PDA

View Full Version : slim announce stopped working 5.4



Nick Walker
2004-11-25, 13:05
The software is a com component that allows you to register it in vb and
then make a simple call to display a message on the slim device.

You simply point it at the ip address of the server and port 9090
Supply some text and it will display it.

With release 5.4 nothing happens on the slim device display anymore. All I
have done is upgraded the code to v 5.4 and nothing is displayed. All is
fine with previous versions. I have been using it sine v4!

... nick

-----Original Message-----
From: discuss-bounces (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com
[mailto:discuss-bounces (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com] On Behalf Of kdf
Sent: 25 November 2004 18:45
To: Slim Devices Discussion
Subject: [slim] slim announce stopped working 5.4

Quoting Nick Walker <nickwalker911 (AT) hotmail (DOT) com>:

> I have been using the slim announce pluggin from tim long - available in
> your downloads. I have today upgraded to 5.4 and this has stopped working
> does anyone now why ?
>
exactly HOW has it stopped working?

as for a fix, you may have to ask Tim Long. as the author of the plugin,
he's
most familiar with how to debug it. That might be tricky, however, since his
site seems to have vanished. Hopefully someone else has the plugin ans also
knows the slimserver code. Several things changes for 5.4, but I dont even
know what the plugin does (as in how it goes about making its
announcements),
or what its now no longer doing, so I cant even guess at why it wouldn't
work.

-kdf

kdf
2004-11-25, 14:00
Quoting Nick Walker <nickwalker911 (AT) hotmail (DOT) com>:

> The software is a com component that allows you to register it in vb and
> then make a simple call to display a message on the slim device.
>
> You simply point it at the ip address of the server and port 9090
> Supply some text and it will display it.
>
> With release 5.4 nothing happens on the slim device display anymore. All I
> have done is upgraded the code to v 5.4 and nothing is displayed. All is
> fine with previous versions. I have been using it sine v4!

there are two possible things. one has alrady been suggested, that the url
commands are nto working. however that woudlnt' affect the CLI either. The
other thing is that showBriefly is broken
(http://bugs.slimdevices.com/show_bug.cgi?id=587)

This shows up with several sypmtoms, from not scrolling so not showing up. If
the plugin uses a URL command structure, then its possibly fixed with todays
build. try that and see.

-kdf