Home of the Squeezebox™ & Transporter® network music players.
Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 25
  1. #11
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    17

    other supply or wifi removed - no luck

    Thanks.
    I changed supply and tested remote from other machine. No luck.
    I removed the wifi module. No luck.
    To be clear, the beast just gives white lights on the button pannel. Nothing on the display.
    And I cross checked the supply and remote with the other boom. Both are fine.

    Other ideas are welcome.
    I'm about to ask if one has a working motherboard with failing speakers that wants to bin his/her machine so I could make 2 out of 1.

    For the moment I will leave it in this state for 24 hours, just with button and wheel lights, without wifi module...

    Will be back soon.

  2. #12
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    9

    Boom suddenly died

    I would turn it off. I've never seen anything come back to life with it
    being ON, but I have seen some things come back to life when left off.

    Usually it turned out to be a power supply regulator that got hot and shut
    down but needed to have sufficient time at a cool temperature to reset
    itself.

    My fixing days are over because I have not adapted to poor vision.

    David


  3. #13
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    17

    waiting for the reboot

    Hi,
    Following the reasoning of David, I disconnected the power from the socket, and the boom from its power lead, at 23h30 CET on 25/01/2015.
    I will re-connect and report on 27/01/2015 at approx 21h00 CET (that is almost 2 days and nights later) with the results.
    Keep your fingers crossed together with me please and stay tuned.

  4. #14
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    17

    Just not initiating

    Hi,

    I tried to start the machine today, using the supply of the other boom first.
    Result: still the same: button panel illuminates, display does not show anything.

    Fact is that the thing has been working fine after first install, and now it looks like "the most expensive brick ever bought by berns", or "berns just bought the most expensive brick ever".
    The fellow who sold it to me certainly is not to blame, so I'm now hammering my head against the wall ....

    Upon re-insertion of the power supply I noticed something interesting: The boot sequence of every boom actually starts with the buttons illuminating, even before the screen shows the Logitech logo, just for a short instance.

    So: why does my brick boom sit there eternally, and why doesn't it progress to the next action in the boot sequence. I'm wondering now.

    Greetz

  5. #15
    Senior Member tcutting's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Southern California, USA
    Posts
    1,355
    Have you attempted a XILINX reset (or a factory reset)?
    From the wiki:

    Some system operations that require you to point your remote control on the Squeezebox while starting the Squeezebox. To be sure you're doing it right, pull the power from the unit, press and hold the appropriate button on the remote while keeping it pointed at the unit, and give the unit power again, while all the time keeping the remote button pressed and the remote pointed at the unit.
    Ip3k-based players

    These codes apply to the ip3k-based players: Squeezebox 1, Squeezebox2, Squeezebox3, Boom.

    ADD - Factory reset
    1 - Program Xilinx
    2 - Factory test mode
    3 - Audio sine test

  6. #16
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    9

    Boom suddenly died

    They make it difficult to understand even when it's easy.

    Oh, now I get it, the ADD in the list is the + sign.

    So you turn it off by unplugging, then hold the + button for a factory
    reset, and the 1 button for Program Xilinx

    I would try the + sign first - called ADD in the last post.

    Xilinx looks like it is fiirmware update and a rollback of firmware.

    You have nothing to lose.

    David


    On Tue, Jan 27, 2015 at 2:43 PM, tcutting <
    tcutting.6re7vb (AT) no-mx (DOT) forums.slimdevices.com> wrote:

    >
    > Have you attempted a XILINX reset (or a factory reset)?
    > From the wiki:
    >
    > Some system operations that require you to point your remote control on
    > the Squeezebox while starting the Squeezebox. To be sure you're doing it
    > right, pull the power from the unit, press and hold the appropriate
    > button on the remote while keeping it pointed at the unit, and give the
    > unit power again, while all the time keeping the remote button pressed
    > and the remote pointed at the unit.
    > Ip3k-based players
    >
    > These codes apply to the ip3k-based players: Squeezebox 1, Squeezebox2,
    > Squeezebox3, Boom.
    >
    > ADD - Factory reset
    > 1 - Program Xilinx
    > 2 - Factory test mode
    > 3 - Audio sine test
    >
    >
    > ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    > tcutting's Profile: http://forums.slimdevices.com/member.php?userid=17402
    > View this thread: http://forums.slimdevices.com/showthread.php?t=99020
    >
    >

