PDA

View Full Version : flac and slimp3 devices



John L Fjellstad
2004-11-30, 20:34
I tried to get my old slimp3 device to play a flac file, but it fails.
The error message I got is:
Problem: Can't Open File for:
<Flac Tag for file>

Enabling logging for d_format and d_stream, I see this:
004-11-30 19:29:41.1189 00:04:20:01:03:9f 1101871781.11876 gotAck for
seq: 8033 2004-11-30 19:29:41.1203 ack: wptr:23800, rptr:28819,
seq:8033, 2004-11-30 19:29:41.1213 bytesinflight:0 fullness:121034
2004-11-30 19:29:41.1238 00:04:20:01:03:9f 1101871781.12364 sending
stream, seq = 8034 len = 1400 wptr = 23800 state=play inflight=
2004-11-30 19:29:41.1258 00:04:20:01:03:9f 1101871781.12567 gotAck for
seq: 8033 2004-11-30 19:29:41.1270 ack: wptr:23800, rptr:28819,
seq:8033, 2004-11-30 19:29:41.1280 bytesinflight:1400 fullness:123834
2004-11-30 19:29:41.1290 ***Unexpected packet acked: 8033, was expecting
8034
2004-11-30 19:29:41.1310 00:04:20:01:03:9f 1101871781.13095 gotAck for
seq: 8033 2004-11-30 19:29:41.1323 ack: wptr:23800, rptr:28819,
seq:8033, 2004-11-30 19:29:41.1333 bytesinflight:1400 fullness:123834
2004-11-30 19:29:41.1343 ***Unexpected packet acked: 8033, was expecting
8034
2004-11-30 19:29:41.1361 00:04:20:01:03:9f 1101871781.13607 gotAck for
seq: 8033 2004-11-30 19:29:41.1375 ack: wptr:23800, rptr:28819,
seq:8033, 2004-11-30 19:29:41.1385 bytesinflight:1400 fullness:123834
2004-11-30 19:29:41.1395 ***Unexpected packet acked: 8033, was expecting
8034

Now, I also have a new squeezebox, and it has no problems playing the
flac file, so I'm guessing the problem is not the file (also tried with
alsaplayer on Linux without problems). I just updated the firmware on
the slimp3 to the latest firmware in the 5.4.0 slimserver, but that
didn't help. Doesn't slimp3 support flac? I thought flac is supported
by converting to pcm on-the-fly?

--
John L. Fjellstad
web: http://www.fjellstad.org/ Quis custodiet ipsos custodes

-----BEGIN PGP SIGNATURE-----
Version: GnuPG v1.2.4 (GNU/Linux)

iEYEARECAAYFAkGtO8AACgkQkz0vhQtHHRiUEgCgvCc5WFvSAE JJpYhtc1+FIS1k
wEoAn0aimo/07HvROdnviZKEoCWEGnHr
=ltRD
-----END PGP SIGNATURE-----

kdf
2004-11-30, 21:21
Quoting John L Fjellstad <john-slimlist (AT) fjellstad (DOT) org>:

> I tried to get my old slimp3 device to play a flac file, but it fails.
> The error message I got is:
> Problem: Can't Open File for:
> <Flac Tag for file>
>
> Enabling logging for d_format and d_stream, I see this:

--d_source is much more useful in cases like this.

>
> Now, I also have a new squeezebox, and it has no problems playing the
> flac file, so I'm guessing the problem is not the file (also tried with
> alsaplayer on Linux without problems). I just updated the firmware on
> the slimp3 to the latest firmware in the 5.4.0 slimserver, but that
> didn't help. Doesn't slimp3 support flac? I thought flac is supported
> by converting to pcm on-the-fly?

it does, but slimp3 does NOT support PCM. Only squeezebox is capable of that.
To play FALX on slimp3, you need LAME. if you look in the player settings,
under audio, you will see Bitrate Limiting (defaults to 320 kbps on slimp3)
Read that description and it will tell you if lthe server has found LAME or
not. if not, there is a link at the end of the description to help you find
lame. You will need to download the binary to match your OS, then save it
either in the same directory as slimserver.pl, slim.exe or in your systems PATH
environment. Unfortunately, LAME cannot be included due to licensing issues.

Good Luck!
-kdf

John L Fjellstad
2004-12-01, 09:29
On Tue, Nov 30, 2004 at 08:21:10PM -0800, kdf wrote:

> it does, but slimp3 does NOT support PCM. Only squeezebox is capable of that.
> To play FALX on slimp3, you need LAME. if you look in the player settings,
> under audio, you will see Bitrate Limiting (defaults to 320 kbps on slimp3)
> Read that description and it will tell you if lthe server has found LAME or
> not. if not, there is a link at the end of the description to help you find
> lame. You will need to download the binary to match your OS, then save it
> either in the same directory as slimserver.pl, slim.exe or in your systems PATH
> environment. Unfortunately, LAME cannot be included due to licensing issues.

Thanks. That fixed it (I actually had LAME running on my workstation,
but I kept missing the fact that I didn't have it installed on my server
where the slimserver is...)

--
John L. Fjellstad
web: http://www.fjellstad.org/ Quis custodiet ipsos custodes

Beau
2005-05-10, 01:02
Sorry - certainly a dumb question but having just rebuilt my music server I've completely forgotten exactly what bits I need installed so that I can play FLAC files on my slimp3.

I've downloaded lame-3.96.1.tar.gz to the folder where slim.exe and slimserver.pl are but still no joy.

Do I need flac.exe installed somewhere on the music server as well?

TIA
Beau

mherger
2005-05-10, 01:09
> I've downloaded lame-3.96.1.tar.gz to the folder where slim.exe and
> slimserver.pl are but still no joy.

Move it to the slimserver's Bin folder (or the appropriate sub folder)
instead

> Do I need flac.exe installed somewhere on the music server as well?

No, it should be installed with slimserver (in the folder where you should
put lame.exe).

--

Michael

-----------------------------------------------------------
Help translate SlimServer by using the
StringEditor Plugin (http://www.herger.net/slim/)

Steve Bernard, Jr
2005-05-10, 06:17
On 5/10/05, Michael Herger <slim (AT) herger (DOT) net> wrote:
> > I've downloaded lame-3.96.1.tar.gz to the folder where slim.exe and
> > slimserver.pl are but still no joy.
>
> Move it to the slimserver's Bin folder (or the appropriate sub folder)
> instead

Actually, lame-3.96.1.tar.gz doesn't sound like it'll do you much good
in that folder, either. You need lame.exe. If lame.exe is inside
that tar.gz, extract it and put it in Bin/MSWin32-x86-multi-thread.
If, as I suspect, you've got a Linux source distro of lame, you'll
need to look around and make sure you've got a native Windows version
with lame.exe.

(You're talking about slim.exe and flac.exe, so I'm just assuming
you're talking about Windows here. If you're running something else,
there's a whole mess of other stuff you need to do)

-Steve

Beau
2005-05-16, 05:11
Thanks Steve - you were absolutely correct! All sorted now.