PDA

View Full Version : significant slowdown after upgrade



Robin Bowes
2004-11-25, 02:46
Philip Bouscarle wrote:
> Have you checked the CPU usage whilst running Slim? I'ld say your PC is
> a bit underpowered for the job

A P3 450 should have plenty of horsepower for slimserver and 384MB RAM
is enough too (assuming the box is not loaded doing lots of other stuff)

FWIW, I'm running on a dual PIII with 1.5GB RAM and it barely breaks sweat!

R.
--
http://robinbowes.com

Stuart
2004-11-25, 06:09
> A P3 450 should have plenty of horsepower for slimserver and 384MB RAM
> is enough too (assuming the box is not loaded doing lots of other stuff)
>
> FWIW, I'm running on a dual PIII with 1.5GB RAM and it barely breaks sweat!

I'm running a duel Celeron @ 400Mhz Linux box with 384MB of RAM, and I
too have noticed a slowdown with the latest release, especially when I
browse folders. Despite running a web, ftp & e-mail severer, no swap
space is being used.

Slimserver uses 14% of the memory, and in standby 1.3% of the processor,
which seems a lot for just keeping the clock display going!

S.

Robin Bowes
2004-11-25, 06:50
Stuart wrote:
>> A P3 450 should have plenty of horsepower for slimserver and 384MB RAM
>> is enough too (assuming the box is not loaded doing lots of other stuff)
>>
>> FWIW, I'm running on a dual PIII with 1.5GB RAM and it barely breaks
>> sweat!
>
>
> I'm running a duel Celeron @ 400Mhz Linux box with 384MB of RAM, and I
> too have noticed a slowdown with the latest release, especially when I
> browse folders. Despite running a web, ftp & e-mail severer, no swap
> space is being used.

I didn't say that there wasn't a slow down; simply that a 450Mhz PIII
should be more than beefy enough to run slimserver.

> Slimserver uses 14% of the memory, and in standby 1.3% of the processor,
> which seems a lot for just keeping the clock display going!

The memory is used because of the (inefficient) structure used to store
the meta-infromation database - it's a known issue and is being
addressed by the development of an SQL storage backend.

My system uses 0.3% CPU in stnadby mode. Either way, 1.3% or 0.3% is not
an awful lot in the grand scheme of things, is it?

R.
--
http://robinbowes.com