PDA

View Full Version : another broken duet...

davemal
2014-05-25, 17:23
Hi,

I am pretty new to the Duet. I have had a SB3 and Boom for a few years and recently borrowed a Duet from a mate who bought one after seeing my setup and never installed it as he is not too techie... you know the type.

Anyway it is a few years old and had never been opened when I got it. I got the guide, installed it and got it working a few weeks ago. In that time it used it at least 10 times including once when it was running for the whole day. Am using iPeng as the remote. All was good.

I went to use it yesterday but couldnt get it to power on (in Ipeng). The LED was stuck on blue from memory... After a few hours of running around, resets, checking and double checking, I found that;

- with a factory reset on the Duet receiver, I could 'mostly' get it to connect to the wired network. It would appear as a player in iPeng and the controller and was able get it to connect to SBServer. I could also get it to 'play' though there was no audio output.
- there is activity at the ethernet port (visual, not stats)
- there is no output via the analogue terminals though I get a 'pop' if I connect it while the amp is on
- my DAC shows 'no signal' when connected via optical.
- focused on wired. Tried wireless once but was not able to get it to work either.
- sooner or later, I would lose the device from iPeng/controller and would have to reset.
- updated the controller but it did not push to the receiver so assume it was already up to date, esp as it has been running a while already.

There seems to be a general stability problem with the device from a network perspective and also perhaps audio output when it does actually work.

I am now at a loss as to whats next. As the device is a loaner, I am feeling pretty uncomfortable.

Is there a next step ?