PDA

View Full Version : help me uninstall softsqueeze and replace with squeezelite



RioTubes
2013-12-22, 09:17
having difficulty uninstalling softsqueeze 3.9b2. Error message says no JVM found on system.
Please point EXEC4_java_home to a JRE.

Ultimately, I'd like to replace softsqueeze with squeezelite. Any help appreciated!

DJanGo
2013-12-22, 12:02
having difficulty uninstalling softsqueeze 3.9b2. Error message says no JVM found on system.
Please point EXEC4_java_home to a JRE.

Ultimately, I'd like to replace softsqueeze with squeezelite. Any help appreciated!

Please read your own question and think about 2 seconds how we can help you.
Didnt you forget something?:mad:

RioTubes
2013-12-22, 13:59
Please read your own question and think about 2 seconds how we can help you.
Didnt you forget something?:mad:

Prior to posting my Q, I downloaded java. I could not find the file with "home" in the name referenced above.

bpa
2013-12-22, 15:43
To uninstall Softsqueeze - delete the softsqueeze jar file unless you are using a AWS but I think that is unlikely since Java is not working for you.

I think EXEC4_java_home is an environment variable which is specific to your system and it should be setup as part of the JRE installation so I think you have a faulty JRE installation.

What system are you using ?
Have you run Softsqueeze before ?

Softsqueeze may not be the best choice (not been updated for a while) but it depends on your system. Squeezelite is headless - did you want a headless player ?

RioTubes
2013-12-22, 17:06
Thanks BPA
I have LMS 3.7.7 installed on a win7 desktop PC. The music files are stored on an USB external HDD.
Softsqueeze is installed on this PC because i used to stream to an SB Touch which is no longer in the system.

I have recently purchased a NAD D 7050 digital amp/streamer, which is in a different room than the PC.
I want to control the music library from my iPad, and am considering iPeng 7 or squeezepad for this.
I want to stream my wav files from the Win7 PC to my iPad and, in turn, stream the wav files to the NAD D 7050 via airplay. The NAD is an airplay receiver. So I thought I would remove softsqueeze and install squeezelite. Does this make sense, or is there a better way to accomplish this? Thank you

bpa
2013-12-22, 17:33
Does this make sense, or is there a better way to accomplish this? Thank you

Seems like a very complicated solution. Would DLNA from PC to NAD with DLNA control point on Ipad not be simpler ?

Squeezelite has better support of different audio interface which might be useful to physically connect NAD to PC.

RioTubes
2013-12-22, 18:09
Do you have any suggestions on a good UPNP/DLNA control app that supports gapless playback (iPad) and DLNA server software? I have never used either.
One hesitation I have is that most of these DLNA servers are subscription based. I have read that using JRMC and JRemote on the iPad supports gapless playback unlike PlugPlayer.

bpa
2013-12-23, 03:30
I cannot recommend any DLNA stuff but you should try Whitebear ( http://forums.slimdevices.com/showthread.php?87559-Announce-Whitebear-Media-Server-v2-1-Updated ) which is a DLNA server for LMS on Windows so at least you will have onl;y one library and Whitebear does transcoding. I think you will still a control point for Ipad but there a number of free apps you can try.

No idea about gapless but I think gapless on DLNA may not be standard. I think question about squeezelite player should be asked on the squeezelite thread ( http://forums.slimdevices.com/showthread.php?97046-Announce-Squeezelite-a-small-headless-squeezeplay-emulator-for-linux-(alsa-only) title is not correct as squeezelite is also on Windows) as you'll get a better answer than on a "uninstall softsqueeze" thread. Squeezelite supports gapless on Linux and I expect also on Windows.

Why are asking about Plugplayer when you are using Windows and a NAD ?

DJanGo
2013-12-23, 04:50
Hi

Thanks BPA
I have LMS 3.7.7 installed on a win7 desktop PC.
LMS 3.7.7 ?

Didnt you think that that information is one of these i asking about?
Did you know there is Win7 in 32 AND 64 Bit - the 64 Bit Java Client doesnt add a systemvariable named javahome anymore. So it seems you running 7 /64 bit.

So if you wanna help take yourself a bit more time to ask questions or in another words - why should i put more time in answering questions than the owner for asking the question?

btw. we are miles away with these dnla Stuff than the threadtitle would expect.

bpa
2013-12-23, 05:40
btw. we are miles away with these dnla Stuff than the threadtitle would expect.

I think you can cut the guy a little slack. He is trying to integrate his new Airplay/DLNA compatible device into a LMS environment.
The original solution led him down a blind alley of Java which started the thread - I reckon the solve the underlying need not the presented symptom.

I think Whitebear with LMS may work better with the NAD rather than the complicated Airplay based solution.

RioTubes
2013-12-23, 08:38
I appreciate the assistance. The info provided is helpful and gives me a few things to think about. Yes, it is a 64-bit machine; sorry for leaving out that detail. Last night I was able to delete the softsqueeze folder from the program files x86 folder. That seemed to do it. I checked via Control Panel in the Uninstall pane and softsqueeze no longer appears. I will look into whitebear. I mentioned PlugPlayer because I understand that it is a control point on the iPad; but it does not support gapless playback. I will follow the good advice to start another thread in the appropriate area after I think through the various alternatives a bit more. Thanks for the help, especially since it was off-topic...

jimbobvfr400
2013-12-23, 09:05
TBH you don't necessarily need whitebear. I personally use the built in DNLA plugin. I know its generally regarded as a waste of disc space and to be avoided if possible but I've had no issues with it. The menu on a DNLA device shows pretty much the same options you'd get when browsing on a squeezebox and AFAIK it also does transcoding, at least my FLAC will play on the PS3 and show as PCM in the more info bit on the PlayStation.

Sent from my HUAWEI Y300-0100 using Tapatalk