PDA

View Full Version : SB3 no remote configuration



Wigster
2013-11-09, 05:42
HI guys,

I've just moved abroad for 6 months and left my SB3 remote at home. I am trying to set it up without it.

I have found the Net::UDAP script (http://forums.slimdevices.com/showthread.php?57861-Net-UDAP-SqueezeBox-Receiver-configuration-tool) and I should be able to configure everything *if* I could get the SB3 to connect to my network.

Currently it begins to look for the wireless network and then switches off when it doesn't find something it likes ("Connecting to wireless..."). The router is different to the one I have at home, but I have set up a network that is the same as I had before (same SSID, password, security), so you'd think it would connect.

I have tried to connect it via Ethernet to the router, but this doesn't change that behaviour. It never asks for IP from the router (on the wireless it used to use DHCP).

I would try a hard reset, but that requires a remote.

Does anyone have any other ideas? Thanks!

jimbobvfr400
2013-11-09, 05:45
Do you have any universal remotes or other remotes that can be programmed to control DVD players, I believe from memory the squeezebox uses JVC DVD codes.

Sent from my HUAWEI Y300-0100 using Tapatalk

Wigster
2013-11-09, 06:10
[QUOTE=jimbobvfr400;761693]Do you have any universal remotes or other remotes that can be programmed to control DVD players, I believe from memory the squeezebox uses JVC DVD codes.

NO but I guess I could try to buy a universal remote. So anything that supports JVC DVD players should be ok?

garym
2013-11-09, 06:30
[QUOTE=jimbobvfr400;761693]Do you have any universal remotes or other remotes that can be programmed to control DVD players, I believe from memory the squeezebox uses JVC DVD codes.

NO but I guess I could try to buy a universal remote. So anything that supports JVC DVD players should be ok?

Yes, in LMS > Settings > Player > remote, tick the box next to "JVC_DVD" and a remote that works with JVC DVD should work as SB3 (or boom) remote.

jimbobvfr400
2013-11-09, 06:32
Yes, in LMS > Settings > Player > remote, tick the box next to "JVC_DVD" and a remote that works with JVC DVD should work as SB3 (or boom) remote.

So does that mean it wouldn't work. The OPs issue is setting it up without the remote so won't be able to connect it to LMS to change that setting?

Sent from my HUAWEI Y300-0100 using Tapatalk

garym
2013-11-09, 06:36
So does that mean it wouldn't work. The OPs issue is setting it up without the remote so won't be able to connect it to LMS to change that setting?

Sent from my HUAWEI Y300-0100 using Tapatalk

hmmm, not sure. One can go into LMS without the player being setup. but then again, it is not connected to LMS yet, so that likely is an issue. Maybe the OP should use the net:UDP approach to setup the Sb3. I'm assuming if it would setup a receiver it would setup an SB3. See:

http://forums.slimdevices.com/showthread.php?57861-Net-UDAP-SqueezeBox-Receiver-configuration-tool

jimbobvfr400
2013-11-09, 06:52
Which I believe takes us neatly back round to the beginning of being unable to setup the SB3 without being connected to the network and unable to use a cable without the factory reset. Bugger.

Sent from my HUAWEI Y300-0100 using Tapatalk

garym
2013-11-09, 06:54
Which I believe takes us neatly back round to the beginning of being unable to setup the SB3 without being connected to the network and unable to use a cable without the factory reset. Bugger.

Sent from my HUAWEI Y300-0100 using Tapatalk

oops, didn't look at the first post. However, my recollection is that the jvc_dvd was ticked by default under the remote settings. So *maybe* a JVC_DVD would work right away.

d6jg
2013-11-09, 08:37
Use a cable for initial setup. Although the SSID is the same it is a different network (MAC address) so SB3 will be confused. Change the SSID. The net::Udap thingy can then be used via the cable to configure the wireless.

Mnyb
2013-11-09, 09:58
So does that mean it wouldn't work. The OPs issue is setting it up without the remote so won't be able to connect it to LMS to change that setting?

Sent from my HUAWEI Y300-0100 using Tapatalk


hmmm, not sure. One can go into LMS without the player being setup. but then again, it is not connected to LMS yet, so that likely is an issue. Maybe the OP should use the net:UDP approach to setup the Sb3. I'm assuming if it would setup a receiver it would setup an SB3. See:

http://forums.slimdevices.com/showthread.php?57861-Net-UDAP-SqueezeBox-Receiver-configuration-tool

SB3 is a very slim (ie dum) device it's the server that interprets the ir commands but before that it must be conected to the server , so for setup the original remote or udap (or a touch or transporter remote )

bpa
2013-11-09, 10:13
IIRC if a player cannot find a DHCP - it will set up a 169.x.x.x address. Since most local LAns are setup as 192 or 10, it is possible your router setup is preventing communicaton with the SB3.

Can you check what IP address SB3 has "chosen" assuming you know its MAC using "arp -na" or possible it may show on a router menu as a wireless client

garym
2013-11-09, 10:35
and maybe there's a SB user in the town you are visiting that would provide a short loan for purposes of setting yours up.

Wigster
2013-11-09, 13:14
Can you check what IP address SB3 has "chosen" assuming you know its MAC using "arp -na" or possible it may show on a router menu as a wireless client

Unfortunately nothing appears in the router's DHCP tables. The SB3 is connected using a cable, but that doesn't seem to help. It seems because it was last set up with wireless, it refuses to try to connect through wired. I do know the MAC address, but arp does not show it up anywhere in the network.

I was thinking maybe bypassing the router and connecting directly to my laptop's Ethernet port using a cross-wired cable might help? But if it refuses to pick up an IP from the router over the cable, why would this be helpful?

Wigster
2013-11-30, 09:35
Hi guys,

Good news! I finally bought a DVD universal remote and it works without playing with settings in the server. I've managed to connect the SB3 to the server.

I of course forgot my previous SSID had a _24 in its name for the 2.4 GHz networks the SB was connecting to... Otherwise it would have connected without problems.

Thanks for your answers.

garym
2013-11-30, 09:38
Hi guys,

Good news! I finally bought a DVD universal remote and it works without playing with settings in the server. I've managed to connect the SB3 to the server.

I of course forgot my previous SSID had a _24 in its name for the 2.4 GHz networks the SB was connecting to... Otherwise it would have connected without problems.

Thanks for your answers.

excellent. You might post the exact brand and item # of the DVD universal remote you purchased in case a future reader needs to purchase something like this.

Wigster
2013-11-30, 11:02
Sure: the universal remote is a "One for All" Simpleset URC-7130 and the code is the first JVC in the row: 0623.

jimbobvfr400
2013-11-30, 16:57
I'm a bit of a remote control geek so I can say with some certainty that OFA codes are fairly universal so that's good news.

Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk 4