this when back home (and then iPeng won't connect to LMS, etc.). Obviously, in my case, turning wifi back on solves my problem.

Done that too... But not on this occasion... Am connected to the correct wifi access point!

Thanks, though!

garym
2014-07-28, 13:49
Done that too... But not on this occasion... Am connected to the correct wifi access point!

Thanks, though!

in your situation, my next step would be to turn off computer/nas running LMS, then unplug, then replug router. Then when fully started, restart computer running LMS. Could be a simple LAN hiccup.

pippin
2014-07-28, 13:52
No route means you are either not on the same network, the server is not on the network or something's wrong with the router.
Try restarting the router.
Does your router have a guest network?

JonWill
2014-07-28, 13:53
in your situation, my next step would be to turn off computer/nas running LMS, then unplug, then replug router. Then when fully started, restart computer running LMS. Could be a simple LAN hiccup.
I'll reboot it in the morning... Too many people are listening to squeezeboxes at the moment! (that's the odd thing - all other wireless devices seem to be connecting to lms OK... And I have rebooted the tablet...)

JonWill
2014-07-28, 13:54
No route means you are either not on the same network, the server is not on the network or something's wrong with the router.
Try restarting the router.
Does your router have a guest network?

I've restarted the router... Not sure about the guest network - it's not something I've ever used...

get.amped
2014-07-28, 14:04
I'll reboot it in the morning... Too many people are listening to squeezeboxes at the moment! (that's the odd thing - all other wireless devices seem to be connecting to lms OK... And I have rebooted the tablet...)

What brand/model router/wap are you connecting to?

Does it function as the DHCP server?

Does it let you see a list of leases/clients?

Other than connecting to LMS, you can access other network resources (like the Internet) from the tablet?

Has the LMS computer's IP changed (should be static)?

I've seen some strange DHCP behavior depending on the device used for wireless. At a friend's house in the country, there's no cable service, so he uses a Verizon 4G router with wireless. But Verizon has crippled this device and limited it to using only 10 IP addresses (the previous device was limited to 5!!). Which is not a lot for a family of four with phones, laptops and tablets, not to mention their friends' devices. So the first ones to connect after it starts up work and anything else is out of luck. I don't understand why Verizon would impose this limitation. You would think they would want as many users on it as possible to eat up the data plan as fast as possible so as to incur those hefty overage charges.

JonWill
2014-07-28, 14:11
What brand/model router/wap are you connecting to?

Does it function as the DHCP server?

Does it let you see a list of leases/clients?

Other than connecting to LMS, you can access other network resources (like the Internet) from the tablet?

Has the LMS computer's IP changed (should be static)?

I've seen some strange DHCP behavior depending on the device used for wireless. At a friend's house in the country, there's no cable service, so he uses a Verizon 4G router with wireless. But Verizon has crippled this device and limited it to using only 10 IP addresses (the previous device was limited to 5!!). Which is not a lot for a family of four with phones, laptops and tablets, not to mention their friends' devices. So the first ones to connect after it starts up work and anything else is out of luck. I don't understand why Verizon would impose this limitation. You would think they would want as many users on it as possible to eat up the data plan as fast as possible so as to incur those hefty overage charges.

I can only answer a few of these questions...

It is a BT home hub 5, and I believe it acts as the dhcp server. I will be able to see a list of clients when I fire up my PC in the morning... But I don't believe there is a limit to the number of client devices. And lms's ip address is static.

I'll look at the other issues in the morning!

Thanks , all.

JonWill
2014-07-28, 14:14
I can only answer a few of these questions...

It is a BT home hub 5, and I believe it acts as the dhcp server. I will be able to see a list of clients when I fire up my PC in the morning... But I don't believe there is a limit to the number of client devices. And lms's ip address is static.

I'll look at the other issues in the morning!

Thanks , all.

Oh, and I can connect to the internet through my tablet...

pippin
2014-07-28, 14:16
That would be what a guest mode does.
Can you open the server's web interface?

JonWill
2014-07-28, 14:19
That would be what a guest mode does.
Can you open the server's web interface?
Hmm... No I can't. How could I have connected to a guest network?

pippin
2014-07-28, 15:13
I don't know you usually configure this on the router.
The server is running and you can use it, right?

JonWill
2014-07-29, 07:34
Rather annoyingly everything seems to be working fine today. My LMS server hibernated overnight, so stopping and starting LMS may have helped - but I struggle to understand why all bar one device were connecting.

Ho Hum. It'll probably happen again soon ...

Thanks for all your help.

Jon