  7. #17
    Senior Member kidstypike's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Brindle
    Posts
    2,335
    Quote Originally Posted by tcutting View Post
    Have you attempted a XILINX reset (or a factory reset)?
    From the wiki:

    Some system operations that require you to point your remote control on the Squeezebox while starting the Squeezebox. To be sure you're doing it right, pull the power from the unit, press and hold the appropriate button on the remote while keeping it pointed at the unit, and give the unit power again, while all the time keeping the remote button pressed and the remote pointed at the unit.
    Ip3k-based players

    These codes apply to the ip3k-based players: Squeezebox 1, Squeezebox2, Squeezebox3, Boom.

    ADD - Factory reset
    1 - Program Xilinx
    2 - Factory test mode
    3 - Audio sine test
    Assuming OP has a full size IR remote with numbers, the Boom remote doesn't.
    Study/Server - LMS 7.9.1 - Raspberry Pi3/Pi screen/HiFiBerry DAC+/piCorePlayer 3.22/jivelite, 25K library on WDMyCloud, cache and playlists on a USB stick (formatted ntfs).
    Lounge - RPi 2/Max2Play > HiFiBerry DIGI+ > AudioEngine DAC1 > AVI DM5
    Dining Room - Boom
    Garage - Radio
    In car - LMS 7.9.1 > RPi3/Max2Play/Access Point plugin > HiFiBerry DAC+ > car's hifi (files on a 2TB portable USB drive)
    Spares - 1xTouch, 1xSB3

  8. #18
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    9

    Boom suddenly died

    So press the ADD button which is +.

    I forgot about the small boom remote not having numbers, or get the larger
    long remote.

    The ADD button is worth a try.

    David
    On Jan 27, 2015 6:22 PM, "kidstypike" <
    kidstypike.6rehyn (AT) no-mx (DOT) f...limdevices.com> wrote:

    >
    > tcutting wrote:
    > > Have you attempted a XILINX reset (or a factory reset)?
    > > From the wiki:
    > >
    > > Some system operations that require you to point your remote control on
    > > the Squeezebox while starting the Squeezebox. To be sure you're doing it
    > > right, pull the power from the unit, press and hold the appropriate
    > > button on the remote while keeping it pointed at the unit, and give the
    > > unit power again, while all the time keeping the remote button pressed
    > > and the remote pointed at the unit.
    > > Ip3k-based players
    > >
    > > These codes apply to the ip3k-based players: Squeezebox 1, Squeezebox2,
    > > Squeezebox3, Boom.
    > >
    > > ADD - Factory reset
    > > 1 - Program Xilinx
    > > 2 - Factory test mode
    > > 3 - Audio sine test

    >
    > Assuming OP has a full size IR remote with numbers, the Boom remote
    > doesn't.
    >
    >
    >
    > kidstypike
    > 1 x SB3 - 1 x Boom - 1 x (Squeezebox) Radio - 2 x Touch - 2 x
    > piCorePlayer
    > ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    > kidstypike's Profile:
    > http://forums.slimdevices.com/member.php?userid=10436
    > View this thread: http://forums.slimdevices.com/showthread.php?t=99020
    >
    >

  9. #19
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    17

    not even the sine wave

    Hi,

    I just happen to have an oldfashioned slimdevices http: remote like this one: //www.replacementremotes.com/SLIM-DEVICES/Buy-SLIM001-Remote-Control.html and took it of the relics shelve.
    Tried +, 1 and 3
    No result.

    Conclusion for me: still an expensive brick...

    Actually, to have some kind of confirmation that the +, the 1, the 2 and the 3 on the actual boom pannel work I tried (on my other boom that still works):
    Pull plug from boom, press 3 on pannel and plug power in: regular boot
    Pull plug from boom, press 3 on classic remote and plug power in: within 4 seconds: sine wave test

    Conclusion: whenever one tries to reset the Boom: please use the remote to do so. (only + is available if you only have a boom remote)
    Last edited by Berns; 2015-01-28 at 00:52.

  10. #20
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    687
    Have you checked the power plug connector on the Boom itself? The one of my older Boom has become quite flaky and very little pressure on the connector to the power supply will cut the power and reboot the Boom; maybe the one on your Boom is in an even worse shape...

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •