PDA

View Full Version : Playstation 4 interferes with squeezeboxes :(



callesoroe
2013-12-27, 03:12
The new Playstation 4 can very disappointing not be connected to the 5 GHz wireless network .
This means that it runs at 2.4 GHz network and interfere with Squeezeboxes .
After my son started his PS4 my Squeezeboxes began to be thrown on and off my wireless network all the time.
In my living room I have the opportunity for cabling my Transporter , so this was done immediately.
I also have 3 duets that runs wirelessly. For those should I have to find a solution.
One solution I will try is the following :
My cable modem also have the opportunity to make a wireless network. The signal is not as good, so I'll try to get a wifi extender for this, and then connect ps4 to this network , and let squeezeboxene run on my current network . I will let one network drive on channel 1 and the other on channel 13
I'll report back on the results of this.

This information to others who might have run into the same problem.
There 's probably been quite a few ps4īs under various Christmas trees.

toby10
2013-12-27, 04:17
Check for duplicate IP's and max number of devices allowed on WiFi? Seems the two most logical reasons for such behavior.
I doubt it is a general issue with the PS4 itself.

callesoroe
2013-12-28, 05:37
Check for duplicate IP's and max number of devices allowed on WiFi? Seems the two most logical reasons for such behavior.
I doubt it is a general issue with the PS4 itself.

No I have checked for that..... I went for another soloution. I connected the PS4 through LAN via a pair of Netgear Powerline adaptors.
Now everything works fine again, and all squeezeboxes can stream WIMP-HIFI(external FLAC streaming) wireless again without dropouts.

:)

So beware of the PS4 out there....... PS4 kills good music ;)

toby10
2013-12-28, 08:32
If your PS4 is really causing such RF interference with other WiFi devices I'd suggest contacting Sony. I'm sure they would like to know about it and you may have a defective unit. A quick google search shows no such issues reported by any others.