PDA

View Full Version : Using Mac Mini as a server



daytripper
2013-11-06, 05:29
Hi all

I have a Squeezebox setup (Radio, Touch, Boom) and am using an old netbook with FreeNAS as a NAS server. It's having all sorts of problems, mostly with internet radio (fails to find stations) but also with syncing (Boom and Touch play independently but both go silent when I try to sync them).

Anyways, I have been handed an old Mac Mini by the IT guy at work (2007, 1.66 GHz) to try out as a server. Trouble is, I have no idea about Macs, no idea even what the Mini is running (Windows XP on Boot Camp, I'm told). My hope is to set up the box then unplug the monitor & keyboard and have it silently running as a server in the background - I don't have a spare monitor for it or want to use it for anything other than a silent server.

My first thought is to buy a copy of OS 10.6.8 and install this as an OS (although I'm not sure how to do even this). From here, is the Mac Mini a viable SqueezeBox Server..? How does it work..? Would it eradicate the issues I've had with the NAS box..? Will it be easy to see from my PC (for copying music onto etc)..?

Any help/tips appreciated - I have literally never used a Mac before so am coming completely cold to this..!

thanks
marc

d6jg
2013-11-06, 11:06
You might need to upgrade RAM. If so it's an Apple Authorised Repair Centre. I had a 2008 Mac Mini upgraded to 2gb recently. About 60.

The older Mac Mini's such as these don't have any way of opening the case except with the specialist tools.

You will need 2gb for Mountain Lion.

It is fine as an LMS server but HD is a little small.

daytripper
2013-11-07, 03:08
Interesting, thanks. I haven't had a chance to fire up the box so I have no idea even what OS it is running. I'll report back when I know more. Will I need to upgrade the RAM if it's running an older OS which is LMS compatible or is the RAM upgrade purely for OS 10.6.8..? Again, I've never worked on a Mac before so forgive my ignorance...

thanks again
marc

garym
2013-11-07, 04:48
Interesting, thanks. I haven't had a chance to fire up the box so I have no idea even what OS it is running. I'll report back when I know more. Will I need to upgrade the RAM if it's running an older OS which is LMS compatible or is the RAM upgrade purely for OS 10.6.8..? Again, I've never worked on a Mac before so forgive my ignorance...

thanks again
marc

mac minis can certainly be good servers for running LMS. If its an older version OS, you may need an older LMS. Maybe 7.6.2? Anyhow, all the old versions are here:

http://downloads.slimdevices.com/

daytripper
2013-11-07, 10:26
Also - before I invest a lot of time and money into this - will it be east for me to see the Mac on my Windows 7 laptop (presumably as a shred drive) so I can manage the library on it from the PC?

d6jg
2013-11-07, 11:26
Have a read
http://osxdaily.com/2011/09/08/share-files-from-mac-to-windows-pc/

jimbobvfr400
2013-11-08, 12:19
Is it possible to stick something like Vortex box on a Mac mini?

IMO VB is ideal in every way for what you want. Short of running VNC of some sort the headless part of your requirements might be tricky to achieve

Sent from my HUAWEI Y300-0100 using Tapatalk

erland
2013-11-08, 22:11
Also - before I invest a lot of time and money into this - will it be east for me to see the Mac on my Windows 7 laptop (presumably as a shred drive) so I can manage the library on it from the PC?

Is there a reason you don't want to use it as it is with Windows XP through Boot Camp ?
If you are used to Windows that's probably the best solution if you want to avoid unnecessary struggling.
If I were you, I would try it using the already installed Windows XP before doing anything else, if you activate remote desktop on it you should be able to control it through a remote desktop client from one of your other computers.

Honestly, I'm not sure OSX is going to be any better than Windows XP for this kind of usage, especially if most of your other computers are Windows based and you are mostly familiar with Windows.

The only installation of VortexBox I found on Mac was this one:
http://vortexbox.org/forum/vortexbox/help/3889-vortexbox-2-0-on-mac-mini
And it seems to have some problems, so if you want to avoid struggling I wouldn't go this way.

It is possible to run a Linux operating system on a Mac mini, but there can be some struggling to get everything working properly, so I wouldn't go this way unless you are familiar with Linux already.

Soulman
2014-07-26, 13:15
My Server is running on a quite old MacMini (2,26 Ghz Intel Core 2 Duo with 2 GB Ram)
OS 10.6.8.

Because MySQL is faster with larger collections I still use Server 7.5.4. The internal Disk is a SSD, the Datadisks are a bunch of external 2 TB via FireWire.

Works good.

I control that via the webinterface only, which looks the same no matter what client you use.

