PDA

View Full Version : Recommend speakers/amp to go with Pi + Wolfson?

Zoltan
2014-06-11, 15:37
For fun as much as anything, I have recently added a Wolfson card and a wi-fi dongle to my Raspberry Pi and got it working as a player.

Now I'm wondering about using it as the basis of a compact system in my workshop (about a 10' x 14' space). I don't want to spend too much money on it, but I don't want it to sound crap. I'm thinking 150 max because that would roughly make the whole system cost about what I was happy to pay for the Boom.

I'm intrigued by these class T amps that you see these days for not very much money and which sometimes get good reviews. What speakers though? I wondered about something like the Wharfedale Diamonds? Would they be sensitive enough?

The other option is active speakers but I have no experience of these and a lot of them are advertised as 'studio monitors'; as I understand, that has some implications for how they sound and I don't know if they would be suitable in my room.

I'm not after huge volume or thumping bass, just something that sounds reasonably balanced over a wide variety of music (rock, classical, jazz, folk, all sorts really).

I'd be grateful for any suggestions, even negative ones as to what doesn't work so well.

yeomanspc
2014-06-11, 18:38
Good question.
I've a couple of areas with [Logitech] active speakers, but I tend to get a hum from these. It's ok in the workshop, but not in the bedroom. I have tried a class T amp hooked into some JBL Control 1 speakers in the Kitchen and it's ok (not 'hifi' but adequate) - would certainly do in a workshop. I also have in one room a wall mount amplifier (from Keene Electronics [uk]) that fits inside a standard double light switch recess box and this works reasonably well.

I think the HiFiBerry team are coming out with a small amp (2x25w) that connects straight to a Pi which might eliminate the need for another box