Home of the Squeezebox™ & Transporter® network music players.
Page 327 of 328 FirstFirst ... 227277317325326327328 LastLast
Results 3,261 to 3,270 of 3273
  1. #3261
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2017
    Posts
    11
    Quote Originally Posted by PasTim View Post
    Beats me - sorry. You really don't have any firewalls set up anywhere do you?
    Thank you for your help PasTim.

    No, no firewalls - my other squeezeplayers work fine (iPad and Mac) it's just the Pi ones that don't... thinking it might be something to do with the Max2Play software, as I know someone else is having the same problem...

    What are you using on your Pi?

  2. #3262
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Hertfordshire, UK
    Posts
    2,546
    Quote Originally Posted by anotbot View Post
    Thank you for your help PasTim.

    No, no firewalls - my other squeezeplayers work fine (iPad and Mac) it's just the Pi ones that don't... thinking it might be something to do with the Max2Play software, as I know someone else is having the same problem...

    What are you using on your Pi?
    I don't have one (see my signature), and know nothing about Max2Play. I just use squeezelite on my server and sometimes other desktops/laptops.
    LMS 7.9.1 on VortexBox Midi box, Xubuntu 17.04, FLACs 16->24 bit, 44.1->192kbps. Touch & EDO. 2nd Touch standard.
    LMS plugin UPnP/DLNA Bridge to MF M1 CLiC (to A308CR amp & ESLs) & Marantz CR603 UPnP renderers.
    Alternatively Minimserver & Upplay to same & to upmpdcli/mpd PC renderers.
    Squeezelite to Meridian USB Explorer DAC to PC speakers/headphones.
    Wireless Xubuntu 17.04 laptop firefox/upplay or Android 'phone with Squeeze-Commander/BubbleUPnP controls LMS/Minimserver.

  3. #3263
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    15,256
    Quote Originally Posted by anotbot View Post
    Yes, I've tried that and though the squeezelite player starts up, it can no longer be found by any controller... so not a solution :-(
    If there are no firewalls blocking broadcast packets, player being visible to controller depends on being on the same subnet.
    How are IP addressess of player, controller and LMS allocated - statiic or DHCP ?
    If static what is the IP address and mask of player, of controller and of LMS ?

  4. #3264
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Posts
    1

    question about output stream on squeezelite

    Hello,
    I have a problem when using Squeezelite. I am using Logitech Media Server streaming flac (native, no transcoding) to Squeezelite. Problem is, Squeezelite renderer cannot output stream at native rate. For example, if I don't choose anything about bit depth in Configure squeelite>ALSA params, the output streamon Squeezelite is always in 32 bit.
    If I choose 24bit, the output stream is 24bit regardless my input stream (16bit FLAC or 24bit FLAC) is.

    So I want to ask if you could add imprementation about native output stream on squeezelite renderer.

    Thanks in advance and best regards,
    trung224

  5. #3265
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Los Angeles & London
    Posts
    784
    Quote Originally Posted by trung224 View Post
    I have a problem when using Squeezelite. I am using Logitech Media Server streaming flac (native, no transcoding) to Squeezelite. Problem is, Squeezelite renderer cannot output stream at native rate. For example, if I don't choose anything about bit depth in Configure squeelite>ALSA params, the output streamon Squeezelite is always in 32 bit.
    If I choose 24bit, the output stream is 24bit regardless my input stream (16bit FLAC or 24bit FLAC) is.

    So I want to ask if you could add imprementation about native output stream on squeezelite renderer.
    Why is this causing a problem? The values in the source data are not being changed, but you are getting an extra one or two least significant bytes which are all zero, which will just be ignored. The only possible downside I can see would be your DAC reporting 24-bit on a 16-bit file if it had a display, but the music wouldn't be any different.
    Receiver stuck at blue LED state after reboot? Please vote for bug 17462

  6. #3266
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    15,256
    Quote Originally Posted by trung224 View Post
    Hello,
    I have a problem when using Squeezelite. I am using Logitech Media Server streaming flac (native, no transcoding) to Squeezelite. Problem is, Squeezelite renderer cannot output stream at native rate. For example, if I don't choose anything about bit depth in Configure squeelite>ALSA params, the output streamon Squeezelite is always in 32 bit.
    If I choose 24bit, the output stream is 24bit regardless my input stream (16bit FLAC or 24bit FLAC) is.

