PDA

View Full Version : AlienBBC and Mac



Joe Hickey
2004-11-26, 01:57
Daniel,
from past experience, when updating slimserver it appears to replace
the whole preference pane, any plug-ins that I have installed into the
plug ins folder get wiped on an update. after realising this I have
always dragged any 'self installed' stuff out of the preference pane
folders onto the desktop before updating.

Good luck with working this out, I was going to have a go myself a few
months back (when you still had to use alien rather than mplayer) but
it was a bit too much for my small brain!

Cheers,
Joe

On 25 Nov 2004, at 20:06, discuss-request (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com wrote:

>>
>> Great. I'll play with it again in a day or so when I have more time.
>>
>> Interstingly, when I looked at /usr/local, I found it now had an
>> mplayer directory, and this contains cook.bundle. So I guess I should
>> just leave that (in particular, not rename it, which your notes
>> suggest).
>>
>> One point, which is not your issue but a basic one abouthow
>> SlimServer works when updating on the Mac. Slimserver on the Mac is a
>> preference pane, with a whole collection of folders and subfolders
>> inside it. Does an update replace the whole preference pane. or does
>> it just update relevant files? Specifically, when putting
>> transcoder_proxy.pl in the place you give, will it get destroyed in
>> an update or does it remain? A similar issue would apply to the
>> plugins, except that there is another Plugins folder available on the
>> Mac which certainly does not get changed on an update.

dean
2004-11-26, 12:29
On the Mac, the preferred place to install plugins is:

Home -> Library -> SlimDevices -> Plugins

Putting them here will preserve them across server installations.

-dean


On Nov 26, 2004, at 12:57 AM, Joe Hickey wrote:

> Daniel,
> from past experience, when updating slimserver it appears to replace
> the whole preference pane, any plug-ins that I have installed into the
> plug ins folder get wiped on an update. after realising this I have
> always dragged any 'self installed' stuff out of the preference pane
> folders onto the desktop before updating.
>
> Good luck with working this out, I was going to have a go myself a few
> months back (when you still had to use alien rather than mplayer) but
> it was a bit too much for my small brain!
>
> Cheers,
> Joe
>
> On 25 Nov 2004, at 20:06, discuss-request (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com wrote:
>
>>>
>>> Great. I'll play with it again in a day or so when I have more time.
>>>
>>> Interstingly, when I looked at /usr/local, I found it now had an
>>> mplayer directory, and this contains cook.bundle. So I guess I
>>> should just leave that (in particular, not rename it, which your
>>> notes suggest).
>>>
>>> One point, which is not your issue but a basic one abouthow
>>> SlimServer works when updating on the Mac. Slimserver on the Mac is
>>> a preference pane, with a whole collection of folders and subfolders
>>> inside it. Does an update replace the whole preference pane. or does
>>> it just update relevant files? Specifically, when putting
>>> transcoder_proxy.pl in the place you give, will it get destroyed in
>>> an update or does it remain? A similar issue would apply to the
>>> plugins, except that there is another Plugins folder available on
>>> the Mac which certainly does not get changed on an update.
>
>

Daniel Cohen
2004-11-26, 13:16
On 26/11/04 at 11:29 am -0800, dean blackketter wrote
>On the Mac, the preferred place to install plugins is:
>
>Home -> Library -> SlimDevices -> Plugins
>
>Putting them here will preserve them across server installations.

that's what I expected.

But for AlienBBC, we are told to put transcoder_proxy.PL in the same
place as slimserver.pl. That, presumably, would mean that it got lost
over updated installations.
--
Daniel Cohen

Jules Taplin
2004-11-27, 10:42
Hehe.

Sorry Daniel... that'll be my fault. AlienBBC isn't part of the core
SlimServer distribution, so I'm afraid I'm just left to put things where
I feel it'd be easy.

Worse than that... I've no Mac to try this stuff on, although I'm pretty
sure you'd worked that one out by now ;)


-- Jules


Daniel Cohen wrote:

> On 26/11/04 at 11:29 am -0800, dean blackketter wrote
>
>> On the Mac, the preferred place to install plugins is:
>>
>> Home -> Library -> SlimDevices -> Plugins
>>
>> Putting them here will preserve them across server installations.
>
>
> that's what I expected.
>
> But for AlienBBC, we are told to put transcoder_proxy.PL in the same
> place as slimserver.pl. That, presumably, would mean that it got lost
> over updated installations.

Daniel Cohen
2004-11-27, 12:17
On 27/11/04 at 5:42 pm +0000, Jules Taplin wrote
>Sorry Daniel... that'll be my fault. AlienBBC isn't part of the core
>SlimServer distribution, so I'm afraid I'm just left to put things
>where I feel it'd be easy.

Not a problem. Someone else might know of a way to keep
transcoder_proxy secure against upgrades of SlimServer. If not, once
I get AlienBBC working properly and can create instructions, the
thing to do is to keep it in the AlienBBC folder and put a copy where
it needs to be in the preference pane. That way, after an upgrade one
can just copy it into place again. the thing to avoid is *moving* it
to where it needs to be.
--
Daniel Cohen

Daniel Cohen
2004-12-03, 09:07
As I'v mentioned, there is an anomaly with one plugin (AlienBBC, as
it happens, but I don't think that is necessarily relevant).

If I run SlimServer from the command line, the plugin loads without
any problems, and all its submenus work fine.

If I use the normal method of operation (which, on a Mac, means
choosing the SlimServer preference pane and clicking on 'start
server') then the plugin does not load and the log shows an error
message

Undefined string: ALIEN::PLUGIN
requested language: EN
failsafe language: EN Undefined string: ALIEN::PLUGIN
requested language: EN
failsafe language: EN

What I don't understand is why the two methods give different
results. If they both failed I would assume I had done something
wrong in the installation, but that can't be so as it loads fine from
the command line.

All I could think of is that perhaps using the command line gives an
extra path to search compared with normal use.

Can anyone shed any light on this?
--
Daniel Cohen