PDA

View Full Version : track volume levels - auto level?

MOMENTUM
2014-03-25, 05:40
Hello,
I've been using 2 Duet system for about 6 years and love them.
One thing I have always wanted to looking into is if their is a way to auto level various audio tracks.
each flac album has it own dynamic volume, and when going from older albums to newer the tracks the vol is an annoying issue to have to always adjust.
has anyone ever found a way..perhaps an app.. to auto level the volume?
thanks

- - - mo

jimbobvfr400
2014-03-25, 05:48
If your files have replay gain tags in them then LMS will do exactly what you want, with various different options in the settings relating to gain.

I believe either DBPoweramp or Foobar2000 can help with tagging the files.

Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk

MOMENTUM
2014-03-25, 06:36
ok..thx
so in dbpoweramp I can select my entire library to scan and only add track gain to all files without effecting anything else?
Also all files are flac.
Thx

aspendl828
2014-03-25, 06:54
Be very careful that when you do this you are creating replay gain TAGS as opposed to changing the actual audio in the file.

I've never done this retrospectively in dbPoweramp (although all new rips are tagged appropriately) but when tagging already ripped tracks in Media Monkey you can do both.

Make sure you only add Replay Gain tags!!

garym
2014-03-25, 13:39
ok..thx
so in dbpoweramp I can select my entire library to scan and only add track gain to all files without effecting anything else?
Also all files are flac.
Thx

yes, you "convert to" the REPLAY GAIN DSP in dbpa (*not* ReplayGain (Apply)). This will not touch the FLAC files or tags and will only *add* RG tags to your FLAC files (album and track). One can also do this within foobar2000. In either case, you are not modifying the audio, only adding RG tags.

BJW
2014-03-25, 13:57