    So I want to ask if you could add imprementation about native output stream on squeezelite renderer.
    Are you using the "right" Alsa output device ? Depending on the device Alsa can do unwanted conversions.

  7. #3267

    Squeezelite always needs to be restarted frequently

    Iím running LMS and Squeezelite on a Raspberry Pi 3 with a wired ethernet connection. I use it mostly for internet radio.

    Iím connecting the USB output to a T+A DAC 8 DSD. This sounds fine at first. However, if I switch off the music (via the SqueezeCtrl app on my tablet) and then return to play more music after a longish, as yet undetermined, period, then I get intermittent and distorted sound. As far as I can tell itís not a DAC issue as its diagnostic lights indicate the connection is properly maintained. It also has (once) happened after several hours of playing music - the music just stopped followed by a regular pulsing version of the sound. Killing Squeezelite and restarting it solved it.

    In fact this issue can always be resolved by restarting Squeezelite (usually after having been killed first, rather than just stopped). But itís a pain to have to keep doing that.

    Previously, before I experimented with USB, I used a HiFiBerry Digi+ and connected with a phono lead. There were no problems whatever with this (except that itís limited to 24/192). The basic hardware seems to be OK, there seems to be a software issue of some sort.

  8. #3268
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Staffordshire. UK
    Posts
    1,976
    Quote Originally Posted by Richard Kimber View Post
    Iím running LMS and Squeezelite on a Raspberry Pi 3 with a wired ethernet connection. I use it mostly for internet radio.

    Iím connecting the USB output to a T+A DAC 8 DSD. This sounds fine at first. However, if I switch off the music (via the SqueezeCtrl app on my tablet) and then return to play more music after a longish, as yet undetermined, period, then I get intermittent and distorted sound. As far as I can tell itís not a DAC issue as its diagnostic lights indicate the connection is properly maintained. It also has (once) happened after several hours of playing music - the music just stopped followed by a regular pulsing version of the sound. Killing Squeezelite and restarting it solved it.

    In fact this issue can always be resolved by restarting Squeezelite (usually after having been killed first, rather than just stopped). But itís a pain to have to keep doing that.

    Previously, before I experimented with USB, I used a HiFiBerry Digi+ and connected with a phono lead. There were no problems whatever with this (except that itís limited to 24/192). The basic hardware seems to be OK, there seems to be a software issue of some sort.
    Hi Richard, you don't say how you have implemented Squeezelite, but have you tried using one of the other output settings for the dac?

    Ronnie

  9. #3269
    Quote Originally Posted by Man in a van View Post
    Hi Richard, you don't say how you have implemented Squeezelite, but have you tried using one of the other output settings for the dac?

    Ronnie
    I'm using max2play on the Pi 3, and used the max2player implementation.

    I'm using the default DAC 8 DSD HDAudio, because that seemed the obvious choice. There is a 'sysdefault DAC 8 DSD HDAudio' option, but why would that be any different?

    - Richard.

  10. #3270
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Albinea (Bologna Area) Italy
    Posts
    498
    Quote Originally Posted by Richard Kimber View Post
    I'm using max2play on the Pi 3, and used the max2player implementation.

    I'm using the default DAC 8 DSD HDAudio, because that seemed the obvious choice. There is a 'sysdefault DAC 8 DSD HDAudio' option, but why would that be any different?

    - Richard.
    You could try to add -C 1 at the squeezelite command line (don't know where in max2play), this cause squeezelite to release he connection to the dac after 1 sec of silence and re-open it when sound starts over.
    __________________________________________________ __________
    SB+, Klimo Merlino + Kent Gold, Monitor Audio Studio 20 Gold SE+, Klimo reference and DIS Interconnect.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •