PDA

View Full Version : Boom bust



ModelCitizen
2014-01-04, 05:06
Hello all...

I'm pretty sure that a recent power cut has killed my Boom's power supply. Does anyone know how I can best get a replacement?

Thanks

toby10
2014-01-04, 06:43
http://www.amazon.com/s/ref=nb_sb_noss?url=search-alias%3Delectronics&field-keywords=squeezebox%20radio%20ac%20adapter#/ref=nb_sb_noss?url=search-alias%3Delectronics&field-keywords=squeezebox+boom+ac+adapter&rh=n%3A172282%2Ck%3Asqueezebox+boom+ac+adapter

ModelCitizen
2014-01-04, 08:18
Thanks for this Toby. It didn't occur to me that direct replacements might be sold via Amazon!

I'm in the UK so got this:

http://www.amazon.co.uk/s/ref=nb_sb_noss?url=search-alias%3Daps&field-keywords=squeezebox%20boom%20power%20supply

The one honest looking review is quite negative. But the main thing i've noticed is that my original Boom power supply is 18 volt whereas the replacements are 12v. I'm a bit perplexed by this. It is possible my Boom was provided for the beta test which might have something to do with it.

I'm not too sure what to do now.

Pascal Hibon
2014-01-04, 08:35
Thanks for this Toby. It didn't occur to me that direct replacements might be sold via Amazon!

I'm in the UK so got this:

http://www.amazon.co.uk/s/ref=nb_sb_noss?url=search-alias%3Daps&field-keywords=squeezebox%20boom%20power%20supply

The one honest looking review is quite negative. But the main thing i've noticed is that my original Boom power supply is 18 volt whereas the replacements are 12v. I'm a bit perplexed by this. It is possible my Boom was provided for the beta test which might have something to do with it.

I'm not too sure what to do now.

Just checked my Boom. Both the label on the Boom and the original power supply say 12 volts / 2,5 amps.
The power supply listed on Amazon has only 1,5 amps. I would not use that one.

Alternatively, this one should be ok:
http://be.mouser.com/ProductDetail/Mean-Well/MES30B-3P1J/?qs=sGAEpiMZZMsPs3th5F8koJemULuvcPkzk%2fG4UjLG8qI% 3d
Mouser is great but the shipping costs are quite high for orders below 65 Euro.

bpa
2014-01-04, 08:49
But the main thing i've noticed is that my original Boom power supply is 18 volt whereas the replacements are 12v. I'm a bit perplexed by this. It is possible my Boom was provided for the beta test which might have something to do with it.

Beta test Boom PSU were a higher voltage than production models. IIRC the higher volatage will also make display run a bit warm.

I noticed one of the PSU on the Amazon site said PSU will suit all SB players: Boom, Touch and Radio - this isn't true - Boom will not run on 5V.

ModelCitizen
2014-01-05, 05:28
Hi BPA. Does that mean the beta Booms will not run on a 12v supply?

Btw. Not mentioned this for a few years so probably time I did again.... thanks for your BBC iPlayer Extra plugin. I still use it almost every day. :-)

bpa
2014-01-05, 05:54
Hi BPA. Does that mean the beta Booms will not run on a 12v supply?

Btw. Not mentioned this for a few years so probably time I did again.... thanks for your BBC iPlayer Extra plugin. I still use it almost every day. :-)

Going from memory - all Booms will work on 12V. Boom voltage reg will drop higher PSU voltage down to required voltage but this results in heat. I can't remember if any reason was given why beta PSUs were 18V.
I don't think there was a change in size of barrel connector between PSUs.

PS. The BBC "category" feeds used by the Extra plugin are no longer documented and I think some are broken but I hope BBC will keep them going as they provide me with quickest way to some programs (e.g. most popular comedy).

ModelCitizen
2014-01-05, 06:13
Thanks all.

Will go for a 12v supply and keep my fingers crossed. Pascal, the one you link to looks best but it is surprisingly expensive and I've no real idea if the barrel connector is the right size. Might have to go for the one at Amazon but it does not look too promising.

bpa
2014-01-05, 07:55
My beta Boom PSU is 18v 1.67A which means a 12V 1.5A is not OK it would need to be something like 2.5A by comparing power (i.e. Volts x amps) .

The Boom PSU is made by Phihong so if you should look up the code (something like PSA12R ) on your faulty Boom PSu under Phihong power supplies on Mouser or other suppliers.

THis looks promising http://be.mouser.com/ProductDetail/Phihong/PSAA30R-120-R/?qs=sGAEpiMZZMuep2RzTrr6leTB7cf9ej9L7aAeVKZvRmw%3d

ModelCitizen
2014-01-07, 13:34
they provide me with quickest way to some programs (e.g. most popular comedy).

Yes. I have to admit that this is the category I use almost every time...

The Sword of Aznagaaaar
Old Harry's Game
Cabin Pressure
Claire in the Community
Just a Minute
The News Quiz
Meet David Sadaris
I'm Sorry I haven't a Clue.

Sheer brilliance. Each one a true classic.

Pascal Hibon
2014-01-07, 13:49
Thanks all.

Will go for a 12v supply and keep my fingers crossed. Pascal, the one you link to looks best but it is surprisingly expensive and I've no real idea if the barrel connector is the right size. Might have to go for the one at Amazon but it does not look too promising.

Just noticed your reply...
The connecter on the listed power supply is okay. It has a standard P1J which is what the Boom uses.
It is a bit expensive because it is also usable in medical applications (stronger certifications).
Alternatively, the one that bpa listed will work too and is cheaper (but it has slightly worse noise specs).

ModelCitizen
2014-01-07, 14:18
That 12v 2.5W PSU at Mouser works out at a total of 43.37 !

I've realised that the Radio PSU is 18v and has the same sized barrel connector and, although it's only 1.0 amp the Boom seems to sound OK with.

Not much of a solution though.

I can't seem to find anyone whom can sell me a single 18v 1.67 amp Phihong PSC30R-180 or a 12v 2.5 amp one for a decent price. And not one seems to have a barrel plus with an outside diameter of 5mm (and no, I am not able to work out what the internal diameter is!).

Bit of a bummer really.

ModelCitizen
2014-01-07, 14:26
Ah! Posts crossed. Yes, i'm sure the one you link too will be the best but at €75 total price I refuse to even think about it! Thanks anyway Pascal.

Pascal Hibon
2014-01-07, 14:29
That 12v 2.5W PSU at Mouser works out at a total of €43.37 !

I've realised that the Radio PSU is 18v and has the same sized barrel connector and, although it's only 1.0 amp the Boom seems to sound OK with.

Not much of a solution though.

I can't seem to find anyone whom can sell me a single 18v 1.67 amp Phihong PSC30R-180 or a 12v 2.5 amp one for a decent price. And not one seems to have a barrel plus with an outside diameter of 5mm (and no, I am not able to work out what the internal diameter is!).

Bit of a bummer really.

The one that bpa listed at Mouser costs about 17 Euro.
http://be.mouser.com/ProductDetail/Phihong/PSAA30R-120-R/?qs=sGAEpiMZZMuep2RzTrr6leTB7cf9ej9L7aAeVKZvRmw%3d

But be sure to order the Euro plug as well. It has PN: 552-RPE-R (http://be.mouser.com/ProductDetail/Phihong/RPE-N-R/?qs=%2fha2pyFadujTeyH9P7X0lIUXbuYMAhO2JxRtTV%2f3s3 U%3d)

The Radio power supply will work as long as you don't turn up the volume too much :-)

ModelCitizen
2014-01-07, 14:42
Errrr... What will happen if I pump up the volume then? Is it likely to damage anything?

bpas 17 Euro one works out at 43 with the VAT and postage. :-(

bpa
2014-01-07, 14:53
Errrr... What will happen if I pump up the volume then? Is it likely to damage anything?

bpas €17 Euro one works out at €43 with the VAT and postage. :-(

Have you have checked the price using the UK Mouser site and not the Euro one - IIRC their delivery costs to UK are about 12,

edit:

IIRC the high ampage was needed at startup to charge up the internal capacitor which saves the time but maybe my memory is wrong.

signor_rossi
2014-01-08, 13:32
The Logitech spare parts shop still has replacement PSUs, but you pay minimum 29,20 too (power supply and shipping without power plug plates, which cost 8 if you need them).

tin
2014-01-14, 15:14
There are regularly sellers on ebay selling psu's they claim to be compatible with the boom, but no real indication of quality.

Alternative is often 12v psus manufactured by DVE come up second hand quite often. Usually just for a couple of quid + postage. These seem to always have the right sized connector on them.

It's a pretty unscientific test, but I tend to trust that brand after struggling with noisy image quality from CCTV cameras and finding a DVE adapter usually sorts it - I presume that means the power coming out is better in some way.

Also I checked, my 4x booms all have 12v 2.5a

ModelCitizen
2014-01-15, 00:10
Cheers, but as my Boom is from the beta program it has an 18v supply and I am not sure if the 12v one is beefy enough.

bpa
2014-01-15, 04:06
Cheers, but as my Boom is from the beta program it has an 18v supply and I am not sure if the 12v one is beefy enough.

I'm pretty sure it will work reading between the comments of Caleb and Dean in this thread http://forums.slimdevices.com/showthread.php?51667-external-battery-pack-for-a-mobile-Boom
However Caleb hints early units (i.e. beta) were a bit more power hungry.

ModelCitizen
2014-01-20, 15:06
Thanks chaps. I couldn't find the replacement Boom psu on the Logitech web site (the search facility iscvery poor) so in the end* I ordered the 12v 2.5amp one from the UK Mouser store. I didn't bother getting the UK power fitment as it looked the same as the one on the original beta Boom supply (fingers crossed then!).

I have say I feel entirely ripped off. The Mouser PSU at 13.40 seems reasonable enough but to then add an incredible 12 for postage just makes you feel cheated. I will try to avoid Mouser in future if I can.

Thanks for all the help.