PDA

View Full Version : iTunes Updater slowing box down



Craig, James (IT)
2004-11-26, 03:08
FYI
Looked like Neil's problem is because iTunes scanning is fixed in
SlimServer 5.4,
running the iTunesUpdate plugin with the default 'iTunes reload
interval' of 60s will cause a rescan shortly after each track finishes
playing.

Which is bad if you have any significant number of MP3s!
(I have mine set to 90 minutes)

James

-----Original Message-----
From: discuss-bounces (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com
[mailto:discuss-bounces (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com] On Behalf Of Craig, James
(IT)
Sent: 24 November 2004 12:39
To: Slim Devices Discussion
Subject: [slim] iTunes Updater slowing box down

Neil,
Is iTunes actually getting updated?
I would expect any delay to come inbetween songs not 30 seconds into the
next track.
If the plugin works it should be very fast and I have always assumed
this would be masked by the buffer in the Squeezebox.
If it's not actually working the delay is probably caused by the OLE
timeout.

Could you forward the log file covering an update?

To run the .pl file for indirect update you must have Perl installed on
your machine and .pl files associated with it and you would then run
(from the command prompt)

iTunesUpdateWin.pl hist_file_name&path
e.g.
iTunesUpdateWin.pl "C:\My Music\Playlists\iTunesUpdate_hist.txt"

Each time you want to update the history.


James

-----Original Message-----
From: discuss-bounces (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com
[mailto:discuss-bounces (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com] On Behalf Of
neil.coburn (AT) blueyonder (DOT) co.uk
Sent: 24 November 2004 12:06
To: discuss (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com
Subject: [slim] iTunes Updater slowing box down

I have the same problem as a previous post - I am running iTunes Update
direct, and about 30 secs into a song I get a pause for about one sec,
as the plug in updates iTunes for the previous song. I have looked at
the log, and can't see anything obviously wrong, though I am not at all
technical. If there's no fix for this, I'd be happy to run the plug-in
indirect, but don't know how to run the .pl file. Can James or someone
else please advise? Many thanks!

Neil Coburn