SlimChances
2014-07-26, 13:52
If you need more up to date OS you might consider Ubuntu or Lubuntu (which might be best so you don't have to upgrade your memory. See THIS (https://help.ubuntu.com/community/UbuntuOnMacMini) article for more info. Another advantage of this is you would probably be able to run the latest LMS even 7.9 bleeding edge if you wanted to, Bear in mind that I have no direct experience with such a set up as I don't use Mac but lots of other people seem to install Ubuntu on Macs

EDIT:Sorry I missed Erlands comment about difficulties with this option

get.amped
2014-07-27, 16:40
Because MySQL is faster with larger collections I still use Server 7.5.4.

I would not assume this. I have what would have to be considered a large collection (320K+ tracks) and 7.8.0 and especially 7.9.0 are WAAAAAAY faster than any of the MySQL revisions and I used them all up to 7.5.6-32834, which was the last (unreleased) stable version that still had the Fishbone skin. I have absolutely no regrets about going to 7.9.0 (currently still using the nightly build from June 30).

Soulman
2014-07-30, 09:28
I would not assume this. I have what would have to be considered a large collection (320K+ tracks) and 7.8.0 and especially 7.9.0 are WAAAAAAY faster than any of the MySQL revisions and I used them all up to 7.5.6-32834, which was the last (unreleased) stable version that still had the Fishbone skin. I have absolutely no regrets about going to 7.9.0 (currently still using the nightly build from June 30).

Well, I just checked again, by installing 7.8. on monday.

I work in the Music Industry and therefore my collection is quite large too. We are currently talking about 508.000 Tracks. (Audio only)

Here are some numbers:, all webinterface
mySQL SQlite
Play a song by clicking on it 2 s 25 s
Scantime (from scratch , whole collection) 9 hours 37 hours
add song to playlist with approx 300 entries 5 s don't know, I stopped after 10 Minutes
find genre 25 s don't know, I stopped after 25 Minutes

Please note that the DB is sitting on a SSD and I also did some tweaking such as allocate memory and nice -16 and so on.


So for me SQLite is unusable. (This has been discussed in detail in another thread some years back, the basic problem with SQLite seems to be that it is getting really slower if it grows beyond 100.000 etnries. I am actually surprised that it works for you.)


So, installed monday, indexing everything took till tuesday night I mean NIGHT), some testing today... unusable.
Today is wednesday. I just switched back to 7.5.4.

get.amped
2014-07-30, 09:42
Well, I just checked again, by installing 7.8. on monday.

I work in the Music Industry and therefore my collection is quite large too. We are currently talking about 508.000 Tracks. (Audio only)

Here are some numbers:, all webinterface
mySQL SQlite
Play a song by clicking on it 2 s 25 s
Scantime (from scratch , whole collection) 9 hours 37 hours
add song to playlist with approx 300 entries 5 s don't know, I stopped after 10 Minutes
find genre 25 s don't know, I stopped after 25 Minutes

Please note that the DB is sitting on a SSD and I also did some tweaking such as allocate memory and nice -16 and so on.


So for me SQLite is unusable. (This has been discussed in detail in another thread some years back, the basic problem with SQLite seems to be that it is getting really slower if it grows beyond 100.000 etnries. I am actually surprised that it works for you.)


So, installed monday, indexing everything took till tuesday night I mean NIGHT), some testing today... unusable.
Today is wednesday. I just switched back to 7.5.4.

My experience has been quite different. OS and LMS are also on SSD. Play a song by clicking on it is less than a second. Scan time for clear and rescan everything is about an hour per 100k tracks; previously it was twice that long if it finished at all. Adding a song to a playlist (of any size up to the 5000 track max in Settings) is about a second. All searches come back in a few seconds at most.

There are other plugins that can significantly affect performance, both at scan and play. I unchecked all the Music and Artist Information settings because it slowed things down. And I don't use Trackstat, MusicIP or anything like that.

I'm not sure how much of the 7.9 performance enhancements have been revisioned back to 7.8 but they have certainly made a noticeable difference.

Mnyb
2014-07-30, 20:52
My experience has been quite different. OS and LMS are also on SSD. Play a song by clicking on it is less than a second. Scan time for clear and rescan everything is about an hour per 100k tracks; previously it was twice that long if it finished at all. Adding a song to a playlist (of any size up to the 5000 track max in Settings) is about a second. All searches come back in a few seconds at most.

There are other plugins that can significantly affect performance, both at scan and play. I unchecked all the Music and Artist Information settings because it slowed things down. And I don't use Trackstat, MusicIP or anything like that.

I'm not sure how much of the 7.9 performance enhancements have been revisioned back to 7.8 but they have certainly made a noticeable difference.

Not much of them 7.9 is very different , but you have to use the highest memory settings in the performance options .

And if going from 7.5.x I would delete all dB files and let LMS rebuild them, clear cache option in windows migth do it ,but I would empty the whole folder of dB files ( maybe copy them first if everything fails ) .

Erlands plugins depending slightly on settings can be a severe punishment .

I would also untick the selections for video or pictures in the media folder and disable the dlna plugin .